We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel except for the restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Andina Select Chiclayo
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Chiclayo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel in early February 2011. We had planned on only 2 nights but my husband came down with food poisoning after eating lunch in the formal dining room/restaurant. Two other people in our group had stomach issues after eating the same food dish as my husband. We ended up staying 3 additional nights in order for my husband to recover and then on our last night we had dinner in the bar/restaurant and both my husband and I had very upset stomachs from eating omelets cooked with bad oil. It would be advisable for the manager to investigate what is going on in the kitchens.

The rooms facing the front street are extremely noisy but the pool area is nice.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canadianbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 126 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2011

the hotel is old and quite run-down, the rooms are dusty, very niosy and the matresses havn't been changed in years. The bar/breakfast-room isn't particularely nice either - it's facing on main road with lots of traffic. The buffet just accaptable. They seened to have a ok pool, but it was closed for a hichschool event (ervy loud music) and a wedding reception (very loud music) so we "normal guests" couldn't use it. However, the location is in the middle town.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank berliners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

The Gran Hotel has pretensions commensurate with its name, but unfortunately it fails to live up to them. While certainly not a bad hotel, the facilities are aging poorly. The elevators are finicky and the hotel soundproofing is insufficient. The carpeting, curtains, television, safe, bathroom fixtures and furniture are all in dire need of replacement. The gymnasium equipment is laughably inadequate, and the swimming pool is suitable only for Carl , the greenskeeper from Caddyshack ("the pond'd be better for you, Carl). On the plus side, the service is top-notch and the food at the restaurants, including the buffet breakfast, is excellent. Also, the hotel wifi works adequately, although connection speeds are maddeningly slow (though sufficient for basic functions).

We have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the years, and it finally appears that the ownership's failure to re-invest in maintenance and upkeep has really taken the hotel down a notch. Not surprisingly, there are substantiated rumors that the Casa Andina group will be taking over hotel operations, and hopefully will make the necessary.

Two minor inconveniences during our last stay: there was a tremendously loud party by the pool one Saturday night, and management delayed for 2 hours in relocating us, then mistakenly woke us up a few hours later to ask for laundry. The hotel manager correctly comped us that nigh. Second, upon check-out, the cashier attempted to charge the VAT for food and lodging, even though foreigners are exempted. I had to display a copy of the relevant Peruvian tax code to get him to relent. That shouldn't happen, unless someone is trying to pocket that money.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonathanStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Dad a very enjoyable stay here. We had a problem with our luggage not arriving from Europe and the staff were both patient and very helpful. Good location although we were advised not to wander too far from the hotel. Good size room

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westcorktravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

I've stayed in all of the 3 and 4-star hotels in Chiclayo and the Gran Hotel is the best, followed closely in my opinion by the Gloria Plaza. The Gran Hotel comes out on top because they are more efficient, have a better restaurant and bar and the breakfast buffet has better and more varied food. They also offer free in-room wifi that works beautifully. Unlike the Gloria Plaza, the Gran Hotel's parking lot is on premises and secured by an armed guard. Neither's pool is all that appealing however. The rooms are fairly similar around Chiclayo in this category hotel, but the toilets and showers seem to work better in the Gran Hotel, and their central air is stronger than the other hotels' individual units, a plus for hot summer days.

Our family booked two rooms for a total of 7 nights each on this trip, and we would have stayed in the Gloria Plaza, but they refused to deal with us this year on the price. The Gran Hotel gave us a discount and got our business. If the Gloria Plaza were significantly cheaper, we'd stay there, because it is also a fine hotel, but the Gran Hotel is just that little bit better, and with their willingness to negotiate on the price for our extended stay, they were a good choice for our family trip.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonathanStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiclayo hotels
1.1 km away
WinMeier Hotel y Casino
WinMeier Hotel y Casino
#2 of 39 in Chiclayo
300 reviews
0.9 km away
Wyndham Costa del Sol Chiclayo
1.2 km away
LP Los Portales Hotel Chiclayo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Solec
Hotel Solec
#10 of 39 in Chiclayo
55 reviews
0.5 km away
Intiotel Chiclayo
Intiotel Chiclayo
#4 of 39 in Chiclayo
201 reviews
0.7 km away
Sunec Hotel
Sunec Hotel
#6 of 39 in Chiclayo
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Andina Select Chiclayo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Select Chiclayo

Address: Av. Federico Villarreal 115 | Chiclayo, Chiclayo 14000, Peru
Region: Peru > Lambayeque Region > Chiclayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chiclayo
#1 Business Hotel in Chiclayo
Price Range: ₹ 3,834 - ₹ 6,239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Andina Select Chiclayo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Andina Select Chiclayo is an iconic structure of the city that offers its visitors an excellent location, just minutes from downtown and the airport. Casa Andina Select Chiclayo offers visitors a modern and functional hotel, with spacious common areas, terrace, pool and event areas.The hotel offers its visitors a modern and functional , designed for the business traveler. It features 130 rooms, 100% non-smokers, distributed in 7 floors, plus meeting rooms and a terrace. Internet center, WiFi internet service, ATM, parking and valet parking are just some of the services that we offer our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Andina Select Chiclayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiclayo Gran Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing