We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting city, nice hotel”
Review of Golden Ring Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Ring Hotel
Ranked #33 of 320 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Tampere, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting city, nice hotel”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Golden Ring was my pit stop during Neftegas Exhibition 2012.Nice location, close to famous Arbat street. For me walking distance from Kreml too. Very close to Metro station.
Much more that I expected. I´d stay here again. Good service. Top class breakfast selection.
Very nice view from my room. WiFi worked and was free.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kati R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BortElena598, Head of commercial department at Golden Ring Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear "Raileka",

Thank you very much for your time spent for review. It is very nice that you like Golden Ring Hotel.

We try to do our best to serve you better during your next visit to us!

You are always welcome!

Sincerely yours,
Elena Bortnikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    327
    95
    28
    17
See reviews for
62
142
67
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This is a 5* hotel (and you definitely pay according to this rating) but it feels more like a 4*. My room was small but no complaints, everything was ok. The breakfast was the nicest feature, a great variety of food and you get live harp music while eating!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACKCYPRUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, The Head of Commercial Department at Golden Ring Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear "akcyprus",

Thank you very much for your comment. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and have shared your comment with our team. Your comments motivate us to work harder to provide the best services and facilities. I am concerned that the room you stayed in was small.
We have different categories such as:

Standard single (with narrow bed) - 22 sq.m.
Standard double (with king size bed) - 25 sq.m.
Deluxe (a little larger than previouse one)- 30 sq.m.
Juniour Suite (1 living room + 1 bedroom) - 40 sq.m.

These room types are the most popular in the Golden Ring Hotel. Morover, the difference in price between them is about 1300 Rubles.

Next time I would recomment you to chose other type.

Thank you very much and we are looking forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely yours,
Elena Bortnikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We spent a nights in this hotel on our way to Ekaterinburg in mid March. It was very cold and there were still snow on the streets. From the airport (Domodedovo) it took an hour taxi ride to hotel, which was not cheap. The hotel staff were friendly and spoke good English. We took the underground on our way to red square and then got lost and spent a good thirty minutes trying to get to the right station. Not that many people speak English. We walked back from Red square to the hotel. It was a bit chilly but very interesting and we found a street where many restaurants and gift shops are. Hot bath was nice after a long walk. But water quality was poor - all red and not soft. The bar on the ground floor was nice.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huntsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Head of the Commercial Department at Golden Ring Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear "Aiyapura",

On behalf of the team, thank you very much for your feedback after your stay with us.
It's great to read that you liked our beautiful city. We hope that you will come back to Moscow may be in spring or in summer when the weather is warmer. But of course I am concerned that the quality of water was bad. At the time of your stay we carried out technical inspection of tubes and briefly turned off the hot water. And after turning, the water was really rusty for a couple of minutes. We sincerely apologize that you have faced with this situation. We hope that this fact did not spoil the whole stay in our hotel. We obviously would very much like to have you staying with us again and look forward to hearing from you. Thank you again for your feedback!

Kind regards,
Elena Bortnikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

From the get-go, the staff were generally helpful, very patient and polite - important for a westerner trying to navigate the intricacies of Russian Travel arrangements.

The "Standard Room" I was allocated was not large, but certainly adequate and it was tidy and well equipped. As witth nycbornuk, I had a problem with the Air Conditioning not working, and rather frustratingly this required escalation to Management to get fixed. Once resolved though, the room was very comfortable. It had a great view out over the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (one of the "Stalin Skyscrapers") and the Catherdral of Christ the Saviour. I think I was booked in on a corporate rate which for Moscow Prices was very reasonable (just under GBP200/Night tops including Tax and Breakfast).

The Breakfast Buffet offered a wide choice of hot and cold options, and the harper playing in the background gives at a good Unique Seling Proposition, but I would probably not have gone for it were it not included in the price - normally it's around GBP26. I didn't dine in the Hotel as there are plenty of other options nearby on Arbat St, but the Russian Hunt Restaurant Menu did look very enticing and there are a couple of other Restaurants in the Hotel.

The only other niggle was that a number of the facilities (the Souvenir Shop, Business Centre amongst others) had signs up saying that they were closed for 10 minutes "for technical reasons"
when in fact they were not open at all for long periods during their advertised opening hours.

So - not a perfect stay, but with all problems resolved (eventually), a comfortable room at what by local standards is a reasonable price, and a great location near Arbat and a couple of hundred yards from Smolenskaya Metro, I would have no problems about staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Head of the Commercial Department at Golden Ring Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear our guest!

Thank you for your priceless review! It is very importnat for us. Our aim is to become better following your comments.

We would like to welcome you during your next stay to visit our panoramic restaurants: Winter Garden (22nd floor) and Panorama Restaurant (23th floor). Each of them is unique in its own way. The tables are set out in such a way that every guest has a captivating view on the city of Moscow from the height of 80 metres! The culinary art of the “Golden Ring” has been recognized not only in Russia but also outside the country- the Hotel’s chefs are regular participants in international culinary competitions, and also carry out festivals of Russian cuisine and other countries.

Regarding your negative experience with air condition and working procedures of my assosiates I promise you to decide and solve these quations.

Welcome to our hotel!

Sincerely yours,
Elena Bortnikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

English speaking staff, clean and tidy room, still surprised by the smoking inside the coffee areas.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldwideLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Head of the Commercial Department at Golden Ring Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear our Guest!

Thank you for your priceless review of the Golden Ring Hotel Moscow!

We appreciate that you have spent your time to comment your stay with us!

You are mostly welcome!

Sincerely Yours,
Elena Bortnikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Presnensky
Crowne Plaza Moscow World Trade Centre
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#6 of 320 in Moscow
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arbat
Moscow Marriott Hotel Novy Arbat
Arbat
Lotte Hotel Moscow
Lotte Hotel Moscow
#1 of 320 in Moscow
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Ring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Ring Hotel

Property: Golden Ring Hotel
Address: Smolenskaya St., 5, Moscow 119121, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Khamovniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#31 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
#33 Business Hotel in Moscow
#34 Family Hotel in Moscow
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,765 - ₹ 13,733
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Ring Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Golden Ring Hotel!We invite you to enjoy the following services: accommodation booking, best offers of buffet breakfast in Moscow, panoramic restaurants located on top floors, dedicated weekend brunches, banquet halls, conference halls with equipment and catering options, fitness and Spa, secured garage parking, tire fitting and car wash, hi-end Japanese restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Ring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Ring Moscow
Hotel Golden Ring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing