We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovated Tai LIan, even better quality and great value.”
Review of Tai Lian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tai Lian Hotel
Ranked #17 of 659 Hotels in Guilin
Reviewed 29 December 2016

This was my second long stay at the Tai Lian, after it was renovated. Rooms are now very modern and clean with better Western style bedding, amenities and redesigned bathrooms. I noticed all new staff and a higher level of service. But note, very little spoken English here. We had excellent service for 8 days stay at the hotel, which is one of the best locations in town. Nothing romantic about this hotel, but it exceeded my expectations and met all our needs in comfort and convenience. The breakfast had ample selection of Chinese items. As with most of China, not a good spot if you want an aromatic, fresh brewed coffee in the morning, but the machine version was acceptable.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adkmts46er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

We did not have any problems and found everything fine and clean. The room did not smell of smoke, although apparently smoking is permitted as the room had an ashtray. air conditioning working very well. We speak enough Chinese to manage without English. You may not find much English speaking help here. I rather enjoyed the more traditional Chinese look of the hotel and room. The bed are also more usual very firm Chinese mattress, so this may be an issue for Americans used to much softer bed. Great price and great location. We went to the hotel restaurant for fine dim sum breakfast, and other morning walked down the street to the bakery for coffee.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank adkmts46er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

I thought I was the only one experiencing this kind of problem.
Yes, it is true that this hotel practices a policy of turning off the air con in the afternoon and night time. Except for this issue, otherwise this hotel is acceptable for the rate that we are paying. The location is very convenient too. It's in the heart of the city center. Just a few steps, you can reach to whatever attractions that you want.
Stayed in this hotel for a few times last summer and winter. So, the best time to stay in this hotel is during winter, you don't need to bother about the air con.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharemw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

The air conditioning is controlled centrally. They decide when you need it and when you don't. Even in sweltering weather, they turn on the air conditioning at ~7:00 pm and turn it off anywhere between 3:00-6:00 am (I am writing this at 8:30 am from inside the hotel and the a/c has been off for a few hours; my inside room temperature is already 23 centigrade and the sun is only just coming up). In other words, there is NO AIR CONDITIONING on during the daytime, when the temperatures are well above 30 centigrade. When I complained, I was told that guests are out touring during the daytime and no guest has ever complained about not having air conditioning during the daytime.

I'm packing up today and moving to another hotel. I regret moving otherwise, as the service is good. Everything is basic and otherwise okay. However, it is deceptive and cruel to turn off the air conditioning and make the room you are paying for uninhabitable during the daytime.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MahjongHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2010

A cautious message to all members!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We were staying in hell through the night. The rooms were smelly, opaque windows, hard mattress, noise from the street throughout the night. All of us, in 2 rooms, were coughing through the night because the air inside filled with cigarette and stench. We were unable to sleep at all.

So members, STAY AWAY############

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KHLEOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 659 in Guilin
181 reviews
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#4 of 659 in Guilin
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jingxiang Hotel
#6 of 659 in Guilin
151 reviews
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#10 of 659 in Guilin
862 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#7 of 659 in Guilin
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tai Lian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tai Lian Hotel

Address: No.12 Middle Zhongshan Road, Xiufeng District, Guilin 541002, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 659 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range: ₹ 2,594 - ₹ 7,713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tai Lian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Tai Lian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing