We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still good as few years ago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Art-Hotel Mokhovaya
Ranked #102 of 349 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Still good as few years ago”
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Stayed overnight having missed the train to Moscow. It was great to find out that everything was kept at the same high level as few years ago when I stayed both for business and leasure - rooms, service, etc. So I am joining all the previous positive reviews.

I have searched through a couple of booking sites looking for cheaper options (since I just needed two double rooms for a six-hours sleep) before calling the hotel and found out it was reasonably priced comparing to other mini-hotels in SPB (I have stayed in some). So this hotel has a premium price-quality ratio if you're ok with such type of a hotel.

Well, one can find the location inconvenient: the hotel is 10-15 minues walk off Nevsky prospect and there is no metro nearby. Moreover it is hidden inside a block of residential buildings, but for me all those are pluses meaning you stay off the crowd being able to discover more of the real city (their famous double-exit courtyards, for example).

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank airmax805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    43
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
52
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nashville
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

we were heading to russia with another couple from latvia (we flew over from the states for a quick vacation). I was extremely overwhelmed with all our travel plans to russia - i read so many bad/scary reviews of hotels in st.petersburg, and the additional trouble of getting a visa - aargh! so when i read the reviews of this hotel on tripadvisor, i was hopeful. my expectations were far exceeded by this wonderful hidden gem. we were not in st.petersburg long, but i thought the location was wonderful. my husband and i are runners, and we were able to go for a run every morning from this hotel, never more than 4 miles, and see pretty much everything. great little restaurants are right around the corner from this hotel. staff was incredible, rooms were clean, bathrooms modern, huge room, very safe. and all the great little extras a small hotel can provide - they held our luggage for us when we arrived in their lobby at 8 am (!) from the overnight train from latvia, and great price!! i just cannot say enough good things abt this hotel. oh, and for americans used to a pretty sad breakfast when included with the room price, the breakfast was wonderful - huge!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NashvilleMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

The mini hotel is value for money compare to the high pricing in Russia. If you decide to walk from the metro station to the hotel, it would be not a good idea because the hotel located between two metro station, you will prepare to walk for 15 mins. However they offer a shuttle bus service from the airport and charge reasonably. Great traditional Russian Breakfast and helpful desk service.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bari_ttc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2009

Our experience with this hotel began almost 12 months before we travelled to St Petersburg. I e-mailed many questions and requests over that period and each time got an answer within hours and assistance with Visa Support Documents etc.
They arranged transfer from the airport which was a good idea as I think the hotel would have been very difficult to find the first time.
The hotel seemed hidden in a less than attractive courtyard but once inside we were thrilled with the beautiful decor and good-sized room. The bedroom and bathroom were top quality and very clean. We were very comfortable there and the location wasn't too bad either. It was about a 10 minute walk to Nevsky Prospect (the main street).
The staff speak English and were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was served in the room at a time you request and was plentiful. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2008

If you are looking for a hotel with a reasonable room rate courteous sevice but no frills then this is the place for you. There is no restaurant and breakfast is served in the room. There is also a room service menu if required. The hotel provides an effective car service from the airport.

From a location perspective you do have to be prepared for a walk to the closest metro station (about ten minutes) but buses and trams are closer. As far as the popular sights and locations are concerned The Hermitage is about twenty five minutes walk but there is plenty to see in between. The hotel will always call you a taxi.

The young ladies who run the hotel are charming and helpful right down to providing umbrellas in the event of rain. They will organise tours, book restaurants and provide discount vouchers for local restaurants.

It's really good to discover a place like this. In comparison to the four and five star places this is a deal and you probably get better personal service. However if you want your bags carried and a hotel restaurant then this is not for you.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonJohnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Art-Hotel Radischev
#182 of 349 in St. Petersburg
40 reviews
Nevskiy
Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
#75 of 349 in St. Petersburg
310 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Shelfort Hotel
Shelfort Hotel
#84 of 349 in St. Petersburg
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Demetra Art Hotel
#46 of 349 in St. Petersburg
338 reviews
Liteyny
DOM Boutique Hotel
DOM Boutique Hotel
#28 of 349 in St. Petersburg
112 reviews
Arbat Nord Hotel
#101 of 349 in St. Petersburg
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art-Hotel Mokhovaya? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art-Hotel Mokhovaya

Property: Art-Hotel Mokhovaya
Address: Mokhovaya St., 27/29, St. Petersburg 191028, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Liteyny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 349 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,642 - ₹ 8,993
Hotel Class:3 star — Art-Hotel Mokhovaya 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the heart of St.Petersburg historical center, near the Summer Garden, the Art-Hotel Mokhovaya is a small elegant hotel with 14 rooms and suites.The hotel is within easy access of many city attractions including Mikhailovsky Castle, Field of Mars, The Hermitage and The Russian Museum, among immense variety of restaurants and shops. Explore some of the features that make the Art-Hotel Mokhovaya unique, such as our central location, comfortable guestrooms, and personalized service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Art-Hotel Mokhovaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing