We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good restaurant”

JiaoYe Thai Restaurant
Ranked #503 of 2,964 Restaurants in Hangzhou
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Thai curries along with the Chinese sticky rice was very yummy. Interiors were decent too. Pork and chicken tasted very good. The coconut dessert that was provided at last was awesome.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank dharshinivenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2015

"What's happening to this classic restaurant?" occured to me when I finished. It costed three of us RMB 635 (USD 98) for this whole bunch of "You know". The pork is bad, the soup is not as fresh as it should be and most of all, even the rice was bites just like stones. Gesius, we were very disappointed by this. It will never happen that we will go back to be there. I mean, this was really a tragedy for this historical restaurant.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HangzhouTourism C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2015 via mobile

Used to frequent this restaurant (aka Banana Leaf) a few years ago. It was always full any night of the week. Queue out the door for a table if you hadn't booked.

On holiday in Hangzhou recently and decided to rekindle some memories. Should have taken the hint when on arrival the place was only 10% full.

The decor hasn't changed, the menu hasn't changed much (and in fairness the food was ok but not as good as before). What used to be good here was the service. Nothing was too much trouble, service with a smile and everyone seemed happy. And the impromptu "band" whilst cheesy added an element of fun. What a change. No discipline now, staff arguing with customers at the counter, staff smoking in the restaurant and generally slow and surly. Several dishes not available, no cold beer.

Restaurants in Hangzhou generally go through a refresh cycle every 3 or 4 years maximum (the diners are fickle). This one is well overdue!

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank AndyAsia20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2014

Was in Hangzhou for a night and decided to have dinner at the Banana Leaf. It seems the management of this establishment has no idea on either the food that is served or the service.
I was there with a friend and to begin with we ordered some chilled beer which came in soon enough. We asked them to take back the extra beer and serve it later as it would become warm. Waiter said no problem, she would replace it when we were ready to have it. Imagine our surprise when the waiter refused to change it saying that there was no chilled beer !!! It was only when we threatened to walk out that the chilled beer appeared miraculously. It was the same case with cold water which was served after a fair amount of unpleasantness.

It seems they don't have a proper chef. The food was very average and certainly not unto the standards of an expensive restaurant.

It is otherwise an interesting restaurant with a nice ambience and singing waiters. Though I have been to this restaurant earlier, the downfall in food and service was quite unexpected. I don't think I will visit this restaurant again.
Highly avoidable

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pravine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

After being in China for more than a week and eating from many restaurants that continued to serve BLAND food, The Banana Leaf restaurant was surely a Treat! The atmosphere was unique and welcoming. There was a band playing. The hardest part was selecting from MULTIPLE dishes from their Huge Menu. The flavor of the food was Spot-On! We were an 8-Person group and we all ordered something different and shared. Every Dish was AWESOME! This By Far was the best Food I had between 4 different cities in China!!

Date of visit: April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cemuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to JiaoYe Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing