We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,308)
Filter reviews
1,308 results
Traveller rating
581
466
163
62
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
581
466
163
62
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental clublotus courtlobby loungeeagles barbreakfast buffetstar hotelsouvenir shopsaldevinco shopping centerdavao gulfswimming poolbusiness tripthe heart of the citynight marketvisit davaosamal islandsecurityphilippines
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 1,308 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Still a good hotel but need to renovate some parts at the hotel.

For example floors ( carpets) the elevator needs a little updating.

The room was okay. Old.
Showers not that hot water when you take your shower or shaving.

Overall the room was a 3,5 of 5.

Breakfast was super 5 of 5.

Very friendly crew at all 5 of 5.

Sincerely yours
Stefan s

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Lantmanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoPoloDavao, General Manager at Marco Polo Davao, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Lantmanna,

Greetings from Marco Polo Davao.

First of all, thank you very much for booking your stay with us for your family's vacation.

We sincerely apologize, however, if your overall experience fell short of your expectations during your recent visit. Rest assured that we have placed great priority on the issues you raised--the carpets and elevator of the hotel and shower temperature; and that this was brought to the immediate attention of the respective department heads.

Your comments and suggestions are much appreciated as they are indeed crucial in supporting our improvement efforts.

We hope that you can still come back and stay with us again. We always look forward to welcome back our guests.

Warmest regards,

Dottie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

There was roaches in our room. Do not order outside food because security will ask you a lot of unnecessary questions which will definitely offend you. Not worth 20k for a night.

Breakfast at cafe marco was great. I called and informed front desk about our room and they just apologized. Didn't even bothered to send housekeeping

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Marco Polo Hotels
Thank klaradomayns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoPoloDavao, General Manager at Marco Polo Davao, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear klaradomayns,

Thank you for kindly taking the time to respond to our guest satisfaction survey of your recent stay with us. Based on your feedback, it is unfortunate that you didn't have a pleasant experience in our hotel nor with the service provided you during your stay. I have noted the observations you made about the roaches in our rooms and our security personnel and will address the matter.

I do apologize for any inconvenience cause due to the lapses in our service but rest assured that improvements will be made to maintain our standards. We hope you will reconsider and stay in Marco Polo Davao in your next visit and please let me know should I be of any assistance, anytime.

Sincerely yours,
Dottie V. Wurgler-Cronin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

I have been to Davao twice and each time stayed at the Marco Polo. The service is every good the rooms are clean and the buffet outstanding. I have stayed in the cabana room as I like to walk out my balcony and walk straight out to the pool. Staying in the Cabana rooms which are all on the 4th floor you have access to the club lounge which is great. The best coffee and snacks all day.During cocktail hour they offer up warm foods which are enough to get full on bypassing dinner. The staff are amazing and the view of Davao Bay is outstanding. Security is pretty good almost everyone gets a pat down and a bag check. Made me feel safe.
AS Davao is a non smoking city there are only designated smoking areas throughout the city and Marco Polo has an area right outside of the front entrance. Its a bit of a hassle but you can blame Duterte for that. All in all we had a great time the 8 nights we were there. Ask for the Balikbayan special you can save a bit of dough.

Room Tip: cabana room with club access
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Boxbrothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoPoloDavao, General Manager at Marco Polo Davao, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Boxbrothers,

First of all, thank you very much for booking your stay with us. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay.

We are also very delighted about your comments regarding our food, service and amenities and rest assured that we will continue to strive hard to meet your expectations.

When do you plan to visit Davao next? Please do let us know so we can prepare for your arrival.

Have a great week ahead!

Warmest Regards,

Dottie V. Wurgler-Cronin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Overall experienced was very bad specially the service from check in to check out. Not even giving any consideration for the guest always waiting,5 hours to have our rooms,1 hour to have our luggage and 15 days to void my card since we payed in cash, everything is very poor!!!

Room Tip: The overall service was very bad experienced!!!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Marco Polo Hotels
Thank Princess Joan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoPoloDavao, General Manager at Marco Polo Davao, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Ms. Vergara,

Thank you for kindly taking the time to respond to our guest satisfaction survey of your recent stay with us. Based on your feedback, it is unfortunate that you didn't have a pleasant experience in our hotel nor with the service provided you during check out. I have noted the observations you made about our services and will address the matter.

I do apologize for any inconvenience cause due to the lapses in our service but rest assured that improvements will be made to maintain our standards. We hope you will reconsider and stay in Marco Polo Davao in your next visit and please let me know should I be of any assistance, anytime.

Sincerely yours,

Dottie V. Wurgler-Cronin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

im in davao for a weekend and i arrived at 6am from overseas and luckily i had an early check in! i was surprised. the staff were very courteous. ive seen a demanding foreigner asking for pasta during breakfast buffet but the waiter was polite in answering her. that guest even asked for olive oil! when i checked out , while the staff was checking my account , here comes a chinese guy asking the staff about the room of his colleague, well i think some manners cant be taught no matter how rich you are. im visibly pissed off by this experience but im sure that your staff was also trying to be polite to the other guest. maybe make a sign that guest needs to Q and will be attended shortly. the room is clean. maybe we need to overhaul the carpet( i know its expensive ) so that it can have a new look. i can see water stains on the carpet that makes it look old. breakfast at cafe marco is okey. maybe variety will be much appreciated. but overall the hotel is 5star!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank 315kristineg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoPoloDavao, General Manager at Marco Polo Davao, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear 315kristineg,

First of all, thank you very much for booking your stay with us. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay.

We are also very delighted about your comments regarding our food and service and rest assured that we will continue to strive hard to meet your expectations. Your comments and suggestions are much appreciated as they are indeed crucial in supporting our improvement efforts.

When do you plan to visit Davao next? Please do let us know so we can prepare for your arrival.

Have a great week ahead!


Warmest Regards,

Dottie V. Wurgler-Cronin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews