We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice hotel in Xi'an” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Empark Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Empark Grand Hotel
Ranked #149 of 2,503 Hotels in Xi'an
CuriousTraveler007
Level Contributor
143 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in Xi'an”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

As part of our tour to China, we stayed 3 nights in this hotel.
Pros: very clean and nice decoration, rooms are big and nice and bathroom is well appointed. There is free wireless internet in the lobby. Service is good.
Cons: The mattresses were really, really hard and I like a firm bed but this was too much (they were probably the hardest mattresses we encountered in our whole tour) . here is nothing close by so you need transportation (not an issue for us being in a tour). The lobby feels rather small for this large hotel (mostly when everyone is trying to get connected at the end of the day) and breakfast is nothing special (not bad, but nothing to remember); my biggest complaint (if I would have paid this on my own) is that it is not truly a five star hotel, it is a good four star. There is also no pool (and this was the only city where we had time to relax in a pool.... tough luck!)
Overall I would recommend it if the rate is good.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CuriousTraveler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    101
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
11
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mernda, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel for only 1 night on our China Tour. A pity it wasn't longer. I cannot remember any negatives on this hotel. I believe that a few people on the tour did find that reception was very slow including my husband when checking out. But apart from that nothing major. Our room was 2610 . A spacious room. I do remember the bathroom, in regards to having mirrors everywhere, again no complaints at all. Breakfast was included. Again I cannot remember much of our stay as we checked in fairly late in the day and we all left fairly early the next morning. That being said, if there was something to complain about I would have remembered that. So we would stay here again if we were to travel to Xian again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

To keep it simple: the hotel is fabulous. Very classy with excellent staff. The only disadvantage is that the hotel is away from the city center. As such, you will need a taxi to get from the hotel to where ever you wish to go. There aren't too many places to eat nearby, but the restaurants are excellent, and the food is fabulous.

If you don't need to be in the city center, then I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverWillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

This is apparently the nicest 'Western' style hotel in Xi'an. It is clean and a typical business type hotel. The breakfast buffet is nothing special - get there early or it's gone!! The cashpoint in the hotel might not work for you - don't panic - I could only get Bank of China ATMs to give me cash. Staff spoke adequate English. I couldn't book via their website, but did it through a travel website and got the room half price (circa 500 Y - rather than 1000Y) - I wouldnt use their overpriced taxi service to the terracotta army - try Jack & Kelly tour service center - www.Jacktour.com 0133991956985; jackchen1971@vip.163.com All in all, the hotel is a good base for exploring the sites around Xi'an!! It is really far from the train station, but that is actually a good thing - the area around the train station is super hectic, noisy, dirty etc. And, free internet in the bedrooms (cable).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laulaupip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

Spent two nights at this hotel. Best part was free internet and Wi-Fi as well as their breakfast buffet which had numerous selection of American and Asian dishes along with a good selection of desserts. The service there was great. The worst part was the front desk service which definitely needs improvement. Their English was poor and often they seem to ignore guests waiting to check in/check out and hoping someone else will take care of us.
People are allowed to smoke in the lobby which is a personal turn off. The room was great and spacious but the view was less than desired.
Outside, not much to really view and I would not recommend walking late at night. Theres a local flea market within a few blocks and a lot of "dirty spoon" places. If you want to go to Wal-Mart, its a taxi ride away. Unfortunately, its not near any tourist attractions which I'm sure would be better selections for night life activity than this hotel where it is situated. Hotel was chosen by Tour Group Company

Stayed November 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank Trojan4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
2.3 km away
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#36 of 2,503 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
6.1 km away
Xian Skytel Hotel
Xian Skytel Hotel
#34 of 2,503 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
7.9 km away
Sheraton Xi'an North City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an
Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an
#16 of 2,503 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
8.7 km away
Xian Titan Times Hotel
Xian Titan Times Hotel
#15 of 2,503 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
5.4 km away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#12 of 2,503 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empark Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empark Grand Hotel

Property: Empark Grand Hotel
Address: No.19-1 Jiangong Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710043, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#85 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,482 - ₹ 5,526
Hotel Class:4 star — Empark Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 389
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Prestigia so you can book your Empark Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empark Grand Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing