We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (720)
Filter reviews
720 results
Traveller rating
409
254
44
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
409
254
44
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthird floorhotel anabelsalamithe main streetfree tea and coffeecomfort roomboiled eggssmall hotel locatedtiny liftwater temperaturequiet courtyardsecurity guardtriple roomclean roomsthe main train stationcleaned dailybit hard to find
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 720 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2017

It's a small, very reasonably prized and cozy hotel in a great location. Finding it can be a bit of a hassle late at night, but once that was sorted we had a great stay. Staff is friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and quiet, and it's location is great as a starting point for sight-seeing.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Futt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastasia T, Администратор at Nevsky Contour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thank you, we are glad that you have had a great time here in St Petersburg and Nevsky Contour Hotel, and we are looking forward to see you again.

Best Regards,
Nevsky Contour Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

This hotel seems good for what it is. I think that staying at the 4-star hotels in Saint Petersburg has biased me a little, as those tend to be very good or at least they try very hard. I admittedly wasn't quite prepared for the distinctly different experience of a 3-star place, or at least this one. Nevsky Contour is a single floor in a building. Some of the other floors are part of Hotel Anabel. The building has a lobby with a guard or attendant, but the hotel and reception desk are on the third floor. Go up in the little elevator and ring the bell by the door when you get there.

The 24-hour staff speak English and they are very nice. Besides checking you in, they will make you a nice cup of coffee at any time. Coffee and the water cooler are free. There is breakfast near reception from 7am to 10am, but I was always either asleep or away so I only had some leftover croissants. I assume it's a coffee-and-carbs start to the day, which is comforting if not healthy.

My "standard double room" was really small -- not a whole lot bigger than the bed. That said, it was clean and comfortable enough, and there was a small but respectable private bathroom. There was also a tiny fridge, a little TV with Russian channels if you happen to speak the language, and a ceiling fan. I presume there are bigger rooms available. WiFi mostly worked fine. Don't expect electronic door keys, just a regular key attached to a big plastic tag.

I know from experience that clues to finding the hotel can be very helpful! The entrance is not from the street. When you arrive at the address, enter the courtyard and walk towards the back. On your left you will come to a big doorway with a sign for Anabel Hotel and Nevsky Contour. Dubious as this may sound, it's just past the sex shop on the left (look for bunny ears) and almost directly across from the men's club. I suppose the courtyard is not the classiest, but there were always non-shady people around and I never felt unsafe.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastasia T, Управляющий at Nevsky Contour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thank you very much for your detailed review, which can be very useful for our future guests. It is true that our courtyard is very quiet and safe not only because it is guarded, but also because all of its inhabitants, visitors and employees are `non-shady` people, as you well noticed. We also believe that our location on the third floor of a historical building only adds more charm to everyone`s St.Petersburg experience. This is something that lets one feel the history and atmosphere of the city just out of their hotel window, and gives a chance to imagine themselves local while walking the courtyard out to Nevsky Prospect - the main city center avenue. We love our hotel and care for the quality of service and accomodation. Maybe next time you come, you will try our continental buffet breakfast. We will be happy to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

My stay at this hotel was very pleasant. It is a bit hard to find and the two etablissements in its direct neighborhood seem a bit shady, but this wasn't a problem at all.
You enter the hotel in the back alley and through the entrance of the Hotel Anabel. Then you can either take the stairs or the elevator to the third floor and have to ring a doorbell to get through to the reception desk. The room was clean and well equipped.
You can get coffee, water and tea for free all day round at the reception area. Snacks and other drinks are provided for a little fee.
The breakfast area is small, which can lead to some trouble if the hotel is booked out, but the breakfast itself was very good.
The ladies at the reception desk speak English relatively well and are very helpful.
Overall I can say that this hotel offers a very high value. It is not a 5* spa resort, but for the amount of money you pay you get a lot and for a short trip to Saint Petersburg I can only recommend the Nevsky Contour Hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank axel_trecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastasia T, Управляющий at Nevsky Contour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you very much indeed for you detailed and kind feedback! We always do your best to provide our guests with quality service and accomodation. Our quiet courtyard is well guarded and all the offices and shops nearby also care for the yard`s cleanliness and quietness. We will be happy to see you and all your friends in our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Very good hotel. Friendly staff. Good breakfast - boiled eggs, sausages, cheese, etc. Tea/coffee/water free all the time. Perfect location - center of the city but quiet.
We had standard room that has very small TV, but they have comfort room with very large TV.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OlegP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastasia T, Управляющий at Nevsky Contour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you very much for your honest response. We do have plans to upgrade the hotel`s TV`s till the latest models. We will be happy to see you again in our freshly upgraded rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Nevsky contour is hidden away down a small side street , but this street is actually just off the biggest and busiest street in st petersburg (nevsky prospekt) and as thus, the hotel is actually very conveniently located.

The staff are super friendly, and the rooms , whilst being a bit on the small side, do the job for the price of the hotel. The showers and bathroom are pretty good too.

Breakfast could be improved a bit in terms of variety , but again at the price point I feel it does the job.

Overall this is a really well located hotel providing great value for a money accommodation in st petersburg

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sunil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastasia T, Управляющий at Nevsky Contour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you very much for your detailed response. We do care for providing our guests with the best service possible and the best quality that we always refresh. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews