We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No choice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Madinah Marriott Hotel
Ranked #30 of 149 Hotels in Medina
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The checkin was fast and efficient. The room was spacious for 2 guests. It's good to make use of the shuttle service because it cuts down the time to reach the Prophet's SAW mosque. The staff friendly and helpful. Would have appreciated it if the breakfast was included in the price.

Room Tip: Stayed on the first floor and the view was good. Also moving in and out of the lift is quick
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSHaffejee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

So me and my family decided to stay at this hotel over the Eid Al-Adha break (we live in Saudi Arabia) because Madinah would be empty (Hajj pilgrims would all be in Makkah). There was a good deal going with the hotel and it had decent reviews, so we took a chance and booked. Before I carry on, it's important to note that I try incredibly hard to be as fair as I possibly can with any review I write. With that in mind, I have to say that for a five-star hotel, Marriot Madinah was just overall a poor place to stay in. Here are the reasons why:

Bad

- The hotel doesn't have an underground car park facility, so guests who travel by car had to pay SAR5 an hour to use off-street parking, which is generally full all the time. I would understand if I was staying in a typical three-star furnished apartment, but I thought it was poor that a supposedly five-star hotel doesn't have underground parking.
- The rooms were not well-cleaned at all and my toddler daughter discovered a pin and several toenails from the previous guests that almost ended up in her mouth. Even when we alerted housekeeping to this, after they cleaned the room we still found more toenails dotted around the room.
- The property itself is in desperate need of a refurbishment and is overall poorly maintained.
- We asked room service to deliver a simple tomato pasta for my daughter. We were initially quoted a timescale of 20 minutes. When that passed, we called again and was told 45 minutes. After an hour passed, we called again and again until the food came, only to find that they had brought chicken nuggets. Apparently the person who took our order thought tomato pomodoro and chicken nuggets sounded the same. To the hotel's credit though, they didn't charge us for the meal, but that didn't really compensate for the fact that we put our daughter down to sleep an hour and a half later than we should have due to this incompetent service.
- The next morning, we called housekeeping to send someone up to clean our daughter's milk bottles. No one came for 2-3 hours and again it took several heated calls before we were told that the staff had gone for Friday prayers and would only come up after. Fine, we didn't mind and we understood that, but at least tell us this right from the start instead of stringing us along for so long.
- After all the above occurred, I went down to reception to speak to the manager to complain. I was told that the manager was unavailable, so I told the receptionist to let me know one way or another when he was available. Guess what? No one bothered to contact me again and I just gave up.

Good

- The staff were generally friendly and courteous, at least when we actually got to speak to them.
- One receptionist, Talal, went out of his way to show me where I could safely park my car without having to pay the hourly fee.
- The location is good, within easy reach of quite a few restaurants and 10 mins away from the Prophet's Mosque. A shuttle service is available.

What made our stay so much more frustrating is that this has so much potential to be an excellent hotel, but suffers from the lack of attention that inexplicably seems to be given to supposedly five-star properties in Makkah and Madinah. It desperately needs staff who constantly exercise diligence to go along with their friendliness and who pay proper attention to maintaining basic hygiene standards in the rooms.

Overall though, stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Amj P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslamFarghaly, General Manager at Madinah Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback, it sounds good to know that the staff service was satisfactory and our reception staff went the extra mile to fulfill your needs, also the location is good.
as we do strive to provide our guests with the best services and memorable stays, we apologize for any inconveniences.
we are looking forward to welcoming you though at our hotel.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

The booking clerk was completely uncooperative; they deducted half the booking value before I arrived at the hotel, and they canceled the booking without contacting me.
I regretted booking at this hotel

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank khaledbadawy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslamFarghaly, General Manager at Madinah Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback, as we do strive to provide our guests with the best service and comfortable experience we will share your feedback with the concerned department, we are sorry for any inconvenience might be caused.
We are looking forward to welcoming you though at our hotel

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Overall it was a good experience with goods and bads
Goods
Room cleaning was good with perfect timing on your choice to get the room clean.
Shuttle service was always there for pick and drop from hotel to Haram
Perfect location of the room with perfect view of Haram
Walking distance to Haram not even required shuttle service
Bad
Worse ever possible iftar I had in my life with sky high price of 360 SR just for 2 adults and a child. Juices, desert and main course meal all were literally screwed up. A big no to it I believe banquet manager should be fired...........

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Umarhashmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslamFarghaly, General Manager at Madinah Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback with us.
it is very good to know that the room cleanliness was up to your comfort and satisfaction and the shuttle service was convenient.
as we do strive to provide our guests with the best service we will share your comments with the concerned departments, we apologize for any inconvenience might be caused.
we are looking forward to welcoming you here though.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Nothing about this hotel meets Marriott standards. You can't even designate it as Courtyard Marriott. It is a run down hotel which needs a full renovation top to bottom. After speaking with hotel manager he confirmed the hotel is due for a full renovation and unfortunately until it begins this is what they are working with. It was good to hear that property will be up to Marriott standards at some point.
The staff were very nice and pleasant. The location is very near Haram about 7 min walk. They have a shuttle but to be honest easier to walk. There are a few places to east just on the street and the Medina Museum is less than 10 mins walk from hotel.
The beds are terrible and I had back pains from sleeping on it. The hotel manager apologize and offered a complimentary shuttle to the airport for me which was very nice of him. Once again staff are good just crappy property.
Overall if you are thinking of staying here but keep in mind it's not it all up to Marriott standards. It's more like a no name 3 star.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Asif I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslamFarghaly, General Manager at Madinah Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Dear valued guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback
As we are striving to provide our guests with the best level of service we will deeply consider your valuable comments
We are looking forward to welcoming you though at our hotel

Warmest Regards
Islam Farghaly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medina hotels
0.7 km away
Millennium Taiba Hotel
Millennium Taiba Hotel
#11 of 149 in Medina
162 reviews
0.5 km away
Bosphorus Hotel
Bosphorus Hotel
#16 of 149 in Medina
36 reviews
1.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Madinah
Crowne Plaza Madinah
#9 of 149 in Medina
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Saraya Taba Hotel
Saraya Taba Hotel
#19 of 149 in Medina
22 reviews
1.4 km away
Dar Al Hijra InterContinental Madinah
1.2 km away
Madinah Movenpick Hotel
Madinah Movenpick Hotel
#10 of 149 in Medina
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madinah Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madinah Marriott Hotel

Address: King Faisal Street, opposite Madinah Governor Off. | PO Box 25711, Medina, Saudi Arabia
Region: Saudi Arabia > Al Madinah Province > Medina
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Medina
Price Range: ₹ 3,945 - ₹ 8,861 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Madinah Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Madinah Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Medina
Medina Marriott
Madinah Marriott Hotel Al Madinah/Medina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing