We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WiFi internet in room was very flaky”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Herzen House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Herzen House Hotel
Ranked #81 of 334 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“WiFi internet in room was very flaky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

I very much agree with the other reviewers that this hotel is a very good value for the money. It was clean, the breakfast was decent (and included), it is an excellent location, the staff were very kind and helpful, and the management obviously work hard to attain a high standard of quality in this price range.

For those travellers who are interested, I did want to report that the wifi internet in the rooms is not sufficient to do any work that requires a sufficient and reliable connection, such as skype, instant messaging, or watching video. There were continual dropped connections and the bandwidth seemed to be very dependent on what others were doing on the internet. The hotel does provide a computer that uses a more reliable internet connection and is therefore able to do skype. However, that is in the lobby of the hotel and therefore a private skype conversation is not possible. If you are only interested in checking email, or don't mind using the computer in the lobby then you don't need to worry about this.

Since free wifi is very attractive to some guests (increasing more and more as people carry wireless devices) and this hotel advertises this, I hope the management will pay attention to this issue. Please have a computer expert look at the issue as this appears to be more of a problem than simply a signal strength issue (you may need to look into bandwidth issues). I would also put into place a plan to monitor the system for problems so that they can be fixed right away when they occur. Wifi internet is becoming more important to more people and some business travellers want to save money but still require dependable internet.

I see that one other person mentioned this in a tripadvisor review earlier this year. I did not see that review before I booked, and so I felt I need to highlight this for

Thanks to your staff for making my stay in Peter such a friendly and comfortable one.

Room Tip: Rooms facing courtyard are most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sfchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nataliaspb, General Manager at Herzen House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Sfchris,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Herzen House Hotel and submitting a review.
Many thanks for such warm review and specially for appraisal of management work. The management really works hard to make the best for comfortable stay and create high standards and warm atmosphere.

I’m trying to solve problems with Wi-Fi connection. We’ve tried different ways already but it’s still works not good. Looks like the problem is the hotel located in the old building with very special walls preventing a good signal. Now when we are in way to increase number of rooms we can do other attempts.
I will be happy personally to report you about situation. If you have any questions or requests please do not to hesitate to contact me: natalia@herzen-hotel.ru

We look forward to welcoming you back. Kindly asking you to let me know if it happens. I will be happy to meet you and all staff will be happy to give you special attention and some VIP complimentary services.

Yours respectfully,

Natalia Stepanova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    103
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
43
85
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Stayed here the 3rd week in Oct and it was FANTASTIC! First of all, the people there were absolutely STELLAR. Alice, Anastasia, Natalya, Evgeny...SO charming and helpful and PATIENT!
The hotel is in a GREAT location, walking distance to SOOOO many things, restaurants, grocers, the Post office, shops, metro, and of course attractions.
The room was SO lovely, and SOOO clean! When I was there , the hotel was not packed and they gave me an upgrade, which, my European standards, was HUGE! Bathroom too, and who doesn't love the floor tile warmer and the towel warming rack?? I was right on the street side, which is no bother to me, as I am from the city and actually like a bit of traffic sound. But even if you don't, it was not obtrusive. Bed slept like a DREAM!
Every morning about 3am there was the clip clop or horse hooves from someone exercising their animal or just riding for pleasure??? I loved it. Also, a few evenings, I saw the horse and carriage go by, which takes tourists around town in grande style.
The breakfast prepared every morning in the dining room ( 8am-10am ) was fantastic. And coffee and tea were on tap all day and night, as well as light snacks. There were many things to chose from hot and cold, and I am certain that there was something for every type of breakfast taste...
Train back to Moscow was in the late afternoon, but I was able to store my luggage at the Herzen near the office in a locked room, which was really nice.
The staff members were very helpful with things like Maps, how tos, where-do-I-finds, Internet use, and what not. As I mentioned , they were SO very nice, and bent over backwards to make my stay there a memorable one.
On Wednesday there was a Russian tea that the staff invited guests to, which I am sure was brilliant, based on the other guests' response, but I did not make it because I went to the ballet that night.
Overall, I am really happy that I decided to stay there. It seems to have had everything I needed right there at my fingertips.
Thanks for everything,
Best regards,
LKW

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candlejack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Stayed here in October 2011 and was so impressed with it that I had to write a review. The hotel was brilliantly located, close to all main sites. It was spotlessly clean and had everything you could possibly need. However, the best thing about the hotel was the friendly, helpful service with a big smile! All staff went out of their way to be as helpful as possible, recommending restaurants, booking tables and taxis, finding restaurant discount vouchers and even teaching you Russian! Every Wednesday evening there is an optional Russian tea available which is very tasty. All in all, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rateatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights in September 2011. Good location, less than 5 minute walk to Nevskiy Prospect and 10 minutes to St Isaac’s Cathedral. Free computer for guest’s use in reception area. Good if plain breakfast with the same items every day. The Russian Tea Party on Wednesday night was a nice touch. Quirky elevator that jerked and stopped several inches above the floor but always operated well.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytravler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronniesue45
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

This hotel, in an apartment building,was a real find. Though the rooms were a little small, with very small beds, the location could not have been better. 10 min. walk from the Hermitage and most tourist locations. The staff spoke great English (not easy to find in St. Pete) and were extremely helpful with restaurant suggestions and other tips. The rooms were clean and the breakfasts were acceptable. We had an early morning flight on our departure day and they set out a breakfast for us at 5:30 AM! One afternoon they set out a samovar and blinis for tea!

Room Tip: Standard rooms faced a noisy street (superior rooms quieter, facing a courtyard), however, the manag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronniesue45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Casa Leto
Casa Leto
#95 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#11 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Admiralteisky
Station Hotel A1
Station Hotel A1
#70 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Golden Triangle Hotel
Golden Triangle Hotel
#19 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Nevskiy
Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
#84 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petr Hotel
Petr Hotel
#48 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herzen House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herzen House Hotel

Property: Herzen House Hotel
Address: Bolshaya Morskaya St., 25, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#62 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#69 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,632 - ₹ 14,106
Hotel Class:3 star — Herzen House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the very heart of Saint-Petersburg, within 5-minute walk from city's major attractions, such as the The Palace Square, St. Isaac's Cathedral, The Admirality, The State Hermitage Museum. The Hotel provides cosy interiors, convenient position and friendly English-speaking staff who would be delighted to welcome tourists and business travelers to the city of St. Petersburg. All rooms are designed in calm pastel colors, have comfortable furniture, satellite TV, telephone, air-conditioner, shower, hairdryer, complimentary Internet access.Voltage:220V. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Herzen House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herzen Hotel St Petersburg
Herzen St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing