We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A weclome respite on a busy business trip”
Review of Edsa Shangri-La

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Edsa Shangri-La
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mandaluyong
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A weclome respite on a busy business trip”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights during a whirlwind business trip thru Asia. With a late night arrival, easy transfer from the airport, greeted at the door and taken immediately to my room for in-room check-in. Great way to arrive during a hectic trip.
Room was clean, well maintained, and very comfortable. I really appreciated the fresh fruit every day. Hotel itself is very peaceful and never any noise in the hallways, etc.
Staff was always gracious and helpful..
Buffet Breakfast at Heat had food for every taste, all fresh and well presented.
I did have the opportunity to spend some time at the pool and the service there was excellent as well. After the first day, the staff remembered my name, my drink of choice (coke light) and that I preferred to be in the shade.
Would love to spend some time here on a vacation, instead of for work ;)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WIGolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    941
    492
    152
    81
    46
See reviews for
489
207
76
774
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Level Contributor
488 reviews
219 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I just had a overnight stay and I came away very impressed with the hotel. It's classy in its design and also its service. Arguably a bit too much service as there is a young lady in front of the lifts ensuring that I save a few seconds.

The buffet spread is excellent, even by Asian standards. I think one can have 4 or 5 breakfasts and not feel jaded. There is that much variety.

The room is well designed. I was just thinking the other day about how the sink should have a ledge so that some stuff can be kept there dry. And there it was--a glass ledge above the sink exactly for that purpose.

I tried the spa and it is very professionally done. No hanky panky here.

The hotel is next to a shopping mall owned by the same owners. At this time of writing, it is rather messy as some parts are under renovation.

The only downside is the price. Depending on what you compare with, it is two to three times the next reasonable place.

I suppose this means that if you can afford it, you should spring for it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Pro's- The Spa Service is the best here and the very relaxing pool. On top of that, the excellent service of the staff is by par!

Con's- Might need to dwell with the noise of the vehicles passing along EDSA especially if your room is facing megamall area. Lucky to have mine facing the pool. it was soooo serene! :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XianMen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isis629, Public Relations Manager at Edsa Shangri-La, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Edsa Shangri-La, Manila. We are delighted to know that you find our staff friendly and like the services of the hotel, especially Chi, The Spa.

Your feedback is very important us and would like to inform you that all your comments are duly noted and reviewed to further improve our product and services. We would like to let you know  that we are scheduled to renovate our rooms at the Tower Wing this year to provide a more relaxing atmosphere to guests.

Please do not hesitate to contact us by email at mike.albana@shangri-la.com or you may call 6338888.

Yours sincerely,

MICHAEL ALBAÑA
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

I having been staying at this hotel for the last 3 years, around 50 nights per year when I am in Manila on business.
It's my home from home! As a lady travelling on my own I feel very relaxed and safe. I stay in the garden wing with Horizon club access which means you get a lounge with free drinks and snacks. The staff are Amazing, never can work out how they remember me by name even if I am just passing in the corridor.
There is a good gym & pool, lots of restaurants to choose from. 2 shopping malls on either side of the hotel so plenty to do when I am not at work.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

Two thumbs up for the services! Conference rooms are well equipped and hotel staff are always available to attend to our needs. Rooms are very good too. The Heat is ok.

Stayed November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tripwithkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandaluyong
1.0 km away
Marco Polo Ortigas Manila
4.6 km away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
8.8 km away
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#5 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
0.6 km away
Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines
1.3 km away
The Legend Villas
The Legend Villas
#2 of 7 in Mandaluyong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edsa Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edsa Shangri-La

Property: Edsa Shangri-La
Address: 1 Garden Way | Ortigas Center, Mandaluyong City, Metro Manila, Mandaluyong, Luzon 1650, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Mandaluyong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mandaluyong
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,333 - ₹ 12,273
Hotel Class:5 star — Edsa Shangri-La 5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Philippines' foremost deluxe city-resort convention hotel. It offers 631 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, dining choices, and CHI, The Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edsa Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edsa Shangri-La Hotel Mandaluyong
Edsa Shangri-La Mandaluyong, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing