We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“ZEN FEELINGS AT THE NORTH ZEN?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Zen Basic Spaces

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
North Zen Basic Spaces
Ranked #4 of 126 Davao City B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
1,024 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
“ZEN FEELINGS AT THE NORTH ZEN?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

I moved to this hotel after staying one night at a hotel located in downtown area of Davao City. I was ready to tell the taxi driver to drive me back to my former hotel, but changed my mind since I already prepaid my 3 nights stay at this hotel.

Good points: Hotel is newer. Staff are friendly and helpful. I was able to get information about getting driver/car for my city tours. Cheap nightly rate - I only paid about US $ 17.00 per night.

Bad points: Hotel is far from tourist areas. It is surrounded by private homes and some commercial establishments. There are only 1-3 restaurants near by. False advertising about its being located at the city center.

Room Tip: Be aware that the hotel is located away from the city center of Davao City.This is a new hotel and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LolaGo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    32
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
12
20
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

My friend and I stayed at North Zen Hotel for a night and it was a pleasant experience. The room is a little small but clean and well ventilated. The hotel is new so the aircon, tv, toilet, lights and shower were working perfectly. We had a good night sleep. Check in and check out was fast and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Would definitely recommend to friends and other budget travelers.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kooneekoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

For budget-minded travelers, North Zen is not a bad option at all. It’s probably one of the best-value accommodations I have stayed in during my months of travel around the Philippines. Mind you, it’s a basic place, and I guess the fact that it’s pretty new, without yet having suffered any significant wear and tear, contributes much to the quality of your stay. I spent 5 nights in a single room which was small but adequate. There’s a LCD TV with a good selection of channels, as well as fast and reliable WIFI. The bed is rather small but okay, even for a tall person like me. It comes with a cheap foam mattress which I first expected to be problem for getting a good night’s sleep, but I actually slept well every night. Everything was clean and well taken care of. All of the staff was courteous and always smiling and helpful. While North Zen is located in central Davao, I did wish it to be a bit closer to People’s Park and its environs. There’s a little massage shop next door which is just okay, but I cannot really recommend. (Better take a taxi to Holiday Spa, the quality of the massages is much better there). Exiting the hotel to the right and turning right again at the next corner onto Lapu Lapu Street there is a really good Filipino-Chinese restaurant on the opposite side of the road, less than a minute’s walk away from North Zen. Great Pork Asado and Egg Tarts there! All in all, considering that I only spent 650PhP per night for my room, I was really happy with my stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

I don't know if I got a promo rate or it was their regular rate but I really believe that paying 700 pesos per night is absolutely a great deal. Their location is less than 30 minutes from the Davao International Airport. My room, which was a single standard room, was quite spacious. It has a neatly done bed, not as comfy though as those that can be found from 5-star hotels, but they're good enough for a solo traveler who is working on a very tight budget. The room also includes a big cabinet where you can place all your stuff, a flat screen TV and an incredibly spacious bathroom. Security shouldn't be an issue here. They have a 24-hour security and a CCTV. The tenants are not shabby. Some of the tenants are travelers and others I think are students maybe from a nearby university which is Ateneo De Davao. The North Zen's location is very strategic because somehow it is located at the epicenter of all the tourist spots and malls. SM Davao is just 15 minutes away. They also have a mini-spa within their building so you can just call the receptionist from your room to send over a therapist to your room if you might need one.

The problem that I've had with them is finding a way to get in touch with them. A blog mentioned about this Bed and Bath so I tried searching some more information online but they don't have their own website and finally I found that they have a facebook account. Now that is a problem for somebody like me who doesn't have a facebook account. Thankfully they have an email address on their info page. I emailed them and they responded quickly. Asked them several questions through email and I got all the answers that I needed. Because of their fast response and their honesty I decided to book with them. It was a decision that I would never regret. Jeffrey the receptionist, I don't know if remember his name correctly, was very courteous and friendly.

I recommend this to all solo travelers, budget travelers, and those who intend to stay in Davao for more than 5 days. Have fun!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window, I think some of the rooms may not have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stableunstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kihei
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

I recently stayed at the north zen hotel in Davao city Philippines. The hotel is rather new and is about 30 min. from the airport. The hotel sits on a rather quiet street with homes and small businesses. It's about 10 min. from the new breeze shopping mall and about 15 min. from the SM city Mall. The staff there greeted me very warmly they were aware of my reservation they spoke terrific English and were very friendly and accommodating. in the same complex are a couple of other shops downstairs including the restaurant right next store was very clean very reasonably priced has a very friendly staff. The food is Filipino and the breakfast is a very good deal. I stayed in the Zen suite which is their top room available, it's on the ground floor has a clean bed and the 32 inch television.
Clean, air-conditioned, and all new fixtures, in fact it's still smell of freshly painted.

Here are the positives -

New new new. New air-conditioning, new television, all new fixtures in the bathroom.
Excellent staff, Jeffrey at the front desk, both of the security guards, the cleaning staff, and I can't forget the two young ladies at the front desk in the morning they were both so friendly and also so intelligent, very helpful.
clean and very new. Also including the restaurant next-door very clean and also a very good value.
Excellent television, with a lot of excellent television stations, the very best of my month-long travels throughout Asia.
free Wi-Fi, strong and very thankful for that.

Here are the negatives –

Horrible water pressure. The lowest water pressure I experienced on my month long travels.
Poor lighting. Both in the bathroom, and also in the living area.
Not enough electrical plugs were available. 1 plug in the living room, and zero electricity plugs in the bathroom.
No safety box in the room.
Incorrect bedding in the living room. The blanket did not cover the entire bed. Only one sheet covering the mattress, therefore the building was incorrect.
Air conditioner, although brand-new, was so noisy I thought there was a pickup truck inside the room

Overall review –

I paid $47 for the Zen suite a special price discounted from $82
If the ownership or the management was to change all the negative aspects which I have mentioned above. I would then say that this is indeed a very good value. With the changes in place I would say that the Zen hotel could be a five star legitimate boutique hotel. This would make it very unique in the city of Davao. If the changes were not made, then I would say that the Zen Hotel is a three star hotel at best, and I would not say that it was a very good value at that.

Room Tip: get the cheapest room at the cheapest price available, investigate for internet discount, because ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Appleegg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Davao City hotels
1.4 km away
Hotel Uno
Hotel Uno
#26 of 52 in Davao City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.3 km away
Alu Hotel
Alu Hotel
#17 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.7 km away
Tinhat Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Green Windows Dormitel
Green Windows Dormitel
#8 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Galleria Davao
Hotel Galleria Davao
#25 of 52 in Davao City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.2 km away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#6 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Zen Basic Spaces? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Zen Basic Spaces

Property: North Zen Basic Spaces
Address: Sobrecary Street, Corner Lapu-Lapu Street, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Davao City
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,021 - ₹ 1,702
Hotel Class:2.5 star — North Zen Basic Spaces 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your North Zen Basic Spaces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Zen Basic Spaces Davao/Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing