We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Emerge yourself in the mistery of Cartier Odysee adventures, spend the night in Russian Palace” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Grand Hotel Europe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Ranked #7 of 330 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Emerge yourself in the mistery of Cartier Odysee adventures, spend the night in Russian Palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

I always stop at this hotel when I'm in STP. It's expensive but there are ways to get a deal if you r not visiting the city during white nights or economic forum. And then, I stay just one night. Service is excellent, location is perfect. And breakfasts are really special! Don't sleep and skip them! On the contrary, reserve yourself an hour to start your day with healthy varied food!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NataliaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,162
    230
    72
    23
    21
See reviews for
233
547
91
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Today i visited Grand Hotel Europe for their famous sunday brunch with family and friends. From the moment we walked into the fantastic dining room that is Restaurant Europe we were treated as royalty. A fabolous jazz band were playing in the background as we picked up our plates and went to the buffet.
At first I took some time some time just walking around it just to look, because of the enormous area filled with delicious dishes. Everything from oysters, caviar and crayfish to live meat stations, rich varieties of salads and greens, charcuterie and cheese corner and an amazing crispy duck trolley. I also enjoyed a rich selection of bread and found a favourite in the beatroot roll.

When we were ready for desserts we actually had to walk into another room, because were no more space in the dining room it self. This seperate dessert buffet contained a large variety of cakes and pastries, a live crepe station and a wonderful chocolate corner.

All in all the food and ambiance was amazing. The executive chef Marco, came to our table several times to ensure that everything was prepared to our liking and that we were having a good time. I will also like to mention our waiter Dimitri who provided the most attentive, friendly efficiant service.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EivindL807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed with a group for a few days at this hotel and the experience was sensational, from the pianist at breakfast to the 24 hour bar we were always looked after and given a wonderful time.
When one of the party took ill the hotel could not do enough to assist and support, certainly a comfort being so far from home.
The room we had was large with plenty of cupboards and a nice sitting area just lacking somewhere to hide the suitcases.
Only issue was overheating which is apparently what the Russians like but sleeping could be difficult and opening the window was quite noisy.
Certainly not inexpensive but what you expect from 5 stars in a prominent city.
Not inexpensive by any measure but what you expect for 5stars in a world class city.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knowle
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed here to celebrate my wife's fortieth birthday and was not disappointed. When we arrived we were welcomed with a glass of cranberry juice before being told that we had received a complimentary upgrade to the next level room. We were then showed around the hotel facilities by a very friendly girl from reception.

The rooms are very much along the lines of being classically designed with a huge very comfy bed. The only small criticism I would make is that the beds were two large singles that had been made up together. However we were so pleased with the service that we didn't want to make an issue of this.

The hotels cocktail bar was amazing. A great atmosphere 24/7 and they always seem to have high quality live jazz entertainment. Clearly in a 5 star hotel you are always going to pay a high price for most things and this place was no exception. Breakfast per person was approaching £50 sterling each although you could half this cost if you had a more bespoke continental breakfast in the room. We did this a few days and the service was always top class.

Before we flew to Russia from London I had emailed the concierge, Alexei a few times to ensure that the hotel could help me celebrate my wife's fortieth birthday. We had discussed a number of restaurants and cocktail bars that my wife and I could visit. I have to say that Alexei was absolutely amazing. He suggested that we may like to go Mansarda restaurant to celebrate my wife's birthday and duly booked us the best table in the house which overlooked Saint Isaacs. In addition he also arranged for my wife to be presented with a small Birthday cake with a Roman Candle burning firework on the top. It made the night and the holiday!

Alexei also arranged for two small birthday cakes to be delivered to the room too.

I want to put on record how helpful Alexei was, this guy is clearly very customer focused. Thank you!

Whilst we were at the hotel we also undertook a Thomas Cook arranged trip to Peterhoff and we also arranged our own trip to the Marinsky Theatre. This was amazing. We also visited the Blelle vue bar at the Kapinsky Hotel and had cocktails although from a luxury perspective this hotel did not have the level of detail to customer service that was present at the Grand Hotel Europe.

Overall this was a fantastic holiday and we were treated like royalty. Well done Alexei and all the staff at the hotel for making our stay exceptional. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LordKixley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

This is a truly wonderful hotel--one of the best I have ever stayed at throughout the world. The location is great (near all the museums and historical sites) and the hotel manager and staff were very professional and helpful. The breakfast buffet is not to be missed and has every food you would ever want (from caviar to stroganoff to any breakfast food you ever imagined). Our room was spacious and very well appointed. The hotel is not inexpensive, but is worth every dollar.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#4 of 330 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 330 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 330 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#5 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#15 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Europe

Property: Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Address: Nevskiy Ave., Mikhailovskaya St., 1/7, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,850 - ₹ 79,935
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cultural and culinary landmark, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe has played a central role in social, cultural, civic, and business life of St Petersburg for 140 years. Belmond Grand Hotel Europe is located in the very heart of the city centre, on the corner of Nevsky Prospekt and Mikhailovskaya Ulitsa. Positioned adjacent to the Arts Square, the hotel has strong associations with the worlds of theatre, music and ballet. Past guests include Peter Tchaikovsky, Dmitry Shostakovich, Ivan Turgenev, Johann Strauss, George Bernard Shaw, Luciano Pavarotti, crowned heads and world leaders. Today the hotel offers its guests 266 rooms. The hotel's Historic Floor boasts 10 unique suites with individual names, including the Dostoevsky, Romanov and Pavarotti suites. The hotel is home to four welcoming restaurants and bar of the highest international standards. On Fridays, L'Europe Restaurant hosts the hotel's celebrated Tchaikovsky evenings, while another pearl of the hotel's restaurants is the Caviar Bar, where guests can enjoy blini with caviar washed down by ice-cold vodka. Those who enjoy chocolate can make their dreams come true in the hotel's in-house chocolate factory, where they can even order a chocolate grand piano. Located in the heart of the cultural capital of Eastern Europe, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe combines the charm and elegance of 19th century tsarist Russia with the contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Belmond, Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com and Ostrovok so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing