We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
An excellent trip

We booked to spend ten days in the Amazon with Omar of Peru birding and then three days birding... read more

Reviewed 1 April 2019
steve110
,
UK
via mobile
Birding on Manu Road and others

We have party of ten to bird on this trip and Omar Diaz is the bird guide. We stayed on Wayqecha... read more

Reviewed 24 October 2017
Piming K
,
Overland Park, Kansas
Read all 18 reviews
  
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
10
4
1
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
10
4
1
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Our group of six just returned from a 16 day birding tour starting in Lima through Machu Picchu, Manu Road, cloud forest, Amazon and ending in Puerto Maldonado. What a fabulous adventure!!! Omar, our guide, was the best - friendly, patient, energetic and SO KNOWLEDGEABLE! He knows his birds and where to find them. Our schedule was intense, but worked out flawlessly. We had nice accommodations and great food. Logged in over 550 bird species. I would without hesitation recommend Omar and Peru Birding Tours to any birders. We had a great time and lots of fun. Peru is an amazingly beautiful and diverse country!

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank KathyLKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Our group of 6 went from the Pacific to Machu Picchu to the Amazon jungle. In all, we saw over 550 species of birds, 5 types of monkeys, a tapir, sloth, ant eater along with many other creatures. Omar was a wonderful guide and made sure that everyone had an opportunity to see everything. Make sure you bring your camera and plenty of insect repellent. I would highly recommend using this company if you are planning a trip to Peru and would like a guide.

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank 681nancyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

Based on excellent reviews for PBT's 19-day birding tour, we booked the same for May 2017. The entire trip was fantastic, covering a cross section from the dry west coast to the highlands, Andes, and Amazonia. Best of all, we saw more than 350 bird species, photographed 274 species, of which 213 were new to us!!! Top of the list were Andean Cock of the Rock, Horned Screamer, Hoatzin, countless hummers, trogons, and parrots galore. We also saw 13 species of mammals, including giant river otters, tayra, and 5 species of monkeys. Lodging and food were first-rate, even gourmet, which was surprising in remote lodges in Amazonia that could be reached only by boat. We were happy to see that PBT owner Omar Diaz limits the tour size to 6 people. Since 4 would-be participants on our tour canceled, my spouse and I ended up with a private tour! Omar led the first half of the trip, followed by Saulo Lima. Both guides were excellent and customized the tour for our photography interests, working hard to find the birds and maximize our chances of taking quality photographs. Omar handled all the logistics perfectly, including 2 plane flights, 2 train trips, 4 car/van drivers, and all the boat trips. Oops - almost forgot about the bus trips to and from Machu Picchu. The World Heritage site surpassed all our expectations.

Date of experience: May 2017
4  Thank slp3340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

We contacted Omar a few months ago to add on a two day birding trip to Santa Eulalia, after a group birding tour to Northern Peru. Omar emailed us two days before our scheduled trip date and informed us some landslides on the road due to heavy raining, he wouldn't be able to completed the tour as planned. But he still met us at Lima airport as scheduled, explained the situation, offered alternative plan. Although we declined his alternative plan and decided to head home early, we are deeply impressed by his professionalism and honesty. Knowing he is someone you can count on, we would not hesitate to schedule birding trip with Omar and Peru Birding Tours in Peru and other destinations in South America. Thank you Omar, we will see you next time.

Date of experience: February 2017
3  Thank TX1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2015

A group of 6 friends took the Machu Picchu Manu Road Classic--13 day tour in late September, 2015. It was fantastic. We were never disappointed. Everything was great. We were able to spot over 460 bird species in a variety of habitats--ocean, cloud forest, jungle, high Andres...we saw a number of endemics and Omar Diaz, our guide, made sure that we were able to see these incredible birds. The accommodations were very comfortable from a variety of remote mountain and rustic Amazonian lodges to three star hotels in the cities. The food was tasty and gave us an opportunity to taste Peruvian cuisine. The vans we traveled in were clean and safe and our drivers were always concerned with our safety. Omar is an excellent guide and is very patient and informative about the birding experience. He took extra efforts to make sure that all of us saw the birds that we were interested in seeing. He took to time to assure that all of our needs were met and that we were gaining the experience that we wanted. Omar was flexible with our tour and he arranged for tickets for us to climb Hauyna Picchu while at Machu Picchu. This was a exciting add on for us.

We all were very satisfied with our tour and I would heartily recommend Peru Birding Tours to anyone who is looking for a good tour. Being that this is a Peruvian company, the value for money spent is well worth going with this operator.

Date of experience: September 2015
3  Thank pioinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews