We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hit and Miss Affair”
Review of Marco Polo Davao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marco Polo Davao
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Davao City
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Our Philippine Airline flight was very delayed, and we needed to catch the meeting. However, the free hotel shuttle would have to wait for all the incoming guests so we had to take a cab for about PHP150.00. Perhaps, the hotel should offer a hotel car service and charge a corresponding fee rather than offer a fee shuttle that is not very efficient. It was also difficult to find the hotel representative as he did not hold up any hotel sign and he was busy chatting with his friends. He was not as helpful with our plight, so we had to just fend for ourself.

The front desk and the lounge staff were very efficient and helpful. They did try to help out their guests as much as they could.

The room where we stayed had an amazing view of the sea. However, it was showing signs of age and the carpet triggered my young child's allergies.

The free breakfast buffet was good for one person only. PRetty strange, indeed.

The location is very good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatureHigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

995 - 999 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2011

This hotel is an oasis for a weary traveler. I spent three nights at the Marco Polo and I have to say it was one of my most pleasant stays ever in a hotel. Check in was seamless and the front desk staff was efficient and pleasant to deal with. The rooms are spacious and I found that the staff was eager to assist me with whatever I needed. The rooms were clean and roomy with a wonderful view of the hills and volcano near Davao City. The linens on the bed were fresh and the carpeting clean. I needed an iron and ironing board and the attendants were quick to bring it to my room. There are at least 3 restaurants and I spent my entire time at the buffet restaurant in the lower level. 1st class all the way and the breakfast buffet has a very wide variety of fruits, breads, yogurts, sushi, juices and eggs and omelets to order. Lots of wait staff so they are quick to assist you with your needs.

The pool area is clean and well kept with changing rooms, showers, lots of lounge chairs and a bar. Water was clean and again the staff ready to assist with any need you may have. The pool is open late so it makes it nice to be able to go out on the deck and enjoy the evening breeze while sitting at the tables.

Security is very tight and this is for your own safety. There is armed security upon bringing your vehicle onto the property. Again, security is at the door where they ask to look in your briefcase/back pack and quickly but efficiently frisk you for firearms. They are so nice about it...almost apologetic but I appreciated their thoroughness. Don't be alarmed by it. If a cab is needed they will call one for you. The hotel had a lot of international guests so no matter what nationality you are you will feel welcome.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side provide views of the volcanoe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Stayed at MP Davao from Sept 10-13, 2011 as we were advised that this was the best hotel in the city. Our room was a superior room facing the sea. Though the room was a bit old and a bit smaller than a comparable room at MP HK/Gateway, it was clean and pleasant.

Service was very good. Staff members were courteous and helpful! In addition, I loved that the waiting time was surprisingly short whenever I needed stuff from housekeeping, tech support, room service trays picked up... For example, upon arrival, the in-room safe was blinking (low batt) called the front desk and in a few minutes someone came by to fix it.

There were no glitches in our reservation (which was a little bit complicated since the members of our party were all arriving/departiing.

Eat-all-you-can dimsum bufftet at the Lotus Court was so-so, nothing to write home about... their breakfast buffet is a different story! Yum =)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank boop31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Hotel is located in a very convenient location downtown, across a row of popular local crafts stores called Aldevinco and the Ateneo de Davao. Service was always courteous and friendly throughout my stay, the housekeeping staff greeted me by name on the second of my seven day stay. My room was a nice size, typical of any five star hotel in Manila. There was a LCD tv and wifi (although you have to pay by buying stubs at the front office, it was quite steep at Php250+ for an hour or Php500+ for 24 hours). The bathroom was well maintained and very clean.

Their buffet outlet, Cafe Marco, was recently renovated and the new buffet is the best in the city. Buffet breakfast was very good, at par with counterparts in Manila. You should try the Lotus Court, their Chinese cuisine restaurant. Their bamboo pith soup was excellent as well as the tofu (made in-house) with mushrooms and the yin yang grouper.

They also have a beautiful new spa. I did not get to try any of their massages but the premises and facilities were top-rate.

Room Tip: If you're a morning person, get a room facing the bay, the sun shines in every morning. Otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank chba888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I stay only one night on a business trip. The hotel is located near the ocean. It is rather old, but good enough for the comfortable stay. There is a swimming pool, but I do not have time to try.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
2  Thank 3T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Davao City hotels
3.5 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
#1 of 53 in Davao City
975 reviews
2.0 km away
Seda Abreeza Davao
Seda Abreeza Davao
#3 of 53 in Davao City
594 reviews
3.2 km away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#4 of 53 in Davao City
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Hotel Tropika Davao
Hotel Tropika Davao
#2 of 53 in Davao City
330 reviews
0.5 km away
Alu Hotel
Alu Hotel
#14 of 53 in Davao City
59 reviews
0.6 km away
The Pinnacle Hotel and Suites
The Pinnacle Hotel and Suites
#11 of 53 in Davao City
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Davao? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Davao

Address: CM Recto Street | P.O. Box 81540, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Davao City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Davao City
#5 Business Hotel in Davao City
Price Range: ₹ 4,725 - ₹ 7,638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Davao 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marco Polo Davao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Davao Hotel Davao
Marco Polo Hotel Davao
Marco Polo Davao Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing