We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary Staff”
Review of Opera Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Opera Plaza Hotel
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Cluj-Napoca
Reviewed 11 May 2017

I was in Cluj for 2 weeks, to lecture at one of the universities. The Opera Plaza Hotel was suggested because its location was both near the university and within walking distance of the city center. The hotel is very comfortable, clean, the breakfasts (inluded in the room rate) were excellent, but what set the hotel apart was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. From the reception desk to the waiters, to the cleaning staff, they were terrific. There was a small confusion when I arrived - the reservation (made well in advance) had inadvertently been deleted. Nonetheless, without missing a beat the young lady at reception resolved the problem efficiently and cheerfully. The National Opera is just 2 blocks away, and the City Center is, at most, a 10 -15 minute walk. I was comfortable and well satisfied with my stay.

Room Tip: The economy rooms are really small,only suitable for a very short stay. The standard rooms are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2017

I have repeated several times in this hotel, and I have no doubt that, in my opinion, the greatest value is the friendliness and the professionalism of all, and I say all, the staff of the hotel. Receptionists, restaurant managers, waiters, cook, maid service ... I have experience as a customer in many hotels and I know that it is not easy to achieve such high levels of good service, care and friendliness of all the staff. It is simply unbeatable. My congratulations.

I will make a constructive criticism because it serves to improve. The details are sometimes important. The perception of a quality hotel (not in vain is five stars) can deteriorate due to the evidence of some anomalies that, in my opinion, are easily avoidable at low cost. In our room (512) we found that:

- one of the hangers in the entrance was badly screwed.
- An electrical outlet was not properly fixed to the wall.
- The bulb of the desk lamp did not work.

I checked these details in the first 5 minutes of my stay. They do not go unnoticed and it is very simple to verify them. And fixing them is cheap.

It would also be convenient to avoid the lack of towels and bathrobe in the daily refills so you do not have to ask them to the floor maid.

Lastly, the room access card stopped working the last day.

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper floors have better views, facing the Avram Iancu Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Javier_Olivaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Complimentary water
Diner restaurant looks uninviting but ok food
Breakfast ok (egg overcooked, no fresh juice, lots of fruit choices but not ripe)
Spacious apartment (not sure why two bathrooms)
Good central location

Traffic noise
Bad bed comfort
Receptionist not welcoming
Opening hours spa limited

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flitterfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Vera good location. Very good breakfast. Big room. Basic bathroom; clean and nice . Walking 20 minutes distance to Botanical Garden; 15 minutes to downtown. Next to The National Theater. Very good food on the restaurant, a surprising onion soup and huge shrimps.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Corina Violeta O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opera_Plaza, Sales & Marketing Specialist at Opera Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time taken to post your review on the Tripadvisor.com website.
It's a pleasure for us to read your review and we are happy that we succeed to make your stay to be a comfortable one.

Looking forward to see you again as our guest

Wish you all the best,
The Opera Plaza Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 5 days, Monday to Friday. Central location which is very convenient for going out. Professional service overall. Nice Health Center including heated pool. At restaurant they had a decent choice for breakfast; do not hesitate to ask the staff if you're missing something, generally they bring things in small quantities.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opera_Plaza, Sales Executive at Opera Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Dear guest

We are pleased that your stay in our hotel was a comfortable one and you fully enjoyed our services. We are gladly waiting for you to be our guest next time when you come to Cluj-Napoca.

Kind regards,
Opera Plaza Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cluj-Napoca hotels
1.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hiton Cluj - City Plaza
0.7 km away
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
#1 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
442 reviews
1.9 km away
Grand Hotel Italia
Grand Hotel Italia
#8 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Beyfin
Hotel Beyfin
#10 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
251 reviews
2.6 km away
Golden Tulip Ana Dome
Golden Tulip Ana Dome
#4 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
234 reviews
1.2 km away
Lol et Lola Hotel
Lol et Lola Hotel
#2 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Plaza Hotel

Address: Strada General Mosoiu Traian 10 - 12, Cluj-Napoca 400132, Romania
Phone Number:
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Cluj County > Cluj-Napoca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
#7 Business Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
Price Range: ₹ 7,005 - ₹ 17,159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Opera Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Opera Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Plaza Hotel Cluj County/Cluj-Napoca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing