We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service with a Smile!”
Review of Home Crest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Home Crest Hotel
Ranked #29 of 124 Davao City B&B and Inns
Asia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Service with a Smile!”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This is a charming hotel right beside one of the major mall chains in the Philippines - SM City. So it makes your stay there pretty comfortable when it comes to dining or other needs that a typical modern mall can provide as it is literally, few steps away!

Love:
-check-in was fast, staff at the reception were very friendly and accommodating (Beverly & James)
-WIFI in the room at a very good signal
-friendly staff (worth to mention as I just recently came from a country where smile is not a common thing in the service sector)
-clean, decent room. Big wardrobe with hangers, mini fridge, TV and very cool split-type AC, good bed mattress, fluffy pillows
-fluffy towels
-breakfast option and serving is good (coffee is brewed not instant 3in1)


Hate:
-no bidet, was provided with a water dipper but it still has liquid soap in it (probably from the last user)
-mini fridge was locked, I had to ask why only to be told I need to pay 500pesos as security deposit (don't mind that much but would have been better if told right at check-in) plus I had to ask for the list of mini bar items coz there's none.
-no foot rug for wet feet after shower
-the shower curtain is too long, quite messy, shower head is just so-so (no way to adjust)
-quite far from the airport, I paid 220pesos for taxi fare

Overall, it still is a good and pleasant stay as you feel secured once inside the premises and in your room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    28
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
10
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed here last May 2012. Was able to get a good rate thru their own website. This small boutique hotel is literally just within a few steps to SM Davao, which is perfect to grab some quick meals and buy certain necessities. SM also has a complex transpo hub where you can get an aircon van to go to other must see areas in Davao. The hotel is clean with a nice lobby and a small dainty restaurant. Breakfast was included but if you pay it is very reasonable. Food served was also very good. This hotel is in a quiet residential area so not much vehicles passing and relatively quiet and peaceful. If you regularly jog, the SM complex is a jogging path by locals in the early morning.

Staff were very courteous and helpful, no issues here and cleanliness is above standard. If you go for a budget small boutique hotel without the amenities like swimming pool, gym, etc. then this hotel will be the best for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rse-wpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My family and I booked two rooms at Home Crest for two nights last month. The hotel, though small, has several positive things going for it, namely: location, friendly staff, good rooms, free wifi and efficient layout. The hotel's location allowed us to use it as a practical base for going around the different sights in Davao. The SM Mall was right across the hotel so last minute "pasalubong" purchases and wide dining options were easy. Rooms were a good size and had what we needed - comfortable beds, wide screen TV, good shower, strong aircon. Plated breakfast was delicious and filling. A spa (separate business) can be found on the ground floor where I enjoyed a very relaxing massage. The hotel had a small but cozy lobby. Front desk staff as well as security guard were friendly and helpful - check-in/check-out was no fuss.

Room Tip: If you need wifi, ask for rooms across SM Mall, where the routers seem to be located. Downside of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsLeeQuezonCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paranaque, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Staff at Home Crest are nice and helpful. They even upgraded our stay from Standard Twin Sharing Room to the Premium Twin. However, the beds in the room are really worn out and I had a terrible backache. Also, I asked if they could provide a hair dryer, and they said I have to rent it out for P150.00 !!! First time I heard of hair dryers being rented to hotel guests. I told them so and they provided for free, anyway, but after you have argued ! Also, they don't provide electric water pots and no free coffee or tea service inside the room. No other room amenities except 2 sachets of shampoo and 2 pcs personal size soap.
The only advantage is that it is just across SM-Davao so you have access to food and other necessities.
I will not recommend this, Tropika Hotel in JP Laurel is a much better choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level Contributor
221 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Every time I visit Davao City I stay at Home Crest Residences. The hotel has a " homey " touch and service is very good. I always get a twin deluxe room, I find the room rate within my budget. I normally go there on a short business trip and do not need a gym or a swimming pool to unwind. I would much rather cross the street and unwind with retail therapy at the nearby SM Mall. Am happy with the clean room, nice smelling sheets and towels. The bathroom is quite small though and there is something wrong with their choice of lavatory. I do not use the lift, instead climb up the stairs to my 3rd floor room. I feel safe in Home Crest. The free breakfast the comes with the hotel room is standard Filipino breakfast of fried rice, corned beef, fried eggs, fresh fruits and coffee. Good enough for me. When I last visited, they had an art exhibit in their Lobby. There is a pub on the ground floor, where you can have a drink or two with other guests (easy to make friends since its a small hotel). The also serve breakfast in the pub.
I liked the service at Home Crest because the guys out there go out of their way to please you. One time, I mentioned by desire to buy some fresh durian and take them home with me. They immediately sourced them out for me (cheaper rate than the supermarket), vacuum packed the durian, ready for me to take back home. Superb service!
I will surely recommend the place to my friends and colleagues.

Room Tip: You get a nicer view of the rooftops from the higher floor (3rd floor):):):):) I think its quieter t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saint28daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Davao City hotels
3.4 km away
Alu Hotel
Alu Hotel
#17 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
3.4 km away
Marco Polo Davao
Marco Polo Davao
#5 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
6.5 km away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#4 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Tinhat Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
2.7 km away
Hotel Galleria Davao
Hotel Galleria Davao
#32 of 52 in Davao City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
7.6 km away
Big Apple Hotel
Big Apple Hotel
#36 of 52 in Davao City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Crest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Crest Hotel

Property: Home Crest Hotel
Address: Tulip Drive corner Walnut Avenue | Ecoland Phase 7, across SM City Davao, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Davao City
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,715 - ₹ 4,331
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Home Crest Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home Crest Hotel a best value hotel conveniently located right across SM City Davao. Though nestled in a friendly neighborhood amidst towering trees and gardens; great dining, entertainment and shopping destinations are just a short walk away. A van and bus terminal, ATMs, spa, 24-hour convenience store is in the vicinity. Public transportation is accessible, providing guests with easy commute to downtown and to any part in the city. At Home Crest Hotel, we are dedicated to offer quality amenities and personalized services in a global standard. We aim to delight our guest with the unique blend of comfort and convenience for an utmost satisfying experience. It is our goal to provide a remarkable hotel experience by creating a cozy and friendly atmosphere where guests can look forward to coming home every time they visit Davao City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Home Crest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Crest Hotel Davao/Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing