We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally unacceptable no matter in any of degrees”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Star River Hotel
Ranked #69 of 3,430 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Macau
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Totally unacceptable no matter in any of degrees”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

As a business trip and somehow that's the only one choice we could choose, we booked many rooms (please forgive me can't tell you how many because some reasons), but the bill was big enough. RMB 1480++, enough to stay at the world's top brands hotels in the downtown. Here should not be your choice at this rate.

Firstly, mind the hotel's karaoke. In fact, it's a typical chinese nightclub. At night, don't be surprise to see a beautiful lady accompany with a drunk gentleman in the hotel.

In terms of the location, it's actually a suburban of Guangzhou, far away to the city center. Very far away to get to the nearest metro station on foot, no any convenient/public facilities near the hotel. The location was just "Bad" if you want to get to the downtown.

The entrance was quite small, not grand, easy to skip it if you drive yourself. The lobby was typical five stars style. However, the corridor through to rooms and elevator lobby were dark, there were plenty of lights to make the environment better.

My room was only BIG, besides, nothing was positively remarkable. Over the whole room, there were only few of lights, it's okay in the daytime, but never at night. Especially for the working table, if you insist to work at that level of lighting at night, it's gonna to hurt your eyes! The balcony was useless, because the door was locked. Furthermore, I found one lady's hair on my bed~~~~

The room equipped a coffee machine, sounds good? Haha, so what! I prefer they gave me back the water boiler instead of. The pencil's condition they provided for clients to write quick notes was disappointed, only two papers were provided.....The cushion on the sofa were covered by plastic, feeling very bad.

The breakfast buffet was totally not recommended, RMB 128++/per person. Definitely unreasonable, the foods' quality, taste and service, HORRIBLE. Even for Chinese traditional dishes.

The staffs were know nothing, never met someone could tell you a certain answer for your inquires. Only keep telling you to how much will be charge for this service, what's the restriction, or even directly ask you to give them a tip when you paying the bill. It's really really crazy!!!!

Room Tip: High floor with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FernandoCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    80
    18
    4
    7
See reviews for
5
7
4
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

I was in Guangzhou as part of the Asian Paralympic Committee delegate for the Guangzhou Para Games held in December 2010. I was truly impressed by the world class service and facilities. The small touches such as lovely daily greeting notes and chocolates were absolutely delightful! Notwithstanding the fact that it was winter then, I felt warm from within and close to home. It was one of my best experience ever!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mccheah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Be prepared to be treated badly here! And do not expect 5 star rooms or treatment even if you've booked them!
Booked this hotel on Expedia where it it explicitly described as 5 Star.
Upon arrival at the hotel reception I was told my room was elsewhere, and after waiting 20 minutes my colleague and I were loaded in a mini van and driven 5 minutes away where we were dropped off in an underground car park of what seemed to be a residential area.
The room was expremely shabby, with peeling wallpaper, stained carpet and furniture, chipped paint in the bathroom, poor quality products in dispensers, no safe, no bath/ bathrobes / mini bar / LCD TV, and a view and noise of a 20 lane tollway below.

Contacted Expedia and they said they use information provided by the hotel. After 2 hours of trying to explain to various staff members at the hotel that we did not get what we expected they all came to the same conclusion "It wasn't their fault and they would give a better room if we paid more"

Finally the next morning we found lovely American staff member who took us to breakfast, apologized profusely and took notes on the whole ordeal. He was there for a short time to explain international hotel standards, unfortunately he wasn't there long enough.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalGlobalGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyChan, Manager at Chateau Star River Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2010
Dear Sir,
We feel sorry for your unhappy experience during the staying of our hotel. Anyway, we thank you for your comments and will make any possible improvement to our service.
The Apartment Room is managed by but different from the hotel. And it is built with 3 star standard. We have descibed clearly on Expedia. And the price should also indicate something.
Of course, we are improving the service and set-up of the Apartment Room. However, please understand the stand of the Apartment.
And paying price difference for changing a room is reasonable. So we feel it was a pity that you didn't try our hotel amenity and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
74 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

I chose staying a room at apartment building rather than hotel building. The room is excellent, great view with balcony, large room, comfortable bed, etc.

The food at their western restaurant was good and valuable.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Manson_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
10.5 km away
Chateau Star River Haiyi Peninsula
Chateau Star River Haiyi Peninsu...
#281 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
23 reviews
3.0 km away
Agile Hotel
Agile Hotel
#104 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
63 reviews
11.3 km away
Royal Marina Plaza
Royal Marina Plaza
#80 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 km away
Hilton Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
Hilton Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
#30 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
418 reviews
10.0 km away
Ramada Pearl Guangzhou
Ramada Pearl Guangzhou
#64 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
324 reviews
11.6 km away
Royal Mediterranean Hotel
Royal Mediterranean Hotel
#51 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Star River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Star River Hotel

Property: Chateau Star River Hotel
Address: No.1 Panyu Road North, Panyu District, Guangzhou 511430, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 3,430 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,678 - ₹ 12,069
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Star River Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Star River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing