We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ridiculously overpriced hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
United Star Business Hotel
Ranked #1,601 of 3,522 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We were booked here by our travel agent during the Canton fair. They have charged exactly double the price because of the fair. It is not good policy and ensures that we will not stay here again. Though there is wifi in the room the password was disclosed very reluctantly. Rooms are clean and adequate but the bed is hard and pillow is almost non existent. Food is passable. If they change the beds and charge steadily we can stay there.

Room Tip: All rooms seem the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rajamMadurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

Before taking the boot to Hong Kong, we stayed one night in this hotel with our group but I would not recommend it, not even for 1 night!

When we entered the room it smelled like mold / moisture. The decor of the room was shabby and worn down (wall paper was coming loose). The bathroom as well as the room itself had a low cealing making the room feel small. The bed was short; only 180 cm long.

The bath in the bathroom had a big stain in the tub and the toilet seat cover was smudgy.

All the rooms of our tour group were like this.

For breakfast there is a small bakery / shop at approx. 200 m from the hotel on the other side of the road.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank HW0uters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Huge business hotel without much atmosphere.
OK for a 1 night stay.

Nearby are a few western restaurants (a.o. a Pizzahut)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchman-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

This hotel was the worst I've ever experienced. Of course, traveling in China you take your best shot, but this was a terrible place. Old, smelly and dirty rooms. I had to wear my shoes in the room Raw sewage smell in the restrooms. The bed was like sleeping on plywood. The only redeeming factor was on the roof, where the restaurant is, there is a beautiful rock garden with a Koi pond. Other than that, run the other way as fast as possible.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greenfin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.4 km away
Rosedale Hotel & Suites
Rosedale Hotel & Suites
#89 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
467 reviews
5.4 km away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#14 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
2,587 reviews
8.0 km away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#19 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
8.5 km away
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#27 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
668 reviews
4.1 km away
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#26 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to United Star Business Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about United Star Business Hotel

Address: No.172 Changgang Middle Road, Haizhu District, Guangzhou 510250, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,601 of 3,522 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range: ₹ 1,945 - ₹ 2,073 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — United Star Business Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your United Star Business Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing