We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,242)
Filter reviews
1,242 results
Traveller rating
745
333
122
23
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
745
333
122
23
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorizon clubshang palaceli cafemini zoothe riverhorizon roompaddle boatsbeautiful hotelindoor poolchinese restaurantlobby barhealth clubdinner buffetmain restaurantthe executive loungeclub roomtai chi
Filter
Updating list...
289 - 294 of 1,242 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2015

This has to be one of the best hotels we stayed in on our recent holiday in China. The hotel smells lovely the second you walk in or walk through the corridors and foyer. We received a complimentary upgrade to the executive room with club lounge access. The buffet dinner has an amazing selection of food as does the breakfast. The restaurant head chef, Zafar, is very lovely, welcoming and friendly. The hotel is a little bit away from the town center, however the hotel facilities more than make up for it. The hotel has a beautiful gardens with peacocks. This is an excellent hotel for families, their kids play room had so many games and activities for children. We enjoyed playing angry birds.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Garden View is beautiful
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank This-is-Mitsy-Bitsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaGuilinMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guilin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2015

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Shangri-la Hotel Guilin.

We are thrilled to know that you had a wonderful stay and we would share your comments with our team members, and also we are glade to know you enjoy the angry birds playing in our game lounge.

Thank you again for your comments,you are mostly wellcomed back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015

Another outstanding Shangri-La property. Luxurious and well appointed rooms. Staff very friendly and attentive. Soothing and quiet stay away from the bustle and after a day of sight seeing. Tour desk can assist with local attractions. Horizon club lounge a great perk for breakfast and happy hour.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Paul_Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaGuilinMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guilin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2015

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Shangri-la Hotel Guilin.

We are thrilled to know that you had a wonderful stay and we would share your comments with our horizon club team members, and also we are glade to know you have a wonderful trip.

Thank you again for your comments,you are mostly wellcomed back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

Wonderful staff, great room. Very comfortable, soft bed. Provided a baby cot for our infant at no extra charge, and arranged a room close to elevator for us as per our request. It is classic Shangri-La style, service and comfort: you can't go wrong. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Cris-in-Bkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaGuilinMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guilin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2015

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Shangri-la Hotel Guilin.

We are thrilled to know that you had a wonderful stay and we would share your comments with our horizon club team members, and also we are glade to know you have a wonderful trip.

Thank you again for your comments,you and your baby are mostly wellcomed back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2015

On arrival we were immediately met by staff who spoke good English which was very welcome as we were independent travellers in China for the first time. The Horizon staff were very helpful and particularly accommodating, especially their manager Daisy, Carrie and Jasmine. Our room was very well appointed, with a lovely view of the Karst mountains, typical of this part of China.
The hotel has a tour desk in the lobby, again with fluent English speakers, through which we booked two outstanding private trips with an excellent English speaking guide, David, and a hotel car. (Li River cruise and Longji rice terraces). Other trips were available.
Every evening there was a complementary one hour cultural dancing performance, including an amazing young gymnast, which takes place on a stage outdoors with superb lighting effects but which can also be viewed inside from rooms facing the river.
Nothing was too much trouble for any staff member we met during our outstanding 5 nights stay.

Room Tip: Opt for the amazing mountain and river view.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank APJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaGuilinMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guilin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2015

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Shangri-la Hotel Guilin.

We are thrilled to know that you had a wonderful stay and we would share your comments with our horizon club team members, and also we are glade to know you have a wonderful trip for Liriver and the terrace.

Thank you again for your comments,you are mostly wellcomed back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2015 via mobile

Room is reasonable sized and tastefully appointed in a traditional Chinese style. Situated on the Li river it offers lovely views of the limestone hills. The large open lounge in the entry is spectacular with a huge expansive of windows offering a breathtaking view.
Although we were not traveling with children we saw lots of great facilities for families. Lovely gardens with a small lake and paddle boats, peacocks on the grounds, large outdoor pool and a fun children's lounge.
The executive lounge offers cooked meals to order as well as the usual array of appetizers. Staff here were extremely helpful and went the extra mile to ensure a pleasant stay.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank iaamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaGuilinMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guilin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2015

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Shangri-la Hotel Guilin.

We are thrilled to know that you had a wonderful stay and hope you could travel with your kinds next time to enjoy our chinldren facilities. We woud share your comments with our horizon club team members.

Thank you again for your comments, you are mostly wellcomed back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews