We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
5
25
14
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
25
14
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Generally, it was a decent hotel. It delivered reasonably good rooms ( i had a single occupancy room) and nothing went horribly wrong. The showers worked. The wi-fi worked. The bed was not bad. Just that we had a tight itinerary and that did not allow me to enjoy the room more. So it mostly was functional.

The eatery downstairs was alright and put out a decent spread that appealed much to Chinese appetites..so to those not accustomed to that kind of gastronomy, it was nothing to really shout about but this is a Chinese city that does not have the pedigree as the major ones, Long Way Grand Hotel ticked off all the boxes for me. Will give credit where credit is due. The staff had the right attitudes and delivered the necessary service required of them.

A nice little detour from the hotel was the night market within walking distance. Although it was pissy rainy on the final night of our stay, we managed - with our umbrellas and coats - to visit. Verdict? It would have been a better and livelier market sans the rain. But it was business as usual for many vendors and it was just another working night in Kunming, undeterred by the inclement weather.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank angelina_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

One has to remember, you are in a 3rd or 4th tier Chinese city, so their standard often doesn't meet your expectation. When we checked in, only smoking rooms are available, we had to take it. We were told (by agent) double rooms have 2 large beds that could accommodate 2 people per bed. No, they are twin beds and no extra space for a roll away. We had to get additional room for the 2 kids. Toilet doesn't have enough pressure to flush properly and the faucet at the sink only drips. I was totally amused that the bath towels had large see-through holes...Breakfast was average, and the Yunnan restaurant was just OK. Service was unimpressive, very limited/ no English. Love the close proximity to the large night market, very interesting to see all kinds of food being served.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

This hotel is also known as Long Way Kunming Hotel. We stayed 2 nights as it is quite near to the airport. Room was quite spacious. We didn't like the shower foam as it had a weird smell (individual preference only). Shower control wasn't easy to operate as it was either too hot or too cold. Breakfast was ok with fresh soya milk, pumpkin porridge and eggs station. No tea offered and only a Nescafé coffee machine. Check-out experience wasn't good as they just kept me waiting while attending to other guests. Overall it is still a good place for short stay.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank HappyTravelerSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016

We stayed in this hotel for two separate nights as part of our tour. The view from the outside does not look as impressive as its spacious lobby area with decorated art pieces.

The corridor leading to the room was brightly lighted up and pleasant. We had a standard or superior room which was not so spacious. The interior of the room was just average. Bed was a little firm but still comfortable for one night sleep. The shower area which can be viewed from the bedroom was a little tight less than a metre in width.

Breakfast selections consisted mainly local cooked dishes and congee.There was a station for noodles and fried eggs. Fresh fruits and breads for those not use to local breakfast. Overall, the breakfast selection was above average. I had stayed in other local Chinese hotels that provided worst selection than this.

The main plus point of staying in this hotel was the near by interesting street night market - just 3 minutes walk from the back entrance car park. Go there for your BBQ or cooked food. various varieties of fresh fruits, etc. You can even have our clothes altered!

Overall, this hotel is alright for 1-2 nights stay.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Machigoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel. Big room with comfy bed and pillows. Near the hotel, there is market for morning and night . In the morning they sell their local noodle and fruits, at night they bbq food and sell puppy etc. very interesting walk. After u come out of lobby, turn right and when u come to the small road, turn right again.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank winterdewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews