We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kremlin in Kazan”
Review of Kazan Kremlin

Kazan Kremlin
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 11.59*
and up
City Sightseeing Kazan Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #1 of 25 Tours in Kazan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The historic fortress dating back to the 16th to 19th centuries.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Kremlin in Kazan”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Good to see - but read a bit about the history before coming.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Darek_Wohun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,394
    320
    54
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Modern, comfortable, english difficult”
Reviewed 25 December 2011

All the comforts and clean rooms in a historical area.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank GilB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
108 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but nothing is written in english”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Worth visiting, but hard to understand what is what as everything is written in cyrillic....

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank bostona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“A Real Surprise”
Reviewed 1 September 2008

The Kazan Kremlin was really the star of our very successful visit to Kazan. I had decided to include the city on our tour of Russia on a whim having heard about the Kazan Kremlin. It was one of the best decisions I made about our trip, and ther worst was probably to allow only one day there!

The kremlin was absolutely stunning. Right from the pristine white of the walls and the mosque right through to the well looked after flower beds the place was absolutely spotless.

Many of the buildings inside the kremlin are used for offical state visits, and the president of Tartarstan actually has his recidence there. So it isn't just a museum, but actually still a seat of power. And you get a feeling of that as you walk around the streets inside the fortress.

We booked a tour with a guide at the entrance to the Kremlin and this turned out to be another good decision. She didn't speak English though, so my wife had to translate for me as we walked around. English speaking guides are available, however, some prior notice is required. We later found out that our hotel could also arrange English speaking guides that could guide us not just around the Kremlin but also the rest of the city. So this may also be an option if you wish to combine a visit to the kremlin with a tour of the city.

The guide was very friendly and easygoing and had an excellent knowledge of the history of the kremlin and the buildings inside it. And she quickly guided us around all the main attractions of the kremlin.

The main attractions were of course the mosque and the cathedral, but there are of course much else to see also. I found the visit to the kremlin very enjoyable and I recommend anyone visiting Kazan to make it a priority to see during their stay.

Helpful?
10 Thank TheEagleGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Like a magical island of beauty and quiet”
Reviewed 30 December 2006

The Kazan Kremlin has undergone very extensive recontruction of the past few years. I dare say, there is still some ongoing work. But right now, it is one of the most delightful places in Kazan. It's very clean and peaceful. Architecture of many types pleases the visitor at every turn.
The Kul Sharif mosque (1995) is definitely worth a visit. But women, be aware, you must be suitably covered/modest - head scarves and "shawls" are available at the door.
The Annunciation Cathedral (1554-62) has been exquisitely restored. It's absolutely beautiful. Don't miss the lovely garden outside, near the entrance. It's a jewel in summer with beds bursting with flowers, green arbors with benches, and an imposing statue in the center.
During the summer months, you can find food stalls and gift/souvenir shops open. One very special gift shop is actually "in the wall" of the Kremlim. A little harder to find, but well worth the effort.
The views from the walls are wonderful as is a stroll around the Kremlin on the outside of the walls. A favorite place for Russians to wander! Also you may take the new Metro to the base of the hill quite near the Kremlin - very convenient!

Helpful?
3 Thank GilandKathyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kazan Kremlin also viewed

Kazan, Republic of Tatarstan
 

Been to Kazan Kremlin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing