We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience”
Review of Hotel Sun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sun
Ranked #27 of 57 Hotels in Cluj-Napoca
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Located on Somes riverside, at a 10 minutes walking distance from Cluj Arena and Sala Polivalenta. Ideal for attending events organized here, like in our case.
Spacious and clean rooms with modern design and very comfortable beds.
Friendly staff, free parking, good WiFi.
Breakfast was indeed a little poor on choices.
But other than that I would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dragos_IS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

This small hotel is in a residential area and close to the cluj arena and Sala polivalenta (10m walk).
The rooms are big, new and clean.
Service was daily, even though they forgot each day to refill the minibar and provide new shower gel.
Breakfast is simple but ok, even though I would have expected more from the breakfast.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank dana_christian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

I have stayed two weeks in training camp whitch was paid by the Romanian Federation. If I was on my money, I would not stayed in this hotel. Everyday dishes were dirty !
I spoke with manager in vain. The problem persisted every single day. Coffee cups with residues from yesterday. Glasses with lipstick !
I asked the boy who served us to choose a clean plate from 10-15 plates. After five attempts he took all the plates and entered the kitchen.
In a normal world this (4 star) hotel, should be closed immediately.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
3  Thank Bogdan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2016

We stayed there for 17 nights around Winter holidays with our baby twins. The welcome was great, room was perfect, they have an uber cute crib :) They cleaned the rooms anytime, the ladies were friendly and responding to our needs.
Loved the breakfast and the fact that they do the eggs fresh, upon request, instead of leaving them just sit there on the buffet table. Big plus on that one!
Still missing the low night-stands by the bed - totally getting inspired from there :) (the only negative is the way the bed is aligned with the fake wall that acomodates the lovely romantic lighting - stuff can fall behind the bed and it's impossible to get out, not a biggie though). The whole design is beautiful, modern, pleasant, practical and the ambient lighting is amazing.
Staff is very friendly and professional. 10 points out of 10 for everyone.
Location: by the river, in a prime neighbourghood, close to the Central Park and centre. I used taxi for moving around town, but bus stations are conveniently close as well. Across the river from the hotel there is a Sports park, perfect for morning training/run.
Loved the stay and would go there again.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Cristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2015 via mobile

Our flight was delayed and we only checked in at 2.30 am, was not expecting much but I was surprised, the room lovely and warm , the bed was comfortable, lots of hot water,
The next morning breakfast was just right , when I walked in thought there was not a lot of choice but right away they came out and offered us freshly cooked eggs, and coffee.
The shops are down the road as are the buses and taxi's to the center of town .

Enjoyed our one night

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank dannytamimaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cluj-Napoca hotels
1.3 km away
Panorama Business Inn
Panorama Business Inn
#28 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
21 reviews
1.3 km away
Deja Vu
Deja Vu
#25 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
79 reviews
2.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hiton Cluj - City Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Hotel Confort
Hotel Confort
#5 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
195 reviews
3.5 km away
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
#1 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
438 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Transilvania
Hotel Transilvania
#12 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sun? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sun

Address: 1 Decembrie 1918 Avenue, number 120A, Cluj-Napoca 400326, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Cluj County > Cluj-Napoca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
Price Range: ₹ 4,291 - ₹ 4,993 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Hotel 4 **** (stars), designed for guests as a unique and intimate experience awaits you with a warm and welcoming atmosphere to spend some unforgettable days in Cluj Napoca, even if you are in a city break or attend an event. Positioning near the Somes river offers a breathtaking view every morning, unique in Cluj Napoca, and with each sunrise you start a new perfect day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sun Cluj County/Cluj-Napoca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing