We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location in downtown Cluj-Napoca”
Review of Hotel Transilvania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Transilvania
Ranked #12 of 57 Hotels in Cluj-Napoca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2017

This is not a big fancy hotel but quaint with with many conveniences. Don't always go by your first impressions. As a solo female traveler it met many of my needs. It is about a block and a half to the main square. The evening I arrived there was a cultural festival on in the square - music, dancers, a market - very entertaining. I didn't feel uncomfortable walking back to the hotel at a late hour The hotel could use some updating but it has a very pleasant enclosed terrace where you can relax with a drink, have breakfast or dinner. Just 2 streets over from the front entrance is a lively
pedestrian only area of restaurants with terraces. From the hotel it is a 5 minute walk to the ancient Franciscan monastery, or an 8 minute walk to the indoor market. Directly beside the hotel is a very posh shopping centre that also has a grocery and many prepared foods.
Breakfast at the hotel has a good variety - scrambled eggs, sausage, ham, cheeses, salad items, stuffed mushrooms etc. The rooms are a bit dated but this is Romania and they are trying very hard and doing a good job trying to please tourists. The bed was comfy and the sheets good. The reception staff are very kind. The taxi to the airport for an early morning flight was 24 lei + tip

Room Tip: No elevators to get to 2nd floor. Windows face courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JZener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTransilvania, Receptionist at Hotel Transilvania, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Guest,
We highly appreciate your feedback. We are making constant efforts to improve our services. We are looking forward to seeing you again next time you visit Cluj.
Yours faithfully,
Hotel Transilvania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017

We were recommended to stay in this hotel by a friend who lives in Cluj, and we were not disappointed. The rooms are of a high standard for the money, the staff were friendly and helpful, with the reception staffed 24 hours a day, and the courtyard restaurant/bar was a very nice place to meet people and to rest - it has shade for the whole day which is very good in the summer.

The hotel is very centrally located, and well placed for bus lines. This is also a slight caveat to the review - due to the central location there is quite a lot of traffic noise, but that's to be expected given how close to the centre the hotel is.

I didn't eat dinner at the hotel, but breakfast was very good with a selection of continental, english-style, and local dishes, and I understand that the evening menu is to a similar standard.

If I were to return to Cluj I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel and on the ground floor will be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTransilvania, Front Office Manager at Hotel Transilvania, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear guest, we greatly appreciate that you took your time to review our property. We wish you all the best and looking forward to seeing you again! Best regards, HT***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Very comfortable hotel . Room was clean and did the job . There is a fridge and hairdryer . Nothing to really complain about the room .
The staff were all very friendly.
My only criticism is the breakfast , which was average at best . It seemed as if everything was put first thing and just left . On the first two days we went for breakfast at 9.00 , on the first day the egg was a little stale , on the second it had run out and was not replaced . On the same day , the tea and coffee had run out by 9 and was not refilled

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank jebuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

The front is unimposing but in a great location, next to a small shopping center with grocery and steps from most sights. Each superior room and suite had something different that made it special. The suite had a separate small living room and a normal bathroom. One of the Superior twins had a jetted tub and another had a deluxe shower. Rooms overlook their inner courtyard so there isn't a lot of traffic noise in most of them. There are table in the courtyard so if there is a noisy party there you might have noise but we didn't. Staff is friendly. The breakfast is good with some variety from other hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 1Worldwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTransilvania, Front Office Manager at Hotel Transilvania, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear guest, we greatly appreciate that you took your time to review our property. We wish you all the best and we hope to see you again in the future! Best regards, Hotel Transilvania***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

While doing research for my new book, "Shapeshifters: A Cultural History," I stayed in Hotel Transilvania. It is said to be the hotel in which the fictional Jonathan Harker (in Bram Stoker's "Dracula") stayed on route to Count Dracula's castle.

Beyond that, though, the hotel's two levels of comfortable, modern rooms are arranged around a lovely courtyard just off the street in the heart if Cluj. Plus, there is a bar and restaurant with good, casual food.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms put you above the chatter from the bar in the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTransilvania, Front Office Manager at Hotel Transilvania, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear guest, we greatly appreciate that you took your time to review our property. We wish you all the best and we hope to see you again in the future! Best regards, Hotel Transilvania***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cluj-Napoca hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Confort
Hotel Confort
#6 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
195 reviews
1 km away
Pensiunea Siago Hotel
Pensiunea Siago Hotel
#16 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
139 reviews
1 km away
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
#1 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Deja Vu
Deja Vu
#27 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
79 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Beyfin
Hotel Beyfin
#10 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
251 reviews
0.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hiton Cluj - City Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Transilvania? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Transilvania

Address: Regele Ferdinand #20, Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Cluj County > Cluj-Napoca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
Price Range: ₹ 2,249 - ₹ 4,434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Transilvania 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Transilvania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Transilvania Cluj County/Cluj-Napoca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing