We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class restaurant”
Review of Palkin

Palkin
Ranked #25 of 11,668 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 57 - US$ 340
Cuisines: European, Russian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Absolutely fantastic food, service and ambiance, perfect in every way. You pay for it but it is a great experience and well worth it.

Amazing wines if your pockets are deep enough, wine here as in all restaurants in Russia is expensive but your choice is unlimited.

Lots of theatre!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

My wife & I were recommended this restaurant by trusted friends who had previously visited St Petersburg. Their recommendation was correct.

We were met by a gentleman at the door (in a bowler hat), who escorted us to the restaurant bar and introduced us to the restaurant manager. We were then taken to our table overlooking the Nevsky prospekt and introduced to our waiter for the evening. This was all taking place in a setting that exuded class, as a pianist played in the corner of the room.

The waiter couldn’t have relaxed us anymore by explaining how the evening would flow and it would be at our pace,, where so many restaurants these days feel it acceptable to put their patrons on the clock?? As I said though, this place was far too classy for that.

From then on it got better, we had three excellent courses, with a couple of drinks from the bar and a decent bottle of wine. All of which exceeded expectations.

Admittedly it was a little more expensive than the norm, but the value was in the class, quality & experience of the whole evening.

An unforgettable, special evening.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank simond107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

A very special historic restaurant. Delicious dishes, cosy atmosphere and the best service ever, reminded me of ballet dancers as they served all the plates at once!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ErifiliT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

Food was excellent! We went with several courses menu for 8 100 rubles. It was well worth it. The service was very good and attentive. The only small smudge was that we didnt got that good help from the sommelier. We expected him to know a bit more of the wines different textures, not only what grape it was. BUT overall it was very good and fun experiments with nitroglycerin.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank annicasandin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018

When making plans for our 3 weeks in Russia, Palkin was the first restaurant we had on our list and we decided to celebrate a very special occasion there.
We arrived and were seated a a lovely table by the window. We followed the waiter's recommendations and ordered as he advised, even though the sterling was $75 US dollars he still suggested we needed another main so we followed his advice and ordered the rack of lamb.
The ambiance was romantic and intimate, there was a pianist playing and we were thoroughly enjoying ourselves, until a tour bus pulled up outside and a group of 50 - 75 entered and took over the room. The noise level grew and grew, the pianist had to stop playing and what started out as a lovely, quiet dinner turned into being at the epicenter of a circus and we could no longer even hear ourselves when talking.
When the food began to arrive, it was presented perfectly and was delicious even though the noise level continued to escalate.
Then the mains were served and the $75 sterling was huge and enough to feed 6 people. It was in fact large enough for the 2 of us to share for dinner and then for the 2 of us to enjoy the leftovers for breakfast the next morning. It was then we realized the waiter was not looking out for our best interests, he was only trying to oversell us thereby bringing up the price of the tab.
Sadly my husbands's lamb was like shoe leather and completely inedible. Certainly not the medium rare he had requested. When we showed the waiter the lamb, he insisted the chef would never send the lamb out if it was incorrectly prepared, but we just insisted it be taken away and requested a clean plate and informed them we would just share the fish.
It was only after we had all ready eaten our fill of the fish that the maitre d' returned to the table, apologized and agreed that the lamb was terribly overcooked.
At that point because of the noise and feeling we had been so deceived, we could not wait to get out of there.
Then upon leaving we saw that there was a back dining room which we could have been seated in to avoid being with the tour group.
It was such a disappointment. Our celebration was terribly spoiled.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank werhappy2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palkin also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Palkin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing