We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rented the Apartment ”
Review of Hotel Athos R.M.T.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Athos R.M.T.
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Cluj-Napoca
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Together with the family we have rented the top floor apartment. It is very poor, it reminded me of the communist hotels. The bathroom was incredibly awkward, an old plastic shower. No door between the rooms. Uncomfortable beds. However everything was clean. Helpful staff!
Based on my experience I wouldn't rate it a 4 star hotel, I'd give it 2 generously.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank colezeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remete C, General Manager at Hotel Athos R.M.T., responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear colezeu,
Thank you for your feedback, we are happy that you appreciated the cleanliness and helpful staff, however, regarding the Apartament, the one you chose is the budget-apartment, which is smaller and does not have the facilities of the normal Apartament. Next time we advise you to choose the usual Apartament, named "suite" on online platforms and hopefully you will like it.
Hope to see you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed at Athos RMT during my Cluj trip. Everything was perfect, the staff is helpful, the rooms are big and clean and the breakfast is great. The city center is not far, a 4 min ride from the hotel at about 9 ron 2 euro . Will stay there again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Hegbeli R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Nice hotel, helpfull personnel. The rooms are big, clean and the furniture is a little bit old style, but not disturbing. The hotel is located in a quiet area, 5 minutes away from the Union Square (a taxi costs around 9 RON / 2 euro).

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank imadalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

There are a bit too many 5-star reviews for this place by reviewers who wrote only 1 review on Trip Advisor, and who all think this place is awesome and within such easy reach of the city center (10 mins walk, 8 mins walk).
So I feel it's my duty to be clear and frank here.
If you are a tourist, there is no reason to stay at this hotel. When coming to Cluj, you should stay in the old town. That's where the nice buildings, patio restaurants and open-air cafés are. This hotel is on the outskirts of town, where there is absolutely nothing to see or do. If you really want to be out of the center, a better choice is the Grand Italia, even though that is a blatantly kitschy, nouveau riche place.
There is nothing 4-star about this place. It is just an average 3-star. The rooms and beds are okay, but the food in the breakfast buffet at Athos looks and tastes like it has been there for at least a week.
And to the reviewers who are able to walk the 3 kilometers from the hotel to the old town in 8 mins, I'd say congratulations, you should register for the Olympic Games instead of writing dodgy reviews on TA.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
4  Thank Qroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

Went for a weekend city break in Cluj. Stayed 3 nights at RMT ATHOS. overall very pleased with hotel. Rooms are very large with a balcony - ask for room overlooking the city - very comfortable bed and pillows. Bathroom is large and clean with power shower(even water massage options). The reception staff are great - Christina, Michael (Mihai) and Albert - all young and very professional and helpful.
Breakfast is good with lots of options of hot/cold food, coffee, cereal, croissants, ham/cheese. yogurt etc.

It is about a 10/15 minute walk to the centro downhill going and uphill return but I caught the bus across the road from hotel about 4/5 minute ride and a taxi return late after bars was 11ROM - about £2!! so location is no problem and is very quiet and a nice area. I had no problems with Wifi and there was a lot of free parking in hotel grounds.

Overall a very enjoyable pleasant stay and would stay again.

Stayed: June 2017
1  Thank mike007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cluj-Napoca hotels
2.2 km away
Pensiunea Siago Hotel
Pensiunea Siago Hotel
#14 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
137 reviews
0.8 km away
Topaz Boutique Hotel
Topaz Boutique Hotel
#47 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
25 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Univers T
Hotel Univers T
#21 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel Italia
Grand Hotel Italia
#6 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
211 reviews
2.5 km away
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
#1 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
437 reviews
2.7 km away
Golden Tulip Ana Dome
Golden Tulip Ana Dome
#4 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athos R.M.T.? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athos R.M.T.

Address: Strada Becas no. 42, Cluj-Napoca 400478, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Cluj County > Cluj-Napoca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
Price Range: ₹ 3,792 - ₹ 5,335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athos R.M.T. 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Athos R.M.T. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Athos R.M.T. Cluj County/Cluj-Napoca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing