We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pushka Inn Hotel(St. Petersburg)
US$ 210
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 246/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Astoria Hotel(St. Petersburg)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$ 396
US$ 320
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Petro Palace Hotel(St. Petersburg)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 246
US$ 203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Vera(St. Petersburg)(Great Value!)
US$ 60
US$ 58
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 206
US$ 185
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 209
US$ 165
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 187
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 431
US$ 347
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
92
52
11
2
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
52
11
2
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast is servedcharming hotelsmall hoteltrain stationnevsky prospektlocation was perfecta wonderful stayspeak good englishgood sizenikitamoscowluggagecitytaxipetersburgreceptionist
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I arrived and got our room at 11am. Around 15mins walk from Moscow train station. Room was clean,size was not huge but okay for us with two 24" luggages. Better request a lower level room if you carry heavy luggages... Bathroom was newly with stylish design,water pressure was great but the waterpipe was clogged up...

Hotel is close to the metro station Mayakovskaya. We just walked to the area of the heritage via Nevsky prospect. Shops,cafes,restaurants are along the road. We try the French restaurant next door which recommend by a front reviewer. They serve nice meal and breakfast too(may take time),recommend!(menu in Russian and French...)

As the other reviewers said,staffs speak basic English but friendly and helpful. Booked a taxi for a LEDairport transfer from hotel one day before with a fee of 800rub!

This is not a luxury hotel but a cosy one.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank akaJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The place: The boutique Hotel Martin has an exterior that is far from impressive (but I guess quite cool) and also hard to find if you don't already know what it looks like. The reception and bar areas are very tiny and right in front of our room. Our room (Room 1) on the other hand is spacious and very charming. There's no desk for those who need to work. Bathroom is the star with jazz music played 24/7 from a central radio. Room and bathroom are both spotlessly clean. We also love the seating areas by our windows where we had in-room breakfast everyday and watched people walking by. We were not at all aware of the noise issue that some reviewers complained about though our room is right next to both the street and the hotel's entrance.

The location: 3 min walk to the nearest Metro station and Nevsky Prospekt. There is a supermarket right opposite and plenty of nice restaurants around (recommended: the French place next door and the gorgeous Russian restaurant inside Helvetias hotel right opposite). A taxi ride from the hotel to the airport is about 1200RBL

The service: Staff's English seems very basic and they can easily misunderstand what you say. They once cancelled our booking due to a phone call to request for different bed setting that was interpreted horribly wrong. Though they are all very nice and try to be helpful, their manners are not exactly very professional.

All in all, we had a very pleasant stay and think this chic hotel offers very nice facilities for its price range compared to other hotels in St.Petersburg

Room Tip: We find the setting of our Room 1 downstairs right next to the reception area better than those upstairs'. Carrying luggage up and down the stairs is not exactly fun (the hotel staff can also do it for you or you can use their tiny lift).
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cutiela83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This hotel has a great location, close to the Nevsky Prospekt and the Moskovsky Train station and the rooms are well rennovated and refurbished to a modern standard. One really cannot complain. There is a walk up some steps to get to the reception which might be difficult for those with a heavy bag but all in all it is not too bad. The staff are friendly and the hotel is clean. The big negative with this hotel is the noise. I was on the first floor so the Marata Street was less than a stones throw away. You can hear the noise from all the traffic and it goes pretty much all night. So it is all very well having a nice comfortable bed and nicely rennovated rooms but if you can't sleep because of the noise then there are clearly some issues. This hotel is partly recommended but if you can afford it then the Helvetia Hotel across the road is a better bet with its nice restaurant and its Swiss style hospitality ...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnobrien98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed at Martin hotel for 5 days as a solo traveller. Clean rooms which appeared newly refurbished. Good location quite close to the train arriving from Moscow and about 2 minutes walk to the nearest metro on Nevsky Prospekt. One of the best things about Martin Hotel was the airport transfer - 1000 RUB to Pulkovo (even at 4am in the morning). Overall very satisfied with the experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZSiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Every now and then you get the feeling of a hotel that started out well, and then lost its way. The Martin has that feeling. Someone hired a terrific designer, put together a great hotel, and then stopped paying attention.

There are many reasons to recommend the Martin: it’s excellent value in a good location—off Nevskii Prospekt, around the corner from the Mayakovskaia metro station, only half an hour’s walk down to the Hermitage. The rooms are ample and done in a handsome style, with dark striped wallpaper, warm hardwood floors, leather club chairs, and modern bathrooms. The entire hotel is near spotless. Among the perks is a generous complimentary breakfast brought up to your room.

On the other hand, the hotel has a sound problem: Even in the quieter upper reaches of the hotel, sound travels in all directions. At various points in our four-day stay we were overwhelmed by the televisions and phone conversations in rooms next to us. A nice idea for piping music into the bathrooms goes awry when you realize that you can never really turn it off (forget having your own switch, as the music migrates through the ventilation system). So if your neighbors have left theirs on, or, as is the case, housekeeping has turned it on in every room after cleaning and your neighbors have not yet returned to extinguish it, then you are stuck. We spent an entire night listening to eerily circulating light jazz—shades of Jack Nicholson in the movie, The Shining. Light rock in the daytime is much harder to bear. Disabling the system at least after midnight (if not entirely) would be a good idea.

Our room had an almost absurd lighting problem—existing lighting is moody and stylish, but prohibits even basic reading, no small matter in the dark of a Petersburg winter. Our room was almost comically dim, and even after a few days one kept reaching for the light switch, somehow assuming that it must not have been turned on. Adding a basic reading lamp or a few more halogen spots would be a simple remedy.

Most rooms have no desks, awkward for anyone who needs to sit and do email for more than a few minutes. Likewise, recharging phones and laptops is a balancing act in the absence of readily accessible plugs.

The additional of a simple shoe mat during winter would make the room more pleasing. The attractive floors might not be real wood, but there is nothing inviting about a pool of melted snow and salt from boots that have nowhere else to go but inside one’s room.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor surrounding the small bar area.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThoughtfulGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews