We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly worn out place. Location not bad though”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairyland Hotel Kunming Baida
Ranked #298 of 1,241 Hotels in Kunming
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Inside the pedestrian area of central Kunming. Rooms were supposed to be serviced appartements, not bad on paper. Staff speaks no english at all, apart from the day duty manager who understands the words "credit card" and "deposit". Having said that, they're ok-friendly, just not used to LaoWai people. Biggest drawback was aircon, only blowing hot air, whatever happens (days were burning hot during my stay, nights were cool).
Downstairs of the place there are some good chinese muslim joints. Try anything with lamb

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mik_goes_East
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2010

We used Kunming as a base to travel to several places in Yunnan, so we have stayed at this hotel 3 different times and each time we had different rooms. What we found out is all the rooms are furnished differently, so if you are not happy with your room try to ask for a different one. Our experience is the higher the floor the better the room.

If you are going to stay for 3 or more days it may pay to join their membership for 30 yuan/year. We originally booked through ctrip.com for 239 yuan, as member we paid 228 yuan. Breakfast is at the New Era Hotel's restaurant which is quite ok.

Just one reminder though, taxi drivers don't seem to know about this hotel, you better off to tell them go to New Era Hotel which is the same building separate entrance.

All in all we are very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllensWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2008

What a great hotel - very centrally located. We could walk to most attractions although you could use taxis which were very inexpensive. The hotel itself was very clean, rooms were spacious and buffet breakfast was absolutely fantastic - lots of hot and cold choices including noodles and dumplings. Not all staff spoke english, but this was not a problem. Loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellers408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2008

This is a nice hotel in a good location for shopping. The breakfast was good. The room was decent for the price. But, I would not stay there again or recommend it because our two nights were unbearable. They turned off the air conditioning system at night but would not admit it. The window could only be opened a few inches and let in more noise than air. My daughter and I tried to sleep on the floor under the window just to be a little cooler but it was not much help.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank havetwinswilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2008

I stayed here in October 2008. As other reviewers have said, it's right in the middle of all the action in the middle of town, and it has all the features of big 4 star hotel, delivered with the usual chinese quirkiness.

I was upgraded to a suite , with an extensive view over smoggy Kunming (definitely a place to stay whilst on the way to somewhere else). There was a definite smell of cigarette smoke throughout, and the ceiling was lower than I'm used to, but the TV and broadband worked just fine. The staff were very friendly and obliging - the concierge walked me halfway down the block to show me a good place place to get snacks.

The in-house breakfast was about par for the genre.

The only catch is that little English was spoken. My scratchy Mandarin was definitely needed when it was time to sort out a snafu with the laundry and later on to book a driver to Shilin (tip, get up at 5:30 and be there in time for sunrise, you'll get the place to yourself, and it's other-worldly without hordes of tourists)

A very pleasant surprise at the end, though. It's much cheaper than the big international chains. If you speak a bit of Mandarin it's an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tomgame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kunming hotels
0 km away
New Era Hotel Kunming
New Era Hotel Kunming
#10 of 1,241 in Kunming
439 reviews
0 km away
Kunming Hotel
Kunming Hotel
#406 of 1,241 in Kunming
217 reviews
0 km away
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
#8 of 1,241 in Kunming
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Grand Park Kunming
Grand Park Kunming
#5 of 1,241 in Kunming
588 reviews
0 km away
Sofitel Kunming
Sofitel Kunming
#1 of 1,241 in Kunming
250 reviews
0 km away
All Season Hotel Kunming Zhengyifang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairyland Hotel Kunming Baida? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairyland Hotel Kunming Baida

Address: No.1 Dongfeng West Road, Wuhua District, Kunming 650021, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 1,241 Hotels in Kunming
Price Range: ₹ 1,993 - ₹ 5,531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Fairyland Hotel Kunming Baida 1*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your Fairyland Hotel Kunming Baida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairyland Hotel Express
Fairyland Apartment Hotel Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing