We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed in L'Ermitage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Tropic Appart'hotel
Reviewed 1 November 2016

A short walk to a superb bakery and a full-service supermarket, make Residence Tropic a perfect location for self-sufficient travelers. The room includes a bedroom and a separate kitchenette. The hotel is convenient to all of the sites on Reunion Island by way of the nearby motorway. Thus, using L'Hermitage as your comfortable home base, one can visit all of the island within a couple of days. The beach is close by as well as a pharmacy and low-key night clubs. Finally, the staff of the hotel is professional and cheerful.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kaek I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2016

For those who book this hotel, please ensure you check-in before 7pm, they are close after 7pm! Security code is required everywhere in this hotel, without that, you are difficult to enter this premises. The hotel phones number was no one answer, it made me very frustrated on my first night! Although the hotel claimed that they have put the envelope on the gate outside attention to my name, unfortunately I didn’t see it. I have no choice checked in on next day morning, and gratefully the management is willing to make some refund. The reception lady is helpful and friendly, she can speak good English. I forgot her name, but I appreciate her help and she is the only willing to solve my frustrated emotion.
My wife and son love this hotel very much, is due to it has sufficient space including the kitchen and a dining table. While for me, I have my first mosquito bite at this hotel in Reunion Island! We don’t have enough time to enjoy the facilities in this hotel, but it is really fully equipped and the only hotel I can get a lot of Reunion’s travel information. It does have some house rules we need to follow, like clear the rubbish and wash the dishes.
The hotel doesn’t have a restaurant, but you can get food easily out there within walking distance. I do like this hotel’s location, it can be access everything within walking distance. It has a Sunday morning market, is very happening and caused traffic jam there. While it is only open till 12 noon, after that all the shops are start closing one by one. However, it was terrible silence on Monday morning… haha

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WeilekHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016

The hotel is about 100m from the beach with a pool and air cons in the rooms.
It is room enough for 2 people in the room we stayed in.
The only problem we had was that the outside air con unit is inside the kitchen area and it makes it unbearably hot in the kitchen. It is a bit silly!
The other rooms has their units on the outside of the building, so they do not get that extra heat.
The island is beautiful but VERY expensive. You pay in Euro. And it is about 3 times more expensive that South Africa.
There is a Score supermarket about 200m from the hotel. They sell everything. Including ice!!
I will recommend the hotel as it is self catering and close to the supermarket and to shops and restaurants.
The sea is warm and full of little fish, so nice to just snorkel in.
To compare, I would still take a Ballito holiday in South Africa before Reunion.
This hotel does not have sea views on any side, but still a good spot to stay in.

Stayed: March 2016
Thank JanenWilhelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Responsable commercial at Residence Tropic Appart'hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2016

Dear Sir

We thank you for your comment and we are pleased to know that you have appreciated our location near the beach and shops of l'Ermitage.
Unfortunetaly, even if we do some good offers, the island is expensive that's true, but beautiful for sure.

We hope to see you again and thank you again for your confidence.

Tropicaly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

Not worth the money during peak season. Small dated cramped rooms overlooking a car park for the price of a quality room in London at the weekend. It is near the beach however.

Not for me unless no other option.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank mak b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2015

Booked 3 nights great value for the area. We booked a basic small room with kitchen well stocked fridge cups etc nice size bathroom and bed great. Small pool at rear of property very clean and great location.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Phil1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphanie T, Responsable réception at Residence Tropic Appart'hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

Thank you for your commentary. The whole team will be happy to receive you again. See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains hotels
3.9 km away
Residence l'Archipel
Residence l'Archipel
#6 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
283 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Le Recif
Hotel Le Recif
#2 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
1,444 reviews
0.2 km away
Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles
Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gill...
#11 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Le Kerveguen
Le Kerveguen
#10 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
119 reviews
5.2 km away
Appart Hotel Marina
Appart Hotel Marina
#14 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
30 reviews
1.6 km away
LUX* Saint Gilles
LUX* Saint Gilles
#1 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
2,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Tropic Appart'hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Tropic Appart'hotel

Address: 102, avenue de Bourbon | L'Ermitage, Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains 97434, Reunion Island
Region: Reunion Island > Arrondissement of Saint-Paul > Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Price Range: ₹ 5,635 - ₹ 11,593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Tropic Appart'hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence features twenty 25m² studios including a kitchen on a closed terrace and a fully fitted bathroom (bath or shower), and twenty 45m² duplexes including a living room, a fully fitted bathroom and a kitchen on the terrace on the ground floor and a mezzanine bedroom with an en-suite shower-room and a terrace.All of our apartments are air-conditioned, fitted with a bathroom, and feature hard wood furniture, quality latex bed ware, satellite television (2 TV sets in the duplexes), dial telephone, safe, high speed internet access (extra charge).The kitchens are fitted with vitroceramic plate, a refrigerator, a mixed microwave-grill oven, and a complete crockery and cutlery set.The apartments are designed to make people feel at home, and are ideal for long and semi-long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence Tropic Appart'hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Tropic Appart'Hotel Reunion Island/Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing