We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Tropika Davao
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Davao City
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed in Tropica for 10 days . We enjoyed our stay . Th staff were very helpful and organized. The food is excellent . Tropica is very clean and we received excellent service throughout the time we are staying in Tropica I highly recommend this hotel to others.

Excellent job!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    123
    23
    2
    2
See reviews for
69
63
20
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I've been visiting Davao for work since 2005, and have stayed in most of the City's posh (not to mention expensive) hotels. On a recent trip, colleagues encouraged me to give Hotel Tropika a try and was not disappointed.

This pocket-friendly hotel is your "home away from home." The rooms are very spacious, the staff are very accommodating and would always go the extra mile. They even accommodate early check-ins at no additional fee! Woot, woot! :) The hotel is also only about a 5min cab ride to Abreeza Mall, and only a few steps away from two (2) spas.

Many thanks Hotel Tropika for taking such good care of me on all of my visits! Till my next :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gamurallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boracay, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I think the last review was very harsh (ThomasS389 - 10/07/12). Yes, there is a problem with the Internet router, but there is a computer with Internet access in the lobby. Personally i review how the staff have been, cleanliness of the room, the food, staff going that extra mile. And in my humble opinion the staff have done that.

I lost my mobile phone in a taxi I caught at the hotel. It was expensive and I never thought I would see it again. The staff made numerous calls to track down my phone, and they got it back for me. Amazing! Now I call that going the extra mile. I was very grateful. I have no complaints against the staff.

I Have only seen the odd ant across the place (it is a hot country after all), and I have seen the odd ant in 5 star hotels as well. As for the bees I have seen them but only late at night. I have never seen bees in my hotel room. Not sure what the staff can do about them, as they could from the grounds. However, to say it is like a beehive is grossly misleading. I have walked past them and they have left me alone. They seem to be 'dozing'.

Personally, (because my fiance is from Davao), I will be coming to this hotel again in the future. I booked the hotel because of the reviews from trip Advisor and I have not been disappointed. Hotel Tropia staff thank you. Will see you when I visit Dvao again.

Cheers!

Leroy

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LJJ1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis L, Manager at Hotel Tropika Davao, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Leroy,

Thank you for your kind review and for highlighting staff efforts towards rendering good service to all our guests. We did have an internet router problem for a few days, but this has since been resolved and wifi service at that particular area of the hotel is now back to normal.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you again on your next visit to Davao City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davao, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

with HOTEL TROPIKA, grandiose does not mean spending so much!

We have received a service more than what we have expected, thanks to MARGA and her TEAM! SALUTE from us! YOU made our night so SPLENDID. everyone loves the arrangement you have done for us.

To HOTEL TROPIKA, you should have more MARGA's, BOBONG's, DREW's for your team. they are so fantanstic with their duties.

from the bottom of our hearts, all praises to you guys!!!

for the restaurant team, may you have the same spirit with the TROPIKA TEAM. Please improve your service, great thing you have excellent food.

Room Tip: you ask for Ms. Marga, if you want ease with your needs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edxel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis L, Manager at Hotel Tropika Davao, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Edxel,

Thank you for trusting us to handle a most important function, and for commending our staff for their efforts. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with the arrangements, found good value for money and enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We apologize for the glitch in restaurant service and have relayed your comments to the management of Cafe Aseya.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Tropika.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I have booked room accommodation in this hotel last June 14-16 for our auditors and I am so happy with the services of their front desk especially to Jane & Lara. I highly commend them, they are so patient with my instructions even @ 3am, thumbs to you girls!!!

I haven't tried to stay in this hotel, but definitely, I will stay here with my kids for a leisure.

Room Tip: Avail the free one way airport transfer....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis L, Manager at Hotel Tropika Davao, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Liabella,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and commending Jane & Lara of front office. We always aim to ensure a comfortable and restful stay for our guests, as well as a pleasant experience for everyone who comes or calls at Hotel Tropika.

We hope that one day we will have a chance to serve you personally when you visit Davao City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Davao City hotels
1.6 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
#1 of 52 in Davao City
894 reviews
5.0 km away
Marco Polo Davao
Marco Polo Davao
#3 of 52 in Davao City
1,118 reviews
2.3 km away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#5 of 52 in Davao City
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Seda Abreeza Davao
Seda Abreeza Davao
#2 of 52 in Davao City
541 reviews
5.5 km away
Green Windows Dormitel
Green Windows Dormitel
#11 of 52 in Davao City
262 reviews
3.9 km away
The Ritz Hotel At Garden Oases
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropika Davao? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropika Davao

Property: Hotel Tropika Davao
Address: Km. 7, J.P. Laurel Ave. | Lanang, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Davao City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Davao City
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,932 - ₹ 4,383
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropika Davao 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tropika offers 30 beautifully furnished and spacious guestrooms which have one king-size or two twin beds, fitted with pampering linens over plush pillow-top mattresses. Each has a full array of in-room amenities for your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Tropika Davao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tropika Davao Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing