We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and great location.”
Review of Hotel Durban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Durban
Ranked #24 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Room is good and clean. Pretty secure hotel. Location was prefect, it's just round the bend of where the happening places are located.... P. Burgos St.
Staff they were ok I guess, I was to busy with my entertainment, I hardly have the time to take notice of the staff. But it's all good.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Majapahit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

365 - 369 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

I normally don't stay at budget hotels. Circumstances changed the first of the year. This business trip I stayed at Hotel Durban and glad of it. Place was spotless. Staff was very friendly, helpful. Bathroom kind of small. Firm bed. Felt very safe. Half the rate of neighboring hotels. Place is nice. Never minded bringing colleagues back to finish discussions in the lobby or my suite.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Firstly this is a budget hotel but prices are around 1500 per night depending on the room you have. Rooms are very clean but I experienced ants crawling over the place as per the previous reviewer. Floors are tiled which makes things more hygienic.

It is hard to sleep there - constant noise from the lobby as the door is always kept open. Also there is light coming from the service area which will keep most people awake. Also, if you are on the ground floor, mosquitos can enter your room very easily because staff open the outer and inner doors and the mozzies fly straight through.

Most staff are helpful, however, one sour-faced lady (amazingly she's the senior receptionist) at the front desk is extremely rude and frankly should be fired. When you ask for your room key she will just slam it down on the counter and glare. If you pay your bill, you wont even get acknowledged by her yet alone any thanks. Also be warned, she will also be rude to your guests. The other staff members are fine and usually polite.

As per the last review, staff regularly sleep in the lobby or behind the counter, particularly at night. Seems a bit unprofessional to me.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are noisy, have mosquitos and ants. Choose an upper floor. Never stay in room 101...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldurban, General Manager at Hotel Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

After interviewing staff who had direct interactions with the reviewer and viewing closed-circuit TV footage of front desk transactions and lobby traffic during the reviewer’s stay, we have concluded that the staff member mentioned behaved properly and as-trained, and that none of our staff were asleep on-duty during the reviewer’s stay. We wish to reassure returning and prospective guests that our staff maintains the highest standards of professionalism and courtesy, which are easily on par with the best hotels in the city. We invite John W. to contact us directly at frontdesk@hoteldurban.net to clarify and resolve the matter.

Our interior lobby doors, between the front desk and the guest rooms, are open daily between 8:00am and 7:00pm. Over time, we have found that first floor guests prefer this arrangement because it allows a continuous background noise level; keeping the interior lobby door closed during the day makes of intermittent bursts of noise as guests leave and return, which can be distracting. (That said, the majority of our guests are awake and out of the hotel during daytime hours.) When guests tell us they plan to sleep during the day, we arrange to accommodate them properly in other rooms.

In every hotel there are rooms that are naturally quieter than others because of their respective locations. If a guest is uncomfortable, we make every effort to relocate him or her to more suitable quarters if available. We have begun a robust noise abatement program throughout the hotel, which will be completed in several stages throughout 2012. We are installing black-out and sound-dampening window coverings, upgrading guest room doors, and, in certain cases including the room where this reviewer stayed, rebuilding entire walls and repositioning doors. While we often have discussions as to carpeting our hallways, we strongly feel that tile communicates our hotel’s exemplary cleanliness.

We work hard to keep our hotel spotless. We take frequent and diligent measures to ensure that all guest rooms are free from insects and other infestations, and we have a reputation of maintaining the highest standards of cleanliness. Since the Philippines is a tropical country, insects remain active year-round, and all local hotels face a balancing act of fighting insects while minimizing use of insecticides. Our balance is to make sure roaches and spiders are fought relentlessly. We fight the local ants, which do not bite, by frequent mopping and using soap to wipe away their trails as soon as we are aware of them. Flies and mosquitoes are swatted rather than sprayed. Rest assured that our housekeeping staff is well trained to keep an sharp eye out for all insects, and that Maintenance attends all private and public areas regularly throughout the day. We invite guests to inform us of any sightings so that we may attend to them immediately.

Finally, our average room rate is around PHP 1500.00 (USD 35.00), which is roughly half of many neighboring hotels, which certainly qualifies us as a budget hotel. Moreover, this rate is includes ALL taxes and surcharges and is PER ROOM for TWO registered guests. While there are certainly hotels that are more “budget” than us, none can match the quality and cleanliness of our rooms, service, and excellent location. As of this writing, TripAdvisor ranks us as No.9 of all the 54 rated hotels in Makati, with the 8 ahead mostly large, luxury establishments. We are the highest rated budget boutique hotel in the city, and we are known for maintaining the highest standards of cleanliness and value. We are proud of our small hotel, and we work hard to give our guests a pleasant and safe experience and offer Makati’s most affordable and comfortable hotel in its category. We invite you to come stay with us on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I have been staying for many times at Hotel Durban's neighbor, St. Giles Hotel, when my friends told me they will be staying at Hotel Durban. I need to join them as we will do something together so I decided to just stay with them.

I was a bit hesitant because it was near the red light district of Makati but when I saw the lobby and the rooms, I was amazed that I could get at a very low price such rooms in Makati. St. Giles Hotel was almost charging 50% more and the staff there are not so nice. If you are in a tight budget, then Hotel Durban is for you.

There was free wifi internet and the signal was satisfactory. The water pressure was strong. Only, they did not have full-body mirrors inside the room. Also the electric sockets were very few. I had to remove the lamp from the socket just to charge my phone. They only have few rooms to better book in advance.

Overall this was an unexpected great stay in this hotel, great in the sense that it was worth more than what we paid for. The staff were courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kielwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldurban, General Manager at Hotel Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

We are so happy that Kielwin gave Hotel Durban a chance by selecting us over our excellent neighbor, St. Giles Hotel, during his last stay in Manila. We are even happier that our service, quality, and amenities pleasantly surprised him. We work hard to give our guests the best value for their money of any hotel in the neighborhood. A number of suggestions the reviewer made are already part of our capital improvement plan for 2012: full body mirrors are being installed in every closet, and our electrical system is being upgraded to provide an extra double socket in every room so that guests may charge and power personal electronic devices easily. As part of an enhanced Hotel Durban experience, guests may also look forward to iPod/iPhone charging docks on bedside tables and soap and shampoo dispensers in the showers; our café is slated to open in October. In the meantime, Hotel Durban will continue to maintain the highest standards of cleanliness and value in Makati. We invite you to come stay with us on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I've been staying at this hotel since it was still called "Durban Street Inn" and i have always liked their "homey" ambiance. There's a Mexican Mediterranean feel to it. Red Clay tiles, white walls, burgundy brown furniture. Most of the rooms are spacious, clean. In the last room i stayed in, it was spacious, new a/c, , spacious bathroom, hot and cold shower, lcd tv. They also have a new facade that makes them look more of a hotel than an Inn now, hence the name. But for those who are used to elevators, you're in for an exercise. It is a non-smoking hotel so smokers has to go outside the lobby where a couple of benches and tables are provided. Wifi is also available for guests. Although it is located on the "red district" of Makati, the hotel itself is a street away from the crowded bars. Although some guests complained that they couldn't sleep because of the noise, i never had a problem with it. Rates start at $32 for a single/double room with one queen size bed.

My only complaint i guess, the last time i stayed there, the room they gave me smelled of smoke...so the guests before me didn't give a crap that the hotel was a no smoking hotel, so management should look into it. Otherwise, its a great value for your money hotel in the Makati area, i'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Geisha72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldurban, General Manager at Hotel Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

We do, indeed, remember chatting with sole2soultravel, and we thank the reviewer for the wonderful review. While we are sorry that the room she stayed in smelled of smoke, we dealt with the issue as soon as it came to our attention. Our no-smoking policy is front-and-center during check-in: in addition to a posted notice, guests are also gently reminded by the front desk staff. While the certain rare guest may still choose to violate our policy - as well as Makati City Ordinance 2002-090 - our excellent housekeeping and maintenance staff is always vigilant. As part of the planned upgrades for 2013 and a more robust fire prevention strategy, we are installing more sensitive smoke detectors that will notify the front desk directly in case of smoke. We look forward to hosting sole2soultravel during her next visit to Manila.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.5 km away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#27 of 86 in Makati
333 reviews
2.6 km away
VIP Suite
VIP Suite
#39 of 86 in Makati
86 reviews
0.1 km away
Red Planet Manila Makati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
aurumOne Makati Suites (formerly aurumOne Makati)
1.8 km away
Guijo Suites Makati
Guijo Suites Makati
#23 of 86 in Makati
390 reviews
0 km away
City Garden Hotel Makati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Durban? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Durban

Address: 4875 Durban Street | Poblacion, Makati, Luzon, Philippines (Formerly Durban Street Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Makati
#6 Business Hotel in Makati
#8 Romantic Hotel in Makati
Price Range: ₹ 2,202 - ₹ 3,433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Durban 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Durban is located in the up-and-coming Poblacion neighborhood of Makati. Surrounded by hip restaurants and casual bars, the hotel is a small oasis in the heart of the city. Our spare and modern aesthetic underscores the superior comfort, exacting cleanliness, and undeniable value for which we have been known since our founding in 1975. Our guest rooms showcase art by local and international artists while offering all the conveniences expected in a modern hotel. Complimentary high-speed wifi is standard throughout. Farfalla, the hotel’s restaurant, specializes in handcrafted and authentic Italian cuisine overseen by an Italian chef. Pasta and pizza are made fresh daily in addition to an international breakfast selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durban Street Hotel
Hotel Durban Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing