We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast Buffet”
Review of Citylight Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Citylight Hotel
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Baguio
Reviewed 21 July 2012

This is my second time to have the breakfast buffet here in City Light Hotel in Baguio. I would say that this time around, it was not as enjoyable as the first. The general ambiance of the place is really quite nice, the service staff was great as well. They have also increased their price for the breakfast buffet from 180 pesos to 195 pesos per person. Not bad in terms of price. But this time around, I think the quality and variety of the viands served lacked oomph! The coffee was very light and I could taste more of the creamer than the coffee. The juices were terribly sweet and I couldn't even finish the drink, it was that sweet. The pancake station was not inviting either, the batter used looked uninteresting and flat. They had siomai which was also a big disappointment because it was on the bland side and it was hard to the bite. The beef pares was better this time around as it was a bit more tender than the first time I tried it. The eggs were average. I asked for black pepper from the wait staff but they could not find any. That was a big blunder for me. How can a restaurant not have black pepper. For the price, I would say it was okay but for me it was not even worth it anymore. I would not recommend this place unless absolutely necessary.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dixon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 148 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2012

We arrived in Baguio at around 6am and then we headed straight to City Light to grab some breakfast. To our surprise, their incredible breakfast buffet was worth only P180 with drinks! it's not the biggest buffet table I've been to but definitely one of the cheapest. They had everything we wanted for breakfast - bread, fried rice, egg, ham, pancakes, various fried viands and of course hot&cold drinks. They also had a wonderful service. It was a great time to catch up with my Baguio friends who flocked the restaurant like wildfire. We stayed there for at least two more hours as we wait for our room to be available in another place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZyrusDeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Just checked in today, it was a last minute booking, which I found is difficult to accomplish being its the high season here in Baguio, and it's the Philippines.

My impressions so far, it's new and fairly clean. Location is good as its only a few short blocks off of Sessions Road. If hills aren't an issue, if they are taxis are plentiful and all are metered. Room rate is 2600 pesos for a "deluxe" room.

Now the negatives, they advertise free wifi, but when I checked in found it's only available in the lobby, which is overlooked by a night club with the music blasting all evening. Furnishings are spartan, no refrigerator in room, nor is the an in room safe. Not even a fan. And since its Baguio, no aircon, windows do fully open (hoping there aren't any mosquitoes). And for a hotel that's only a year old according to the porter, the hall and room carpets are seriously stained.

Now for me here's the kicker, the beds are rock hard. I haven't yet determined what they used for a mattress, but when I laid down on it (of course after paying for the first night on check in) I could immediately fell my back begin to hurt.

Looks to me like the owners ran out of money when it came time to purchase the furnishings, fixtures and equipment.

I've already found an older hotel closer to the center of town and I'll be checking out in the morning.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms appear to be the view rooms, we were shown two rooms on the second floor, the eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Very new and impressive hotel with nice front desk staff. Unfortunately, the room cleaners were dishonest by not returning my wedding ring after I had left it in the toilet only realising it after check out.

The rooms in the basements have very thin walls. You can hear or communicate via the walls. Every morning, we were woken up by people talking along the corridor. Most unpleasant!

Room Tip: Do not choose the lowest rate rooms. Go for the mid range ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Algena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My family stayed here March 7-9 then again March 14- 17, 2012. I have the utmost admiration to the Staff from the guard to the receptionists. " They serve with a smile". Check in only took a few minutes ( I don't know about busy days ) There were only a few customers at the time. Room is average. A deluxe room has two full size beds ( I was assured 2 queens). Bare walls with only a chair and a flat screen TV. No air condition, but was assured that they will have it by next year when we come back. Bathroom is okay, continuous hot water service unlike other hotels where they run out of hot water towards late morning. Their breakfast buffet is excellent for 180.00 pesos ( $4.20 ), they serve garlic rice, pancakes, toast with PB and J. salted fish, corned beef, ham , sausage , pansit etc... They change menus every morning. Waiters readily bus your empty plates and readily replenish food. ( unlike breakfast at the Veniz Hotel where the seem to wait forever to replenish food )They give you 2 free buffets each day of stay. It is walking distance to SM, cathedral and to spa places. Taxis are abundant and their basement garage is very convenient to patrons/visitors and utilize the elevator to the rooms or the restaurants. Their coffee shop serve the best pastries, a little pricey but oh well, they serve coffee pressed one cup at a time. Their lobby is very spacious and decorated with modern furnishings.
I would definitely come back here if they install air conditions in the rooms and maintain their low rates)

Room Tip: The difference between a 2,600 pesos and a 2,900 pesos room is a verandah. The 2,100 pesos room is i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shemali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baguio hotels
2.3 km away
Ridgewood Hotel
Ridgewood Hotel
#19 of 50 in Baguio
96 reviews
1 km away
Prince Plaza Hotel
Prince Plaza Hotel
#37 of 50 in Baguio
33 reviews
0.8 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baguio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Veniz
Hotel Veniz
#12 of 50 in Baguio
391 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Supreme Convention Plaza
0.8 km away
Travelite Express Hotel
Travelite Express Hotel
#13 of 50 in Baguio
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citylight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citylight Hotel

Address: 245 Upper General Luna Road, Baguio, Luzon 2600, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Benguet Province > Baguio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Baguio
Price Range: ₹ 3,034 - ₹ 5,035 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citylight Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citylight Hotel is a reflection of Baguio's metropolitan and environmental resplendence, a fresh, modern hotel that features a clean, minimalist, geometric architectural design with a chic Zen interior perfect for setting the mood to ultimate relaxation. Located at the heart of the city, just a few steps from the Baguio Cathedral and session Road, Citylight Hotel offers one hundred rooms providing comfort to traveling guests, Citylight Hotel boasts of 2 elegant ballrooms, 2 corporate functions halls, and several business rooms. Guest will be pleased with free wi-fi access while enjoying the luscious cakes at the coffee shop. The Hotel also offers mouth-watering pasta and western delicacies in its restaurant. And the bar is the perfect place to cap your busy day with its hip music. So book your Baguio trip at Citylight Hotel today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Citylight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylight Hotel Baguio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing