We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Ranked #17 of 3,409 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“One of the best in the area”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

My office is just a block away from Sofitel, and I would say it is one of the nicest in the area. However, the location is quite far away from any subway station.

The room is nicely done, totally french Sofitel standard, please do request rooms on a high floor, so you can enjoy the view.

The gym and pool are great too (in PRC hotel standard), make sure you bring your gears.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leungleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    970
    351
    93
    31
    17
See reviews for
153
227
86
788
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I found this hotel on TripAdvisor, and the reviews did not mislead. This hotel in NY or Paris would easily be $800 a night vs. the $220 (US) I paid in Guangzhou. There is no drawback to this hotel, it's just a fantastic facility. Ask for a room with the curved glass windows since this type of room is generally larger and has a tremendous view being on the corner. However, because of the building's layout, many of the rooms offer this feature. Some nice features include the TV in the bathroom mirror; the separate tub, shower and WC in the bathroom; the nice desk with adapters and seating area in the main bedroom area. Would highly recommend this hotel, especially if you like a very contemporary design.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGC94102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I stay at room 2107 Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich, only want to inform that the room is very noisy by the sound of water. Especially when the next room starting or ending using the water.
Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiaJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Well, I dont think we're would be anough words to describe our experience of last few days...
Great ambience, fantastic service, wonderful facility and more.
Not only that a leisure centre was open at all times - it was very important for our whole family because we set ourselves on a long journey. Great variety of equipment, all in great order and well maintained.
Staff- made a stay even more pleasant, very helpfully, curtious, always happy to assist even if it was outside of their scope of duty .
Luxury of the room of itself outstanding I would risk expression - pictures dont do enough justice, absolutely fabulous , including most impressive bathrooms - magic you need to enjoy!!!
Breakfast- that is another story!
To die for!!!
The only remark I would have to make not as enthusiastic is to match the rest of the establishments charm COFFEE- was a letdown, until ( once again a willing staff member) young lady from Boston full filed my wish and finally managed to organize a decent Cappuchino.
It would be the best investment to get someone to fill in that gap.:)
Thank you Sofitel Sunrich.
We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank memama007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management S, Manager at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
We would like to thank you very much for your encouraging review.

We have taken good note of your comment concerning the coffee, kindly rest assured that all steps are being taken right away to correct this situation.

The entire team of Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich looks forward to welcoming you again very soon.

The Sofitel Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The service & food at this hotel is shockingly poor.
The rooms are great, large & really comfortable but out of 3 of us staying here on the club floor there are dirty socks on the floor, dusty teacups and smelly towels.
The food is very expensive & not good quality- breakfast in the club lounge consisted of 1 overlooked poached egg on 1/3 of a slice of soggy toast- not worth £40.
Both restaurants are empty at all times & when we have eaten here we have found it very average & expensive- ate in the shangri la last night for 25% of the price and much tastier.
The club lounge service is very poor, no one is prepared to help & the English is not widely spoken (I know we should be able to speak Chinese) but we are in an international business centre & we can 't seem to get anything across. The service is also very slow.
The club lounge serves drinks & snax til 7.30- I am currently 5 months pregnant & was not allowed to take some bread and cheese at 7.30 as I was told it was closed, even tho I'd only just arrived & it was all still out on display.
A colleague has had to cancel a night this evening & I've had to pay the full bill as it is under 24 hour cancellation policy however they have insisted I also pay a 15% service charge to clean the room- even tho, I have pointed out they Do not need to clean the room as it won't be used.
I really wouldn't recommend this place at all.
The power ha cut out twice & the Internet is off & on

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c-roo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management S, Manager at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
We are sorry to read that you have been disappointed, we understand this is mostly due to the cancellation fee situation. Our staff could have explained the situation better to you.

Since you booked through a third party that has cancellation policies, we do indeed have to follow these policies, a proper clarification should have been made and we apologize.
.
We are however surprised by the comment on the club lounge as our records show clearly that you enjoyed the buffet freely even though closing time was passed.

The Sofitel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
1.6 km away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,409 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
3.0 km away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#14 of 3,409 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,487 reviews
1.0 km away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#19 of 3,409 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
#2 of 3,409 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
7.1 km away
Langham Place Guangzhou
Langham Place Guangzhou
#9 of 3,409 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.9 km away
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
#7 of 3,409 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich

Property: Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Address: No.988 Guangzhou Avenue Middle, Guangzhou 510620, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#6 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#9 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#14 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#17 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#59 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,046 - ₹ 16,420
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in Tianhe, the most dynamic financial and commercial district of Guangzhou, the hotel is less than a kilometre away from city landmark CITIC Square and a five minutes drive from Guangzhou East Railway Station, the transportation hub connecting Guangzhou, Dongguan, Shenzhen and Hong Kong. Facilities include 493 spectacular Paris style decor rooms and suites, all overlooking TianHe trendy skyline, 5 innovative bars and restaurants,extensive recreational facilities from SoSpa, SoFit 24-hour fitness centre to an indoor pool enjoying a panoramic view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing