We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,767)
Filter reviews
3,767 results
Traveller rating
2,615
815
211
84
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,615
815
211
84
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bolshoi theatre red square live harp music art nouveau historic hotel perfect location caviar breakfast room concierge team old style superior room wonderful hotel blinis high ceilings excellent breakfast business trip lobby bar
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 3,767 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2018

I had a nice room with a view, but there could have been more electrical outlets. There was no one at the desk for example. The bar in the lobby was very pleasant and I enjoyed the breakfast buffé a lot. They didn't open until 07.00 though, so depending on your itinerary it can be difficult to have time to enjoy it.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank HannaBragberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear Hanna,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and post your review on TripAdvisor!
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your room with a view and also our breakfasts at the restaurant.
Thank you also for your comments about the amount of electrical outlets. Your constructive feedback is extremely helpful, and we have passed your comments along to the departments that are involved. We would like to make it our mission to turn your good experience into a great one and hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time you visit Moscow.

Kind regards,
Elena Scherbak
Guest Relations Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

Hotel is warm, welcoming, friendly and professional.
Standard room is all you need - well equipped (bathroom a little small compared to the room but perfectly adequate).
Almost all the staff are TOP rated (one concierge a little below par but the rest made up for it).
If you need some help, and you’re luck enough that Titania is concierge on duty, you’re guaranteed to rate this hotel 5* - she’s brilliant !!
The location is the best in Moscow - don’t try to save a few £££ booking further out. The location of Metropol could leave NOT be better for a base if you want to see and do everything.
If I go back, I’m staying here again !! (Oh, and - if you can afford it - eat at Cafe Pushkin, amazing food and service!).

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank adrian160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear Adrian,

Thank you for being our guest and for taking your time to share this kind review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and planning to come back. We hope it will not take too long until we see you again at the Metropol.

Kind regards,
Julia Sergeeva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

I stayed at the Metropol for 2 nights with my 11 year old daughter. We were independently doing a round trip from St Petersburg taking in the Baltic capitals. Despite our rucksacks Denis on reception greeted us with great courtesy and gave us a wonderful room with views to the Bolshoi where we were lucky enough to see a Russian opera (absolutely world class). All the staff were consistently friendly, helpful and gracious throughout our stay and they were the icing on the cake in this beautiful historic establishment (we witnessed them deal with a number of shall we say 'challenging' guests and they never faltered - not an easy task).

We booked a basic twin room for £200 a night including a magnificent breakfast and it was worth every penny. I had read that the last major refurbishment was in the 1990s so was not expecting a state of the art bathroom but it was tasteful, fully functioning and more than adequate. The room was large and sumptuous with comfortable beds and a chandelier.

Breakfast was exquisite. The second day we reserved a table next to the marble fountain in the centre with a good view of the harpist. I regret to say I could not stomach champagne (Russian sparkling wine) for breakfast but enjoyed perfectly made smooth cafe lattes instead. Service was again outstanding. The array of food was stunning. People watching opportunities unparalleled!

We ate at Savva, the hotel's own restaurant on the first night and this was easily the best meal we had in Russia.

The hotel let us leave our luggage for free for the whole of the last day as we were catching a night train to St Petersburg. We walked to the Kremin both days as there was too much to do in one day for us. Harking back to a tradition from home we went to Jamie's Italian before going to the theare which is hidden is a small shopping centre opposite the Metropol - a nice surprise for my daughter. The location could not be better - you literally feel like you are in the beating heart of Moscow.

Given that this is a huge hotel over 100 years old I feel that the level of maintenance is generally very high. Go for the experience and marvel at the place and enjoy the utter uniqueness of it all..

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jojozara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure for us to read your outstanding review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Metropol. We are delighted to know that you and your daughter had such a memorable time among us! Thank you for being such a wonderful ambassador.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Metropol in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Julia Sergeeva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

The Location is perfect, just a few steps to Kreml and GUM and so on. The Service is mostly very good, the rooms could be freshend up and a Little bit modernized. The organization of Transport Service was very good.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank gerhardbauer2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear Gerhard,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us. We truly appreciate your kind words about our location and service.
We do hope that you return soon and we very much look forward to welcoming you back. In the meantime please do let me know if I can be of any assistance.

Kind regards,
Julia Sergeeva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

If you want to stay is luxury and in a place that has history, this is the one. Right across from Red Square in the middle of everything. This place is magnificent from the staff, rooms, food, location. You should at least stay one night just to say you have, it's worth every penny.

Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank Vagabondingshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a positive review following your recent stay at the Metropol. We are delighted to knpw that you had a great experience with us and enjoyed our location, rooms and service.
Your kind words are very much appreciated and we look froward of welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Julia Sergeeva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews