We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Guangzhou Baiyun Airport
Ranked #18 of 3,394 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
572 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Acceptable airport hotel”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Our flight had been delayed by 8 hours and we missed our connection to Europe. Consequently, China Southern accommodated us at the Pullman Hotel, Guangzhou Baiyun Airport as we were flying business class.

We arrived after 01:00 and had frustrating delays both at the airport and hotel reception. The check-in process was done by a China Southern representative and there seemed to be a lack of agreement of what we were entitled to. Every minor decision including check out time, meal entitlements, had to be approved by someone higher up and this involved numerous telephone calls. It was after 02:00 before we got to our room.

The hotel is conveniently located just across the street from the airport terminal. There are electric buggies, apparently for the transfer employees from the terminal to the hotel as we did not see guests ever being offered such a transfer. Guests had to walk and carry their own bags.

Our room was large, with all the expected inclusions of flat screen TV; bath (bathroom amenities included additional items like toothbrush and toothpaste which is useful for those staying over without access to their luggage); in room safe; mini bar and hair dryer. Our room was very quiet and we heard no airport or aircraft noise. There is no complimentary in-room wifi, however, the restaurants and lobby have complimentary wifi.

Staff were friendly enough, it was just that there were so many of them in and around the lobby. Running the gauntlet, all insisting that we have a nice day becomes tiresome because it seemed that nearly every question such as the way to the restaurant, had to be referred to a more senior person. Unfortunately, the additional people did not result in better or more efficient service. At times they seemed to duplicate or worse, confuse what another was already doing. There was an issue when communicating with reception and concierge staff in English, as many seemingly simple questions about what to see in Guangzhou, etc were not well answered. We sat in the lobby and had to do our own research using our iPad – our stopover was unplanned so we had not done any research in advance.

We found the food in U8 very average, both as to quality and taste.

A big frustration came from the (apparently Accor) policy of pre-authorising every possible charge. The receptionist had already taken an imprint of our credit card on check-in. We booked a taxi for a four-hour trip to Guangzhou city with the concierge. When we arrived at the lobby at appointed time, there was a commotion between five staff members. The issue was that when we made the booking, the concierge had not sent us onto reception to get the car charge pre-authorised to our credit card. It took then nearly half an hour to sort this out, have the cost charged to our credit card and get a car/driver. We had been planning to settle our bill in cash, however, we did not trust the hotel to properly reverse the credit card charge.

Our first experience of this pre-charging policy was at the Sofitel Hotel St James in London where the staff could explain this practice. This practice becomes more offensive when it is sprung on you in a foreign country where you do not understand their explanation or their charging system. It would be nice if the hotel trusted its guests to honour their charges otherwise I feel that guest may also be apt to take the same attitude of distrust towards the hotel.

The hotel was acceptable for one night, but if we had longer in Guangzhou we would stay in the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yns_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    645
    164
    47
    33
See reviews for
148
207
221
630
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Coromandel, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Lovely hotel, service could not be better! Rooms very comfortable, breakfast great, restaurant had delicious Chinese food. Very friendly and helpful staff.Lovely ambience. Very nice pool and spa looked good, though I did not use it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zabou140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
311 reviews
268 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Location
Location is excellent, 3 minute walk from Guangzhou Baiyun airport terminal literally outside of departures and across the road. if you have a lot of baggage there are golf carts available to pick you up. It' offers quick access to terminal and subway which will get you into the centre of Guangzhou for less than £1 in 40 minutes.
Room
The room is five star Asian hotel quality, exceptionally clean with beds being soft and comfortable. Lighting options is excellent with dimmed reading lights and nice desk lamps. Other furniture a comfortable lounge chair with foot rest. A large desk area for working and where the broadband cable is. Good storage areas and a decent bathroom with the usual electric blind window into room option. Shower is good and amenities include roger galley soaps. A generally decent room with a balcony over looking pool.
Facilities
There are many facilities including a pool, sauna spa area for massages. Pool, sauna and steam room are very good. Table tennis room, snooker room a 24 hour restuarnt, a relaxing bar area various shops and ability to check in for your flight at a machine at reception. There is also a gym and wifi is unsecure in public areas, for rooms it's cable which is a bit annoing but it is fast. At £60 per night it's fine. Breakfast was good with plentiful variety of food for Asian and western cuisine.
Staff
Staff seem helpful and the concierge is great at reccomending sights to visit, explaining the metro map and how to get about the city. Check in and check out was fast and efficient. The only thing I would say is that in the room guide it says fitness kits available in room but none of the staff had any idea what I was talking about even though it's printed in the hotel directory book.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2012

The rooms was big enough, nice and clean. It has all the luxury you may expect from such a hotel like swimming pool and fitness room.

Broadband internet was available in the room and WIFI in the public areas.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

A well run hotel conveniently located immediately next to the airport. Professional service and floating hostesses abound, tasteful clean rooms and surprisingly good food (with the exception of that open dining area 'societe' in the lobby. Avoid!). There is also a large pool and sufficient gym on site. On the negative side, the concierge actually has no idea what the English words 'tourism'/'tourist' mean or anything associated with it. Having finished business early it would have been great for the hotel concierge and staff to have been able to make some suggestions to enjoy my free days in Guangzhou. An English speaking doorman at the lobby entrance would also be nice in assisting with organising transport.

If you will be visiting Guangzhou city you can take a limousine service (beautiful new Bentley Mulsanne), taxi or try the subway accessible through the airport. Location is great for the airport but not necessarily the best if you have business elsewhere.

Room Tip: Executive level if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pullmangzbyairp, Hotel Management Team at Pullman Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear SydRev, we were great to read such positive a feedback like yours on your last stay at Pullman Guangzhou Baiyun Airport and I thank you for that. We do our utmost to enchant our guests and I am glad to hear that we have achieved our aim. With the valuable comment of Enligh spoken staff what you have kindly mentioned, please rest assured we have already taken appropriated treatment and enhanced our colleagues English training. We are genuinely looking forward to welcoming you back agian to indulge our unique Pullman experience"Check in- Chill out"! Hotel Management Team at Pullman Guangzhou Baiyun Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
570 reviews
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#11 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
2,459 reviews
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
#15 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Baiyun Airport
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Huadu
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Huadu
#25 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
241 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
#2 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
615 reviews
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
#36 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Guangzhou Baiyun Airport? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Guangzhou Baiyun Airport

Property: Pullman Guangzhou Baiyun Airport
Address: North of Airport Terminal of Baiyun International Airport, Huadu District, Guangzhou 510470, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#7 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#15 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#18 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#20 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#23 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,483 - ₹ 12,826
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Guangzhou Baiyun Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Guangzhou Baiyun Airport is a 15-second walk from Gate 12 of Airport Departure Hall, ideally located in the heart of the Guangzhou Baiyun International Airport and 30-minute metro ride journey to city centre. With a modern style emphasizing comfort and contemporary technologies, the hotel provides 578 exquisitely furnished rooms, 3 unique restaurants and bars. 1,500㎡ pillar-free multi-functional Kapok Ballroom could be subdivided into 3 smaller venues; Concord Ballroom covers 460㎡ and we also have 20 different size meeting rooms. Hotel provides fully-equipped fitness & entertainment facilities as well, a 200㎡ gymnasium, 380 parking spots & a brand-new executive lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Pullman Guangzhou Baiyun Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Guangzhou Baiyun Airport Hotel Guangzhou
Accor Guangzhou Baiyun Airport
Novotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing