We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As expected for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Moscow Centre
Ranked #54 of 320 Hotels in Moscow
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“As expected for the price”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Arrived at the hotel mid-day after arriving at the wrong metro station. The hotel is situated directly by the exit of the Mendeleevskaya (not Novoslobodskaya) which is very convenient for travelling. The check-in was painfree and the staff were professional and spoke English well. The lobby had lots of space and there were two security guards there 24/7 which made me feel secure.

There were both stairs and elevators which were very quick up the floors. My room (standard room with queen size bed) was just as expected; high ceiling, couch, high-speed internet (8mbit cabled, 1mbit wireless) and television. There were extra pillows and a comfy blanket in the shelf. The safe was conveniently hidden in the wardrobe where there were hangers for jackets.

The bathroom had speakers so that you could listen to the television while having a bath or shower. The bath tub was too small for me (6'1") and the water could only reach a max limit unless you just tapped in more than it could sift out.

The couch's seats were too soft and the back-cushion way, -way- too hard in comparison. Not good, so I didn't use it. The bed was comfortable, especially if you added the extra pillows and blanket. To open the window you can ask for a handle which will let you open it fully or gradually from the top.

Make sure you put up the "Don't disturb"-sign outside the door if you want to be guaranteed sleep. I was awoken once by the cleaning lady and thereafter by a man shouting "Minibar" while knocking. Granted, it was 10am in the morning, but some of us sleep for long.

Cleaning went just as expected and internet was fine, which was something I had been worrying about a great deal before the trip. The guards and staff minded their own business and gave me no trouble bringing friends, something Russian hotels would, apparently.

Overall a great stay. Except for the bloodprice it was exactly what I expected from a hotel; to be treated like a king and not disturbed about nonsense. The close entrance to the Metro was worth the money, at least. I would stay here again without any doubt if not for the price which made me give this hotel 4/5.

PS: Moscow hotels are very expensive. I looked for almost a week to find a hotel that suited my needs. Don't expect anything of European quality if you're not prepared with a full wallet, and don't worry about the distance from your hotel to the attractions. Just make sure to be as close to the metro as possible and it doesn't matter where your hotel is situated. The hotel staff also helped me to get a VISA invitation with no problems whatsoever. Hopefully my review will help you in finding a pleasureable stay in Moscow.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SolnyshkoMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    527
    283
    74
    24
See reviews for
222
230
136
473
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I arrived at this property at 10 pm from a long flight and was weary as at first it looked like a nondescript building with an average signboard but once you enter it is definitely the Novotel standard that is expected. The check in was quick and they gave me a pretty large room for moscow standards almost 20 sq mtrs. The room was nice and quiet and i had a good nights rest. There were some basic toiletries as well. The breakfast wasn't included but 1100 roubles is pretty steep so ate at a cafeclse by as there are many around. Its a nice area and the Novoslobodskaya & Mendelevskaya metro stops are just 2 minutes walk so it has excellent connectivity. All in all a good experience as i got a great internet deal for US$ 180 whereas the hotel rate showed US$ 400 per night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shahnits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuuk, Greenland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

As a gold memeber of A-club and many other chains, I have never seen such a poor hotel claiming to be suitable for seasoned business travellers. I just booked it because it was the only abt. € 300/night hotel available at that time. Entering the hotel you will be "welcomed" by an intimidating security guard. First I thought it was a doorman welcoming me but his grim look and not opening the door prooved that he suspected me of some evil. The hotel reception and lobby is very unwelcoming, sterile and plain. Reception staff was surprizingly efficient though not welcoming either.

I believe that entering a hotel should always be a warm experience, like getting home after a long trip or a hard day if work. Here it was like entering a warehouse and wishing that I would not have to spend much time there.

The room, called "superior" looked more like a dormitory, cheap melamine furniture, cold. The TV was a funny old 14" inch CRT (did not know they still existed). In the bathroom there was only shampoo and shower gel. It was all like back to Soviet Union ... Still, there was a mini kettle to boil your water to drink your instant coffee from a disposable plastic cup. Not to mention a 500 cl bottle of water with compliments (only the first day though)

All in all, got back home with a feeling of never again.

Positive:
- Wify was fast and free of charge
- Safe
- spacious room
- efficient staff, fair taxi service

I have stayed here two times and might still be back because spending normally > € 400/night is a bit too excessive, just do not expect to feel comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaunoMatkalaukku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I stayed couple of days in the hotel. I book a superior room which was way far bigger than expected. The rooms are nice and cleaned. WIFI internet connection is working properly everywhere. The breakfast was excellent, the very best I had in Russia: fresh baguette, pain au chocolate, series of cheeses, vast selection of warm food… I suppose is the breakfast you should expect from a French chain. I also booked a very good deal with half board, but here comes my disappointment; the food was not tasty and low quality.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Letizia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Presnensky
Novotel Moscow City
Novotel Moscow City
#22 of 320 in Moscow
1,236 reviews
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#6 of 320 in Moscow
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zamoskvorechye
Ibis Moscow Centre Bakhrushina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Moscow Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Moscow Centre

Property: Novotel Moscow Centre
Address: Novoslobodskaya St., 23, Moscow 127055, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Moscow
#47 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
#75 Business Hotel in Moscow
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,974 - ₹ 9,230
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Moscow Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Moscow Centre is a 4 star hotel ideal for your next business trip or holiday in Moscow. Guests enjoy the benefit of six conference rooms, WiFi internet, a restaurant serving Mediterranean cuisine, two bars and free parking. Unique architecture and interior design create a signature feeling of space enhanced by contemporary decor and modern facilities. 15 minutes from the Kremlin and 30 km from the international airport with a Metro station onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Moscow Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Moscow Centre Hotel Moscow
Accor Moscow Centre
Moscow Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing