We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Resort”
Review of Chimelong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chimelong Hotel
Ranked #37 of 3,522 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My Bad. I ve been there on a business trip not for a holiday :) I had a few appointments in Panyu area that is why I chose this place for a business stay. The environment was so relaxing it turned out to be a half holiday. Good hotel , next time I will be here for the vacation stay hopefully :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 131 of 1,268 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

We loved the hotel and the whole resort area. We travelled from Hong Kong to Guangzhou via MTR Train from Hung Hom and checked in on a Saturday Afternoon. Its a huge area built out into a Fab resort and Hotel. They have Animals all around and the Main Lobby decor is really amazing. The Animal Area is pretty good and I saw atleast 10 White and 6 Snow Tigers in the same area. There are Flamingos and Swans (Black and White). The area is pollution free and has fresh clean air. Hotel Lobby is a good place to sit and relax and they have some music going on always.

Rooms are clean, big and well lit. There is no free stuff in the room however. The only thing they give for free is 2 bottles of water everyday As we needed a lot of water we had to pay 20 RMB for 2 small bottles. You may get them free in the lobby though which is a rip off.

The Circus there is pretty good and well worth the money. We enjoyed a lot there. Some acts were unbelievable and highly professional.

The main issue in the whole resort is they don' speak English at all. I was just trying to get Bread Butter in my room but they did not understand what I said. Plain refusal of anything they dont understand. Even the staff in the Restaurant Areas dont speak English at all.

Buffet Breakfast was awesome and had plenty of choices.

1 Tip: Go to Breakfast as early as 7:30 - 8:00 AM on Weekends otherwise you will stand in queue and wait approx 30 mins for eating. This 1000 seater restaurant also gets packed usually. We were lucky as we ran in around 8 AM and got the best White Tiger View Seats around.

I would suggest international tourists to get Chinese Printouts of everything they want to ask people as no one speaks good English.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with some animal theme there are Panda Rooms, Flamingo Rooms, Rhino, Tiger etc avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AmritB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stay at this establishment twice a year for the Canton Fair and since discovering it 3 years ago, haven't looked back! This place is so large it's easy to forget you're supposed to be working as the rooms are so quiet and unbusiness-like. It's as if you're at a resort far away from everything (which you are). The only downside would be the fact that over holiday periods or week-ends the place is overrun with local families. This makes getting a table at breakfast a bit of a lottery.
The buffet meals are OK but not fantastic, in saying that, if you stick to Chinese food you can't go wrong. The western offerings are hit and miss (more miss, especially the temperature in which the food is served).
The novelty of eating next to white tigers and pink flamingos hasn't waned, and the circus is worth a look. My only criticism is that they charge in-house guests RMB100 (USD16) to swim in the indoor pool or use the gym. As the room price is already quite expensive, I would have thought that they would include the use of these amenities.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gqueen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I use this hotel every year when going to the trade fairs. It is half an hour from the city so not good if you want to be in amongst the action. However, it is completely different with the onsite zoo and circus and waterpark if those are important activities. The views from the restaurants and bars of the white tigers and flamingoes are sensational. The restaurants are very good but other than the Butterfly Court are very expensive. The Butterfly Court itself is excellent with a wide range of authentic regional and western choices. The only problem is the limited communication abilities of the staff.
Generally the staff are excellent and service is first class. The rooms are enormous and everything is spotlessly clean.
I will continue returning here every year

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cosmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I was surprised that the hotel was so enormous, beautiful, & well run considering it is in China where most Chinese hotel's 5 stars hotel is more like a 3-4 stars hotel in international standard. The staff was very friendly & helpful. We booked 1 night in the Safari room (new wing) & were upgraded to a VIP room due to overbooked room by some kind of conference that day. The room was huge with its own walk-in closet & private shower outside. The spa jucuzzi in the bathroom was huge where 3 people can be inside at the same time. My 2 year kid loved it. Our terrace was huge. Some people complained about the old wing. I think you should pay a bit more to upgrade to the new wing which is worth it.

The only problem I had was the breakfast that it was a bit confusing with so many people. We waited 15 minutes to get a table in the White Tiger Restaurant but there are many available tables in the flamingo part of the restaurant. Thinking back, it was not worth the wait in the Tiger part because there were only 2 tigers there while there were more than 30 flamingos in the other part of the restaurant. The food was ok with many selections but do go there early because they took a long time to refill the food.

The Zoo was amazing with so many animals. I have been to many zoos around the world and it is top notch with well maintained & healthy animals. Most zoos I went where animals were so few & you have search for them because they go into hidings. But this is not true here where the animals roam free in their enclosures. There were some animal shows which were very entertaining.

If you are there, you must see the circus which was truly amazing. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SmartTravellerHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Wansheng Mingjia
#258 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
7 reviews
Pazhou Exhibition Hall
Xiangjiang Hotel
Xiangjiang Hotel
#1,220 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
69 reviews
Rosedale Hotel & Suites
#95 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau Star River Hotel
#60 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimelong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimelong Hotel

Address: Panyu Avenue, Panyu District, Guangzhou 511430, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#34 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#65 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: ₹ 8,520 - ₹ 23,688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chimelong Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Chimelong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chime Long Guangzhou
Hotel Chime Long

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing