We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alex & George Boutique Hotel
Ranked #19 of 57 Hotels in Cluj-Napoca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

This place does not offer 4* conditions. We stayed there for only one night and were quite dissapointed.
When we arrived, there were some men drinking beer at the front entrance, very unappropriate for a 4*place.
At arrival,we could't find a proper parking space since they were all occuppied. We didn't complain about that and instead we figure out a solution. Later, we went out and when we arrived we parked our car tresspassing slightly the line between two spaces, because of the other cars parked outside. Nevertheless, the boy at the reception called us at midnight requesting us to move the car. I found that very unpleasant since we were sleeping, we were tired, the time was very unappropriate and when we arrived nobody bothered about the fact that the people who arrived before us parked wrongly so we had no other option. However, my husband got down to move it and the people there started an argument.
I would't insist if it hadn't been such a big fuss about that.
The room looked decent and clean,but the toilet paper was practically none so we had to request some more. Since this is a matter of common sense, I found it really irritating to ask for some. The bath supplies are of really poor quality, If you stay here, make sure you bring your own. The shower needs proper isolation. We took a shower and it poured a lot of water on the floor so I had to clean it for safety reasons, as it got really slippery. Since I was a guest, of course I did not like doing that.
The breakfast was decent and the man that assisted us through check out was nice, but that is not enough to make up for all the flaws shown above and all in all we had a bad experience there.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank anamariastn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corina P, General Manager at Alex & George Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear Anamariastn,

Thank you for choosing Alex & George Boutique Hotel during your stay in Cluj-Napoca.
First I would like to start with your comment about the quality of our room which as you mention was decent and clean, thank you for noticing that. We are trying very hard to make our guest feel comfortable that's why we will take into consideration the fact that one toilet paper is not enough for 1 night stay, which apparently never was a issue. As for the shower i personally checked it and it does not pour water, i guess it was water form the doors when you opened them after taking a shower.
Now we are working on our hotel supplies to increase the quality of products.
For the parking dispute, I personally think that this was not our fault. It all started when you or your husband parked on two spots (even if there was enough space to park without slightly trespassing the line)which made it impossible for other cars to park near you. My colleague called you just 5 minutes after you checked in trying to resolve the problem.
I am very sorry that your stay with us didn't exceed 100 % your expectations but I am sure if you choose to stay with us again for your next visit in Cluj-Napoca and we will start again with the right foot it look completely different.

Please feel free to contact me anytime.

Kind Regards,
Corina Panu-Postica
Hotel Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2016

Big and clean room with all the toiletries, bathrobe and slippers included. No safety deposit box though. Hotel is modern and nice from outside/inside. Excellent breakfast. Good restaurant opened up until 10pm. Bar is opened 24 hrs. Fast WiFi in the room with all the ports opened - ideal for biz traveler. 10-12 min by foot to the city center. 20-25 min from Cluj International airport.
The fridge (minibar) in the room is a bit noisy.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dmitry I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016

I was visiting this hotel for a short business trip in beautifull city Cluj Napoca.I was surprised in an outstanding way about this hotel furnished with taste and high quality items.But without soul this hotel would have been an average one.Starting from owner,hotel manager ,receptionist and laundry lady everyone has an excellent attitude focused on guests' needs and ready to fulfill every reasonable demand.I congratulate all the staff and management for gathering this beautifull staff....highly recommended hotel.Breakfast was tasty .Also I was noticed the clean aspect of the room.Being near a cemetery it was noisyless.Will return for sure and recommend also!
Warm regards,

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IMPERIAL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for one month and have never met a staff this amazing. Super friendly and helpful. The hotel is fine as well and holds the value of what you pay for it. I recommend it to anyone visiting Cluj. I will for sure come back

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank Anhon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alina A, Manager at Alex & George Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

Dear Anhon ,
Thank you so much for such a great review. It has been our greatest pleasure to have you here and we hope that you will visit us again sometime in the future.
Best of luck in all of your future endeavours, you will be great!
Alina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Peaceful, quiet and comfortable. Staff are so kind and eager to please. As a convenient place, through with its lovely staff and affordable price it is strongly advisable hotel to stay. The only thing to be complained about is twin beds which are not big enough for tall people like me...

Room Tip: Choose a room with a double bed even if you are single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank _murtok1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alina A, Manager at Alex & George Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

Dear Mr. Murtok,
Thank you kindly for taking the tome and post a review.
We appreciate your kind comments and the high scoring that you have awarded us with.
I am delighted to learn that you have enjoyed the comfort of your room, the location as well as our team.
When you will stay again, I'll make sure to place your booking in one of our king bedded Apartments which has an extra long bed (200x210cm), for more convenience and coziness.
Sincerest regards,
Alina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cluj-Napoca hotels
1.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hiton Cluj - City Plaza
2.6 km away
Hotel Paradis
Hotel Paradis
#12 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
133 reviews
1 km away
Grand Hotel Italia
Grand Hotel Italia
#6 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
#1 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
437 reviews
1.1 km away
Lol et Lola Hotel
Lol et Lola Hotel
#2 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
83 reviews
1.8 km away
Golden Tulip Ana Dome
Golden Tulip Ana Dome
#4 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alex & George Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alex & George Boutique Hotel

Address: Cale Turzii Nr. 86 | jud. Cluj, Cluj-Napoca 400193, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Cluj County > Cluj-Napoca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
Price Range: ₹ 3,872 - ₹ 5,238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alex & George Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Alex & George****, the boutique hotel located on one of the main routes to the city centre which combines a modern design with a warm and friendly service. The hotel offers a great choice for those seeking the benefits of 4 star accommodation. A glass elevator grants a spectacular view over the city of Cluj Napoca, there is a small private car park with video surveillance, unlimited WIFI and 24 hrs reception desk. Our selection of en-suite rooms are fitted with flat-screen TVs, air conditioning, cable TV channels and minibar. Complimentary toiletries, bathrobes and slippers are also provided during a stay with us and the rooms are serviced on a daily basis. A buffet breakfast - with a wide range of fresh products, permanent refill for coffee, pastry, vegetables and fruits - is served in the contemporary restaurant, which also offers an international dinner menu. Guests enjoy a 10% discount for lunch and dinner meal served in the restaurant. The 24 hour lobby bar serves snacks, fresh coffees, drinks and desserts. The Avram Iancu Square, with the Romanian Opera and the National Theatre can be reached in a 10-minute walk, and the Botanical Garden is at 1 km away. The hotel location offers easy access to Iulius Mall and Polus Center. All the main office buildings in the city, Babes Bolyai University, Cluj Arena and the Palace of Justice are in close range from the hotel. Cluj Napoca International Airport is 9 km, or 15 minutes by car. For the convenience our guests we can organize airport shuttle for an additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alex & George Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex And George Boutique Hotel
Alex & George Boutique Hotel Cluj County/Cluj-Napoca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing