We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and comfortable. Just book the taxi independently.”
Review of 5th Corner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
5th Corner Hotel
Ranked #57 of 358 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2012

It's a good option to explore St Petersburg. It's only a 10min walk to Nevsky Porspect and the metro is even closer.The room and bathroom have a good size and cleanliness is goo, although the toilet paper is unappealing. If you're travelling for business it might not be a good option, as the wifi doesn't work in all rooms (at least not in ours and our friends'. We could still access the wifi in the lounce of the floor. Breakfast was good. The receptionist was very helpful most of the time, like when we asked her to book a taxi to the restaurant and a table there for us. She speaks good English. It's not something you can take for granted in Russia. But she declined to help us to book a taxi to the airport because the hotel sell their own transfer for R900 for 1 person or R1,300 for 2. We booked it ourselves with the yellow taxi company for only R800 for 2 people (they do speak English). Do note that the in-room safe is not attached to the wall.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank APDRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 71 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

The hotel has a very good location. It is close from Dostoevskaya/Vladimirskaya metro station, and one of the streets takes you straight to Nevsky Prospect. We barely took the metro to get to most places. I stayed for four nights.

Rooms are modern, big, and well designed, bathroom is clean and big. Breakfast on the ground floor was very good, specially for winter. We stayed at the end of winter and the heating for us was very good.

The check in process was OK, the staff did not give you a lot of info, but were efficient. Be aware that you have to pay an additional fee for the registration of your passport. I did not use the internet, but my friends yes and it was OK, they needed to request a password every day. The hotel does not have an elevator.

The rate was very good and includes breakfast, hence it is a very good place to stay in St. Petersburg: good location, good premises and good price.

Room Tip: We stayed in an interior room and it was very quiet. The hotel offered a transport to the airport...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseatoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The situation of this hotel is very good, and close to Nevsky Prospekt, the main street of the city . The room was not very pleasant, but large enough, in what concern the cleanliness, it was "so-so"...As for the staff, I didn't see them often . On the opposite, the breakfast was complete and agreeable to be taken . I think anyway that in each hotel you can be, if you come to visit SPB, you won't regret : this city is good to be visited !

Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
Thank Jose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

The many comments about this hotel are right on, Location is superb, rooms are fairly spacious by big city standards, clean, quiet walls and everything is a short walk away. The TV is a bit dated and small though and heating and cooling seems to be automatic and cannot be controlled by you.

Here is my advice- don't take the front desk's shuttle. Might be a scam- the nice and pretty desk lady told me 700 RUB to airport. Great sounds better than the 1200 coming to the airport, I said sure. When I get the the airport, the driver in his KGB accent said 600 more Rubles meaning dude wants 1300 Rub. What a bad impression on the way out of Russia, LIES. Yes, I know cabbies are a pain but this one takes the cake. I don't care for any Russian cabbies, worse than the ones in Bangkok. I really don't know how to beat these guys. Ask a local? Anyway, Russians are nice to foreigners just never want to deal with cabbies again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acura9927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

OK,

Sorry if i babble on but if i had someone tell me all this then it would have been helpful...

First things first, on the plane over to Russia you have to fill in an immigration card regardless of your visa. The visa process for us was very smooth and if you need any info on that separately then just email me...

Having been told by the stewardess that you need to fill in both parts (this paper has a pererated middle) and you use one on the way in and one on the way out...quote 'if you lose the second part then you will be detained by Russian Police and decided on a person by person basis whether you will be let out of the country' this made me quite scared to say the least!

The airport is very basic, very old and run down but does the job and the security is thorough, shoes off and pat down regardless sort of place...you go through customs, produce your visa, your immigration card and in turn get a stamp in your passport and on your second part of the immigration card.

The taxi stand in the main hall is very reasonable - 900 roubles - around £20 for the 20 min journey to the hotel and it was very reliable. Dont use the ones outside which do not look as professional and you dont get a receipt.

On arriving at the hotel (our taxi driver wasnt sure where it was) you can indeed miss it. The entrance is quite hidden...The reception staff were helpful (I have an email add for them if you need to get im touch) and nice and they take your passport and produce your Police registration document (yes another official document) for about 150 roubles and you pick up your passport the following morning. After getting this you do not need to keep your passport with you, this will suffice.

The room was gorgeous, so homely and warm feeling, the bathroom/walk in wet room was very modern and the shower was fab. It had a mini bar which was very reasonably priced, a safe and large wardrobe. Only problem was no lift and so if you cant do stairs may be not the best idea to stay here. There is a sitting area on each floor with big comfy leather sofas and a huge reception.

The restaurant/bar downstairs was very modern and good food! I had the steak and it was perfect :)

It was around a 20 min walk into town or the hermitage and a nice walk so didnt feel uneasy at any point.

The hotel is in a modern area full of shops, bars and all kinds of different restaurants, thus like us if you didnt fancy walking into town at night you have everything you need around you.

The hotel will organise you a taxi back to the airport for 1300 roubles which is 400 more than from the airport however it is very hard to book anything because not a lot of people speak English to book a taxi so it is worth it for peace of mind to know that you are going to get there on time. And...as a plus we had a lovely man, i think the assistant manager drive us there in a private car, who was a VERY interesting man and we had fantastic conversation - thank you to him and he liked a bit of Frank Sinatra!

All in all FAB! Defo book this hotel you wont regret it!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leahlufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Dinastiya Hotel
#54 of 358 in St. Petersburg
255 reviews
Nevskiy
Hotel Anabel on Nevsky 88
Hotel Anabel on Nevsky 88
#46 of 358 in St. Petersburg
356 reviews
Statskiy Sovetnik
#75 of 358 in St. Petersburg
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kolomna
Matisov Domik
Matisov Domik
#41 of 358 in St. Petersburg
185 reviews
Hotel Vera
#25 of 358 in St. Petersburg
482 reviews
Vladimir
Ligotel
Ligotel
#17 of 358 in St. Petersburg
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5th Corner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5th Corner Hotel

Address: Zagorodny Ave., 13, St. Petersburg 199002, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vladimir
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
#29 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#55 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#57 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: ₹ 2,783 - ₹ 5,695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 5th Corner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5th Corner business hotel is conveniently situated in the historical center of Saint-Petersburg in the Five Corners Square, close to many historical monuments and museums of the city, as well as 10-minutes walk from Nevsky prospect, the heart of business and cultural life of the city. Nearest metro station - Vladimirskaya - is 300 meters away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your 5th Corner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fifth Corner St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing