We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
8
20
15
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
20
15
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I gunter brinkmann was staying at the resort a few month ago. Arrival 16,11, 2011 and departure 21,11,2011, Room 0305, Conf. No 190873.
My total bill for staying at the Hotel was $ 2,674 rmb including exspenses in the Restaurant.
The lady at the Desk told me that I would be credited back $2000 rmb on my Credid card,which I deposit when I arrived 16,11,2011.
So you Hotel charged me twiceon my Visa card.Sofar I have not received the 2000rmb as a Credid on my Visa Card # 22-08237 Branch transit number:02020 Visa# ************* 5647
Would you please kindly correct this on my CIBC VISA CARD. Thank you, Regards.....Gunter Brinkmann.....PS: I also faxt a Letter on April 11,2012 to your Hotel with no response

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gunter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2009

The Howard Johnson Hawana Resort is in Conghua, Guangzhou. It is about an hour from Guangzhou city by taxi. The hotel rooms and lobby areas are very nice. The staff is pleasant and go out of their way to assist guests. But it is quite a way from any city or town and without speaking Chinese we were at a disadvantage. The hotel’s web-site said it was between 20 and 30 minutes to the hotel from the airport, but our taxi driver had difficulty finding the hotel and took more than an hour after going almost to downtown Guangzhou. This was not the fault of the hotel. We booked through Priceline, but Priceline did not forward payment to the hotel. The reception / front desk had no record of our reservation at all, but the hotel worked with us most professionally to accommodate us. Alice Wong was the Assistant Manager on duty. She was a lovely young woman that spoke very good English. She was called almost every time we had a question to be sure the responses were correct. The hotel required a hold on our credit card for our expected length of stay but did not charge our card until we checked out.

Our room had a king-size bed with free broadband and nice bath amenities. This hotel is almost an hour to Guangzhou by cab at about $20 USD each way, Conghua is about 20 minutes away but we’re not sure about public transportation and/or the cab costs. The indoor pool is on the fifth floor and is not heated. The outdoor pool is very large but was closed in January when we were there for cleaning. The Business Center staff spoke little English but tried to help or called Ms. Wong if they were not sure what we needed.

The biggest problem we had was that there was very little nearby to get a meal outside of the hotel. We found two small restaurants across the street. In the hotel, there was a conference or convention going on. One restaurant was closed and the other was reserved for a private party for the conference. The hotel set up a few tables in the lounge for dinner for anyone else. The “western” restaurant was open each morning for breakfast. We ate breakfast there each morning of our stay because there were no alternatives that we found. It was about $3 each. The food was about the same each morning. Most of the food was Chinese with few western choices.

We would only recommend this hotel if you wanted to stay in the resort (pools looked nice, but we were there in winter). We understand there is a shuttle when the Canton Fair is going on, but we were tourists.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikLinGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2006

We were staying at Howard Johnson Hawana Resort in December 2006 with my family, parents and 3 sons. We got very good service, personnel were speaking good English even if all the other guest were Chinese. The only negative point was that hotel cannot change money and nearest ATM is in the airport. It is not problem when you stay at hotel, but none of other resort area facilities accects any credit card.

You will find inside swimming pool and huge outside pool (closed for winter when we were staying), inside badmington course and outside tennis court. I wanna list could contain playing ground for children... but even childcare is on the list.

As we were during low-season, our price level was very favourable and so price-service level was excellent!

Place is not far from the airport and I could recommend it if you have no reason to go to Guangzhou city but are continuing further to China. Or coming back as we were.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank peter_homefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2006

My main complaint with this hotel was that they want to save electricity and the A/C was turned off from 2am until 6am. One night at 3am I got up wet from sweating and the mgr told me that they were going to check on the A/C, but later I discovered the real reason.
Guangzhou is a very hot and humid city, specially by the time of Canton Fair.
I think this hotel is designed for people from China and not for foreigners that come specially from the western world.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safari30668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews