We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“price/service = the best”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #43 of 361 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

my first time experience. and not the last, i believe
rooms are nothing particular, but good
location very good
breakfast - excellent - selection, service and the restaurant itself
swimming pool helped me to recover after a busy day, thanks!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank denseb702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga K, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest!
We appreciate very much your eagerness to return to us again. You are the most welcome!
Of course we know all our weak points and one of them is a state some of the rooms. We try very hard to support them clean and tidy but 11 years of exploitations make their business. We are making planned renovations but it runs not as quickly as we expected because we are always overcrowded. We thank our guests whose priority is in comfort of hospitality hotel stuff and desire to see positive sides of life!
Looking forward to seeing you at our hotel!

With best regards,

Olga Kazantseva
Guests Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 822 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is centrally located in St Petersburg. The reception staf was quite efficient, but lacking smile. Rooms are basic level, but batroom dark and airconditioning non existing. Luckily you can open the window - if you happen to find the key from the drawer. We had a buffet dinner at the top floor restaurant; hardly have seen so depressed presentation of food. Starters were mediocre level Russian salads, charcuteries and fis, but the main courses were below any standards; poor meat stew, basic pasta bolognese and well over cooked fish. The breakfast in the same restaurant was in both morning basic fairly good level.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank V M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga K, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest!
Thank you for your staying with us.
I dare give explanations to your comments point by point to make the picture you’ve drawn not so gloomy.
First, I believe you will not deny that our bathroom is in a very good cleaning condition. As for the light is concerned we take your opinion into consideration when we make renovation of this floor in the near future.
Agree with you that we do not have air conditioning but instead - in each room there is a fan- coil with a help of which you can change the room temperature. This system is wildly used in many hotels all over the world.
This system explains why we do not always keep the windows opened. If we open all the windows, the central system supporting the same temperature in the rooms will be broken.
I hardly agree with your comments about breakfast. If you reed comments of the other guests they always highly appreciate the choice and quality of food. We are proud by the fact that a big choice of food let everyone find something that he likes. I dare notice that we do not serve pasta during breakfasts.
In spite of some your negative impressions, we will be happy if you return to us again finding plausible excuses to our imperfections.


With best regards,

Olga Kazantseva
Guests Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Build approx. 10 years ago, this is a very modern and nice hotel. Minus for the carpets in the rooms and NOT being able to adjust the temperature.

Really modern interior, good breakfast / lunch buffet restaurant (9th floor - with a VIEW),

Helpful staff everywhere, making our stay really pleasant. High quality wifi, nice lobby bar and a souvenir shop in the lobby.

Recommendable!

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Fyken_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga K, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Guest!
Thank you very much for your highly complimentary comments on our hotel.
Absolutely agree with you that some of our rooms really need renovation. We are doing planned restoration but unfortunately it goes slower than expected because our hotel is always overcrowded. I can only hope that your next stay with us will be in a new room.
My special thanks for your kind words about our stuff because people make hotel face.
Off course it is in a combination of good food, good cleaning and good infrastructure.
We will be pleased to have you in our hotel again!

With best regards,

Olga Kazantseva
Guests Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

I stayed here as part of a tour group and the hotel is ideal for that. Breakfast buffet is outstanding in selection and variety including fresh fruit and excellent bread and pastries - the fresh omelette is a real treat. The rooms and bedding were of a very good standard and having water coolers on each floor was very practical. Concierge was most helpful in arranging tickets for us and bar staff were excellent. Seeing senior managers walking around very positive! I liked practical things - like having a cash machine and souvenir shop in the lobby. A hotel more for groups however than a single traveller as it's a good 10/15 minute walk to the Nevsky Prospect but some good restaurants nearby.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Mazeyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 September 2017


Dear Guest!
Thank you for a very positive picture of our hotel given in your letter. The words: “ outstanding” , “ excellent” and “the most helpful” are the brightest characteristic to the hotel. You’ve mentioned even cash machine and souvenir shop finding their location very practical. I am sure that you’ve learned our hotel not to the end because we have the other points of love for our guests – fitness center with professional musters in hair and nail art with specialists in facial and body massage and many other things. Anyhow the city itself needs more attention and time to get acquainted with it better.
You are the most welcome!


With best regards,

Olga Kazantseva
Guests Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Location is fine for visiting the main sites - 10 minutes walk to the underground, twenty to the river Neva. The hotel presents well, is clean and functional, but breakfast is not well managed, leading to shortages of crockery and dishes at busy times.
Worst for us was the high charges for use of the pool after 11.00am, which meant we did not use it later in the day, when we really wanted to. Challenging the guest relations manager, we were told it was to avoid it becoming a 'frog pond'!
On the plus side the reception and concierge staff were excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcsaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 September 2017

Dear Guest!
Thank you to find time for comment on the hotel. I am happy that you positively estimated reception and concierge stuff they are gratitude to you for it.
Agree with you that sometimes in a busy time of breakfast waiters are too fast to remove crockery and dishes from the guest table because their main task is to clean the table. Very often they do not know if you are going to continue your breakfast or you’ve left the restaurant. That is why you can return to your table when it is empty and cleaned. May be this situation made you to think that we are having the lack of dishes. It is not true, we have no problems with dishes and crockery even when the restaurant is overcrowded. Sorry that you’ve get a wrong opinion! We shall pay special attention to the service in restaurant
Unfortunately I can add nothing to my explanation about our pool. Its space is not enough to afford all those who like to come in the afternoon and especially in the evening.
In spite of some discomfortable moments during your stay with us I hope you will come back and will be happy to host you.

With best regards,

Olga Kazantseva
Guests Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#25 of 361 in St. Petersburg
845 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
#31 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,536 reviews
New Peterhof Hotel
#1 of 8 in Peterhof
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 361 in St. Petersburg
804 reviews
Grand Hotel Emerald
#94 of 361 in St. Petersburg
227 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#28 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: Rimskogo-Korsakova Ave 5/7, St. Petersburg 190068, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#19 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#33 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#46 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#65 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: ₹ 3,589 - ₹ 12,817 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador Hotel is located in the historic center of St. Petersburg, a 7-minute walk away from Sadovaya (Sennaya Ploschad’) Underground Station. St. Isaac and St. Nicholas Cathedral, the Mariinsky Theatre, and the Yusupov Gardens are all in the immediate vicinity of the hotel and you can visit them while you take a walk.There are 251 comfortable rooms at the hotel, including the rooms of the following categories: Economy, Standard, Superior, Studio, Demi-Suite, Suite, as well as the Rimsky-Korsakov and Presidential Apartments. Each room is equipped with air-conditioning, Internet access, a direct international and inter-city telephone line, interactive and satellite TV, a mini-bar and a safe.All rooms are decorated in tranquil pastel shades with comfortable furniture upholstered in elegant fabrics and luxurious curtains. Bath rooms are equipped with big mirrors and somewhere are decorated with mosaic. All the rooms have a beautiful view on the historic city center, cozy courtyard or Rimsky-Korsakov avenue.According modern standards, the hotel has comfortable rooms equipped for physically handicapped guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel St Petersburg
Ambassador St Petersburg
Ambassador Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing