We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid staying at this hotel if possible”
Review of Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Star Hotel
Ranked #1,504 of 3,506 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Local Chinese agent booked this for me. ( Big mistake! )
Not suitable for weterners travelling on business, no wi-fi, business centre or any other amenaties that you would expect. Predominantly Chinese clientèle which means breakfast is limited ( for you the westerner) to cherry tomatoes and.... nothing else.
Beds are rock hard and i mean ROCK hard , room lacks lighting and the words power shower have not yet reached the management of this establishment.
Oh and dont forget the little yellow voucher in your room on the 20th floor when you go for breakfast on the 3rd.., or else expect to go back to your room to get it because they will not let you in without it !
Happy travelling ... I'm off to the WESTIN just down the road

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkPhilippe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 35 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2009

Stayed at the Star Hotel during the Canton Fair, was on the list of "recommended" hotels...Well, luckily I didn't get one of the funky smelling rooms that reviewers have mentioned previously (though my colleague did). The beds were rock solid, as often they can be in Mainland China, the rooms was well used with stains on the wallpaper etc...Internet connection was free (wired) and so was breakfast, which was well stocked with both Western and Asian dishes. Staff were generally incompetant, and the concierge useless...next time in Guangzhou I'll stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imartinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 27 August 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 January 2007

This hotel was 'okay' but I wouldn't choose it again. The best part of this hotel was the shower!! The lighting in the room was terrible. We were on a non-smoking floor, which is a joke in China because they don't read signs and people smoke wherever they like. I was woke up around 2 AM with a sharp smell of cigarette smoke from another room near me! The dining rooms in the hotel charge 13% over and above their high priced food already! The staff didn't know where the shopping mall, which we found across the street...and I was with a Chinese National who spoke both Cantonese and Mandarin! Therefore...I didn't find the staff to be very helpful. All in all...I've stayed in better/nicer hotels for less money!

Stayed: January 2007
Thank fmsnchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2006

My wife and I visited Guangzhou for the Canton Fair in Oct 2006. It was late notice so we basically had no choice of accomodation and had to take what ever was available.

I was told the Star was a four star hotel, it's not. We landed an IT Business room, which basically means they have an old pc on the desk using up all the space. But does mean you can get online easily - by unplugging their wires and setting up the lap-top. And access was free - bonus.

The room was OK, just. But smelled badly - in fact the whole hotel stinks. There are too many resturants in the hotel, which means the smell of food is everywhere - generally pretty foul. Plus everyone smokes everywhere - I mean everywhere. So a combination that isn't very inviting.

On the other hand the staff are very helpful and always willing and trying to do their best.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Oss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.6 km away
Grand Palace Hotel Guangzhou
Grand Palace Hotel Guangzhou
#99 of 3,506 in Guangzhou
139 reviews
0.5 km away
China Mayors Hotel
China Mayors Hotel
#67 of 3,506 in Guangzhou
127 reviews
0.5 km away
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#31 of 3,506 in Guangzhou
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Vili International Hotel
Vili International Hotel
#984 of 3,506 in Guangzhou
43 reviews
0.7 km away
Jian Li Harmony Hotel
Jian Li Harmony Hotel
#1,714 of 3,506 in Guangzhou
51 reviews
2.9 km away
Starway Hotel Guangzhou Huanshi East Road
Starway Hotel Guangzhou Huanshi ...
#166 of 3,506 in Guangzhou
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hotel

Address: No.89 Linhe West Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510000, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#192 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: ₹ 2,653 - ₹ 6,148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Star Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Guangzhou
Guangzhou Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing