We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I always stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IC Holiday Shun Cheng Serviced Apartments
Ranked #18 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Kunming
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I travel through Kunming quite a bit, often staying for several weeks at a time. Every time, I stay at IC Serviced Apartments, though I much prefer their self-contained studios at SOHO Junyuan on Beijing Road to the larger Shuncheng apartments. The studios are close to downtown (5 minutes by taxi, 15 by bus) without having to be in the midst of the crowds 24/7. There are good restaurants nearby, and a Western-style gym across the street that allows you to buy short-term memberships (if you speak Chinese). There's also a Carrefour (Western-style super store) 2 blocks away.

I've stayed in several of the IC studios on Beijing Road, which are located in a high-rise apartment complex that's only a few years old. They are all equally comfortable, with separate kitchenette, living and sleeping areas. They also all have satellite TVs and wifi. The bathrooms have Western toilets and showers. The kitchenettes can vary; some aren't completely set up for cooking, though they all have refrigerators and bottled water. But given how cheap it is to eat out, the lack of a hot plate or wok is never a problem. Most of the studios also have a washing machine and a laundry line on the balcony. I've always found the cleanliness to be excellent. During my longer stays, they sent the housekeeper to clean and change the linens whenever I asked.

The only downside is that the mattresses are hard. But you find this everywhere but the luxury hotels in China. Chinese people like hard beds; I've had this conversation with many here. My solution is to fold the comforter in half and sleep on top of it; this works quite well.

The published rate for the studios is 178 RMB (approx. $28/night), but this can be negotiated a bit if you're planning a longer stay. This is an excellent price for quite new and modern accommodations in a city this size. Especially since it includes the help of Rick, one of the owners. His English is excellent, he'll meet you at the airport/train/bus station if you need, and is always available for random questions via phone (like where to buy a surge protector or get packaged tea as gifts).

I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 31 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

Booked in for 2 nights in April, we ended up staying 5.
The apartment was on the 25th floor and had views of Kunming city and mountains.
Very very spacious, with modern amenities, washing machine, and a nice kitchen although it was missing many utensils for serving food, cutlery and glasses. Wine opener missing too!
Wifi internet works and is quite fast!

The only reason I would not give it a 5 star is because the kitchen and ensuite (specially the bath, sink and mirror) were not cleaned thoroughly and many stains/dirt remained. A bit of dust in the living room is ok but a kitchen and bathroom should be cleaned to hotel standards.

The welcoming by Rick was excellent. He helped us organize many things and spent time explaining details of the apartment.

The location is good. You have plenty of restaurants around the shopping mall where the apartment is located and also plenty of retail shops if you are into shopping.

24h security and modern building gives a sense of high security.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MIguelitoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed in two-bedroom apartment where there are enough beds for 5 persons. It
locates in the city heart of Kunming, upstair of Shuncheng Shopping Mall. The food court and supermarket are within walking distance. Our apartment has a fully-equipped kitchenette with full-sized refrigerator, and laundry facility. Free airport pick up service and wifi are also available.

The staff here, Rick, can speak english fluently. He's a very helpful and friendly person, he also assisted us in booking a car to stone forest.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teddy_May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed in Kunming in July and August 2011.
After several hotels we were happy to get up and have breakfest at whatever time we wanted. And also to have a lot of space and two separate rooms for us and the kids.
We stayed in Shun Cheng in the most upmark building and area. The rooms are very new and modern and fully equiped (even washing machine) and you even have two bathrooms and a nice balcony.
We also stayed one night in the other appartement they have to offer in Bejing Lu and this we can also highly recommend.
Rick Zhao is extremely friendly and very good at organizing your stay. A hint - Rick always recommended us on how long to stay in a place (we rented a driver through him) and he was always correct ;-)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Marcus Andre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p_vunsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kunming hotels
1.8 km away
Holiday Inn Kunming City Centre
1.2 km away
Grand Park Kunming
Grand Park Kunming
#5 of 1,237 in Kunming
587 reviews
1.4 km away
Sofitel Kunming
Sofitel Kunming
#1 of 1,237 in Kunming
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
#10 of 1,237 in Kunming
374 reviews
1.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre
8.1 km away
Intercontinental Kunming
Intercontinental Kunming
#2 of 1,237 in Kunming
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IC Holiday Shun Cheng Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IC Holiday Shun Cheng Serviced Apartments

Address: 25F, Building B, Shuncheng Superior Apartments, Yanhe Road, Wuhua District, Kunming, Kunming 650032, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Kunming
Price Range: ₹ 2,469 - ₹ 3,184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IC Holiday Shun Cheng is conveniently located in one of the most high end business communities of Shun Cheng in the heart of Kunming with lots of interesting things and activities to explore downstairs and around. Here we provide different types of apartments, rooms and dorms, and lots of extra services to make your stay in Kunming more comfortable and easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your IC Holiday Shun Cheng Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing