We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good experience”
Review of Hotel Sun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sun
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Cluj-Napoca
Reviewed 14 May 2017

This small and charming hotel, located near the river , and offering a nice view was until now my best experience in Cluj.

The staff is very friendly, the rooms are large and clean.

The breakfast is I my opinion not at the same level as the hotel but acceptable.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank EddyVyncke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun H, Director of Sales at Hotel Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Ed, thank you for your feedback and having been our guest at the Hotel Sun.
We are glad to announce you that Hotel Sun will become River Park Hotel.
The new management team is working to develop a new brand and high quality services for our guests.
Looking forward to welcoming you back next time to our new hotel, we are sure that you will enjoy it.
Best regards, Ana-Maria Truta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2017

Returning to Cluj Napoca after a month since my last visit, I decided to change the hotel and the location, selecting one which I passed by when running at the Cluj Napoca International Marathon.
Location is nice and convenient, close by the Cluj Arena stadium and the Sala Polivalenta (multifunction hall).
Breakfast is table service, with good selection.
Staff is helpful and overall, I was happy with this property.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Florin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun H, Manager at Hotel Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Thank you for your nice words . Hove to see you at the next visit in Cluj . Flavius Halmaci Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

It is a very nice hotel, in a lovely location by the river, and at a 10min walk from Cluj Arena and Sala Polivalenta. The room was spacious, modern and clean, and had a wonderful view of the river. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Ana - Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun H, Manager at Hotel Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Thank you for the review . He are glad to hear that you enjoy your stay at Hotel Sun . Hope to meet you again . Flavius Halmaci Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

What I liked about this hotel
1. Friendly and helpful staff
2. Five minute easy walk to a taxi station and a mini market
3. Modern comfortable clean rooms with good beds
But what keeps this hotel from being a solid four star hotel is the following
1. Clean but stained carpets
2. No shampoo, conditioner or hand cream
3. No coffee maker
4. No waste baskets
5..Breakfast was ok but a little on the "budget side" serving "orange drink". A four star hotel should be serving 100% real orange juice !
6. No room safe

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony overlooking the river, street below but traffic noise is no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodney V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun H, Director of Sales at Hotel Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Yendor, thank you for your feedback and having been our guest at the Hotel Sun.
We are glad to announce you that Hotel Sun will become River Park Hotel, we are aware that the current situation needs to be improved.
The new management team is working to develop a new brand and high quality services for our guests through major changes.
Looking forward to welcoming you back next time to our new hotel and our beautiful city.
Best regards, Ana-Maria Truta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

Small to medium hotel, near the Somes river.

Location
- average traffic on the street but but in the room you can't hear it
- bit far from downtown, if you want to visit the city by walking

Room is nice, clean and looks new.
Bathroom has no windows and the ventilator from my room make to much noise.

Breakfast is good, either they don't have very large sellection of foods, you can have nice and tasty breakfast.

Good for business purpose.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank emanuelro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cluj-Napoca hotels
1.3 km away
Deja Vu
Deja Vu
#23 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
79 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Transilvania
Hotel Transilvania
#11 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
128 reviews
4.1 km away
Grand Hotel Italia
Grand Hotel Italia
#7 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Premier
Hotel Premier
#44 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
30 reviews
4.4 km away
Hotel Opal
Hotel Opal
#49 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
38 reviews
3.2 km away
Hotel Meridian
Hotel Meridian
#16 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sun? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sun

Address: 1 Decembrie 1918 Avenue, number 120A, Cluj-Napoca 400326, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Cluj County > Cluj-Napoca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
Price Range: ₹ 4,324 - ₹ 5,386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Hotel 4 **** (stars), designed for guests as a unique and intimate experience awaits you with a warm and welcoming atmosphere to spend some unforgettable days in Cluj Napoca, even if you are in a city break or attend an event. Positioning near the Somes river offers a breathtaking view every morning, unique in Cluj Napoca, and with each sunrise you start a new perfect day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sun Cluj County/Cluj-Napoca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing