We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roses Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roses Hotel
Ranked #67 of 329 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

I stayed for 4 nights and think that the hotel is very nice. The room has a good size, the windows in my room had mosqito nets which is a must for this town. Breakfast was nice, fruit yogurt, porigge (i liked it very much), ham and cheese, they also had some cooked meals (spagetti, rice, sausages) and salad. The hotel has a great location, 4 min from Nevski Prospekt and metro station Vostanyia. Staff was fine, no elevator.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvanaNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    97
    26
    6
    7
See reviews for
66
98
23
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

I chose this hotel as it was definately one of the most reasonably priced hotels in the city.

Its location is central to everything (just off Nevsky Prospekt), being 2 minutes walk From bars, cafes, metro and a shopping centre. The area itself is very busy and bustling, but my family never felt unsafe at any time.

There are various floors to the hotel which are linked by a central stairwell (reception is on the 3rd for some reason). It has the feel of an ex apartment block.

The rooms were in a good, modern condition, spotlessley clean and very welcoming. There is a central dining area on each floor where there are tea and coffee facilities around the clock. Breakfast is also served in these areas, it is quite a clostrophobic affair with a lot of 4 seater tables to cater for the number of guests. You do have to squeeze past people and wait your turn for things, but as long as you're not too anal about that sort of thing its perfectly pleasant.

The staff were amazing, spoke perfect English and offered to arrange any transport, excursions etc with a vendor of your choosing (i.e. at no financial gain to the hotel). They arranged my taxi from the airport to the hotel and Fed-Exed the keys I managed to leave behind in the room.

All in all a first class experience in a hotel full of character, made so by the fantastic people who work there. This is not a shiney, generic, marble floored, office block style hotel, if thats what you're looking for then this isn't for you. If however you wish to stay in a traditional Russian building and live in modest comfort with helpful staff on hand 24/7 this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

The staff is wonderful, the location is very convenient, especially to the train station, and the rooms are clean and well-furnished.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJM911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

This hotel is over a main street with cafe style restaurants below. Keep in mind that this is a B&B, there are no facilities apart from a breakfast room upstairs. No lift and a few flights of stone stairs to get to the reception area, but my case was carried for me. The room had a safe, small fridge stocked with sodas, snacks and beer, but there is no kettle. I had a shower room (no bath) robe, slippers and a hairdryer. It is clean and relatively quiet, not much noise from the outside, I had windows closed at night, there is air con. Bed and bedding really comfy. No English TV channels or World News, at least I couldn't find any! The reception staff are extremely helpful and speak quite good English. 5 minute walk to Moskovskiy Rail Station and buses, plenty of small convenience stores around and pretty much a central spot for sightseeing. I felt quite safe and secure in this hotel and felt that it was good value for my money. I had a great week in St Petersburg which was spoilt terribly by the departure experience at the airport, queuing for over 4 hours for Paspport Control which led to crowd disorder and injuries - quite traumatic, I boarded the plane 1 hour after the scheduled departure. Don't leave on a Friday!!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are at the front overlooking the street. One minor irritation, if you are on the same flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FruitCake_2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

I picked this hotel only 6 weeks out so there weren't many options. However I was satisfied with it. It had double glazing so no street noise could be heard but unfortunately each time someone used their swipe card to access the floor I was on, I could hear a loud beep, so you do get woken up. Even though this hotel is just off Nevsky Prospekt, be aware that it is a really long street so it is about a half hour walk into the tourist part. The breakfast was average but presumably very Russian, i.e. greek salad & pasta for breakfast but the blinys (pancakes) saved me. There was a free computer for internet us as well but no English TV. The staff at the hotel arranged a transfer from the airport for 1000 RUB which was a bit expensive but I was glad to have it after a 24 hour journey to get there. The staff spoke English but knew absolutely nothing about English tourism. I was shocked to realise that 99% of tourists were Russian and consequently so were the tour operators. This was early June before most of the cruise ships docked. Beware that smoking is permitted in the halls so by the time you climbed the 4-5 flights to get to/from your room, you will smell of smoke!

Room Tip: I was located facing an inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahl0uise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svet73, Director of Sales at Roses Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear guest, first of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for your informative review.
We would like to inform you and other customers that the hotel is about only 350 meters away from Moskovsy Rail Terminal (where all trains from Moskow arrive), 2500 meters away from Hermitage, and 1700 meters away from Alexander Nevsky Lavra. The length of Nevskiy prospect it's about 7000 meters, so we located in the middle of it.
Transfer from or to airport cost now 1500 RUR, but if you will order taxi directly in airport the price will be 3500 RUR, so in hotel it is much cheaper, better cars and 100% that you will get safe to hotel or airport.
We have cabel TV, which is write everywhere and unfortunatly there is only 1 english chanel Euronews.
75% of all our tourist are guests from other countries, not from Russia and receptionists are always very happy to help with planning your free time. We've got a lot of excurtion offers: group and individual on different languages.
We hope this information will help other travelers to have a right impression about our hotel.
We still would like to thank you for your review. We hope it will help other travelers to make a right choice to avoid broken expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Nevsky Contour Hotel
Nevsky Contour Hotel
#22 of 329 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Hotel Nouvelle Europe
#141 of 329 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Bristol Hotel
#27 of 329 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vera
#30 of 329 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Ibis St. Petersburg Centre Hotel
#64 of 329 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Nevskiy
Hotel Anabel on Nevsky 88
Hotel Anabel on Nevsky 88
#54 of 329 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roses Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roses Hotel

Property: Roses Hotel
Address: Vosstaniya St., 13, St. Petersburg 191036, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 329 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,027 - ₹ 8,436
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Roses Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ROSES hotel is a new, modern hotel. It is situated in the very heart of St. Petersburg, Vosstaniya Street. The Nevsky Prospect is only 2 min walk away and Moskovskiy Railway Station - 3 min. A breakfast buffet is available every day. Free WI-FI and tea/coffee during the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Ostrovok so you can book your Roses Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing