We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Overall, a great experience in a beautiful country” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Farallon
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overall, a great experience in a beautiful country”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Positives:

-Better than most beach resorts that we have visited in the tropics.
-The resort offers a very nice beach (some say the best in Panama), a great location, well kept grounds, and excellent service from the restaurant and bar staff.
-Amazing weather in February, with one day much like the next. Not drop of rain with lots of sun.
-The resort felt safe and we had no problems.
-Great opportunity to interact with Spanish speaking people from Central and South America.
-Friendly local people, especially if one can speak Spanish with them.

Negatives:

-The security box in our villa was a joke. It was loose on the wall, barely held there by a few loose washers and nuts. I could have pulled it off the wall and walked away with the box and contents. We complained about this twice, but even after a week it had not been properly repaired.
-Expensive internet ($15 a day for WiFi). In comparison, most hotels offer free internet access for those that bring their own computers. A money grab at the Decameron.
-I had no idea that we had that many overweight and out of shape Canadians (both male and female) in Canada. Most definitely looked better fully clothed than in their swim suits.
-Many of the Canadians roamed in packs with their friends that they had come down with and had little to do with those around them. Some seemed to think that they had a right to be loud, drunk, rude, and obnoxious - the stereotypical arrogant tourists in a foreign country. At times, we were embarrassed to be Canadians. To be fair, we also met very nice Canadians who were a credit to Canada.
-The tour company could adjust a few policies. Why do they charge extra to select seats on the airplane? Didn't we already pay for seats? Also, the main rep at the resort didn't seem to take much interest in his company's customers; maybe it was a cultural east-west Canada problem. Yet, thank you to the tour company for making it easy for Canadians to travel to Panama.
-Poor quality sit-on kayaks with not many options for paddling. One has to paddle within a relatively small roped off area in front of the beach - I guess that is so that they don't lose the tourists.

Fortunately, the positives far outweighed the negatives. We loved the resort and the country and well may go back again. Many of the tourists that we met at the resort were repeat customers. Most seemed to love the place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank d d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    1,533
    944
    360
    244
See reviews for
1,154
1,575
90
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We decided to try a different country where we could enjoy a culture and play golf. We found this hotel that offered golf and meal inclusive, plus 8 a la carte restaurants. We really enjoyed the experience and loved the nature, culture and friendly people of Panama. The check into resort took 5 minutes if that. They mastered this procedure like no other country we visited before. We stayed at a villa on the golf course and i looked forward to waking up and going into villa's back yard every morning. What a great start of the day! The food selection was decent, beach and the resort is huge, shuttle bus connection is excellent! And the staff will teach you speak Spanish too. How perfect. Take a tour to Panama City and Canal, you will be amazed by the history of this amazing country.
We visited the Woody’s sea food restaurant nearby, that is owned by a Canadian citizen, but didn't really care for the food and service: portions were small, overpriced ( $30 for two little lobsters and a few French fries). We had to wait 45 minutes for our order, didn't get salads as a part of the order and had them after an additional request, the lobsters were not tasty at all. Eat lobsters in Canada: it will be cheaper, testier and better bargain for your money. Other than that, I would recommend this resort to any of my friends.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the beach, we got a villa on a golf course and it was the last one, but we really l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ladislav25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, SK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed at the Royal Decameron from Feb 6-13, 2012. After a seven hour flight, we arrived in Panama at 4:30 pm. It took us 1-1/2 hours before we were on the bus to the resort. The pilot told us the wrong carousel to get our luggage from. We finally left the airport at 6 pm. The bus ride was 3-1/2 hours long and we were told that there would be no stops. Thankfully an elderly lady asked to stop to go to the bathroom after about 2 hours. It was bumper to bumper traffic for the first two hours, move ahead three feet, stop, move ahead three feet, stop. It may have been the time of day that we arrived, I am not sure. We arrived at the resort at 9:30 pm. There was a table set up for passengers to get their room keys and then we were sent off in the dark to find our room. We were told that we had to go to the Panamei restaurant to eat before 10:30 (closing time) and everyone was starving. We ate and then went to the reception to get a safe key and mini fridge. We did not receive the fridge until the next day and they just set it outside of our room.

Room: Our room was in building 31main floor. It was ocean front with two double beds and a cot all lined up against one wall. (There were two of us) All the beds were like a banana. We went to the reception the night we arrived and asked for a different room with a king bed that we had asked for when we booked the trip. They said to talk to our Nolitour rep in the morning. We did and were told later that day that we would get a different room on thursday. The second room was in building 30 on the third floor and it did have a king sized bed, but the frame was broken, We tried to fix it so that it didn't bang everytime you rolled over in bed, but the frame was bent and had the bolts missing.The air conditioning was not working and after calling 3 times, someone finally came, three hours later. Both rooms had adjoining doors, and you could see into the room next to yours and the door might as well have been open, because our neighbors had thier TV blaring at 6 am. There are no facecloths in the bathrooms and only one hand towel. The room was clean enough in the second room we were in, but in the first one, the maid didn't even take away the empty water bottles. Oh, and we did leave them a tip every day.

FOOD: We did not care for most of the food. You can only live on buns and watermelon for so many days. The buffets were very repetative. The beef was tough like leather. We usually ended up going to both buffets, to see if we could get enough to eat between the two. It was only on the last day that we found out that the Panamei and Mogo Mogo are also open to anyone for lunch, and thier food was much better. We went to 3 AlaCartes- The LaPesca-catch of the day was terrible. We ended up going to the buffet afterwards and about 7 other couples were doing the same. We had a good laugh about this. The Kontiki was good and also the El Canal had tasty food.

DRINKS: The bartenders were very friendly and fast. They could make pretty much anything you wanted. Most of the drinks were quite strong with very little mix, but what to heck, you're on vacation right.

POOLS: All seemed very clean and not crowded. Loud music blasting all day long.

GROUNDS: Kept up very well and lots of nice flowers and trees. Lots of maintenence workers working all day long. Some iguanas on the grounds and of course the famous peacock.

SECURITY: Yes, there is a security person everywhere you look. I guess maybe that is a good thing. There was no trouble or rowdiness going on. There was security at the back of each split building and one at the front.

ENTERTAINMENT: It was good, but got a little repetative after a few days. They often involved the audience and it was funny. The dancers are great and each night was a different theme.

GETTING AROUND: Lots of walking, stairs and steep hills to climb. In 36-38 degree heat, it is alot of work. Shuttles are few and far between. We never did use one, even though we would have like to at times. It is annoying that you have to move off of the sidewalks to let the vans, trucks, golf carts etc go past every few minutes.

LOBBIES: Are all at the top of the hill. Staff are not very friendly. There are absolutely NO clocks in the resort anywhere. And yet, to do anything, you need to be there at a certain time.

TOURS: We went on the Patial Canal Transit. It was very nice and informative. A must do. It was $120 per person through the Decameron Tours. The meal we had on the vessel was better than any we had had at the resort. Bus ride from the resort to the harbour was about 2 hours each way. Left at 7 am and arrived back at the resort at 5:30. It was well worth the money to see.
We also went in to Penonome by local transit? It was a Toyota Privia van and there were 19 people in it! There were lots of stores there and good bargains. Worth the trip in. One thing we found very annoying was that a store worker walked 2 feet behind you and followed you all around the store that close, in every store we went in. We don't know if it was because we had a backpack (with water, camera etc in it) Did they not trust us, or were they trying to help????? Not sure, but made you feel like they thought you were a thief or something???

BEACH: Nice, not crowded, not dirty except for when you got down close to Woody's, there was garbage all over. Went to Woody's for a beer. Didn't find it anything special. There are some peddlers set up down towards Woody's bar. Prices are cheap for thier goods.

CASINO: We did go in and just check it out. I put in a dollar and got $25, but had to wait about a half hour for them to come and pay me because the machines only pay out up to $20. Otherwise, just like any other casino.

GOLF: We did not check out the golf course. If we could have gotten a ride over there we would have liked to see it.

WEATHER: Hot and humid. Take sunscreen over 30!

COMING HOME: We had to have our bags outside on the main floor by 10 am, bus picked us up at 12:30 to go to the airport. It was only a two hour ride going back. Our flight was at 6 pm. Looked in a few duty free shops. There are lots of them. Food at the terminal is like all airports....overpriced!
Would we go back to this resort? DEFINITELY NOT. Not worth the money we spent for what we got. We do realize that everyone has different tastes and opinions. This is just ours..

Room Tip: Get ocean front and on the third floor for a better view. Closer to pools, buffets etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Greycupchampfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Farallon hotels

Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

My sister and I just returned from the Royal Decameron in Panama. Honestly, I think some people just like to complain! My sister and I had the time of our lives! It really is what you make it! It is true, the resort is built on a hill, but obviously you knew that going into it. I found that walking up and down the hill everyday made for great excersie! There is shuttle services for those who are not into walking. If you like HOT then you have come to the right place!
Be prepared for a long bus ride to the Resort. We made it in 2 1/2 hours but with the road construction in some area's some buses took 4 hours. So just be aware. Once you are there it is so totally worth it! Also a "NEW" airport is being built just 5 minutes from the Royal Decameron and is suppose to be done in 14 months! That will be awesome! You will be able to fly right to the Resort! Checking in went smooth and was great! We were greeted with a cold refreshing drinks! Were given our keys and were told our luggage would arrive at our room shortly! In the mean time, we were given a ticket to go to the Pacifico Restaurant to have a meal as we got in late! I must say the food is better than any of the other trips I have taken including Mexico and Dominican. There are 3 buffets to choose from and several La a Cartes to book. Please remember to book your La a Cartes immediately so you have choices before they book up! They book up fast! Also, there is a information session the next day or that afternoon depending on when you arrive. Please go to this as it is not a time share and they have great information to share regarding the Resort, your Agency Rep and who to go to if you have a problem of any kind, and Your Tours Operator who can tell you all about what to see and do while your there! It was a tremendous help to my sister and I! We booked all our tours, and La a Cartes and were set to begin our adventure! Our room was nothing to write home about. It was out dated, and when we first walked in it had a little musty smell that disappeared right away! It was clean and the beds were comfortable, we had a fair sized bathroom with a huge shower that was clean, and the air conditioning worked great! They do not supply face cloths so you may want to bring your own. Also, there are no mini fridges in the rooms. They are available for a cost. Same if you want a safe. You will be happy to know that you can drink the water there! YAYYY! The water and ice is safe! Not like Mexico or the Dominican! Our thought was: " We are not going to be spending all our time in the room, other than to sleep dress, ans shower!" All the staff went above and beyond to help us with any request we had! A nice tip goes a long way and they appreciated every penny! We spend a week at this Resort and if I was to do it all over again I would have booked for 14 days! My only complaint is that it wasn't long enough! Feel free to contact me with any questions you may have and I will try and answer them for you! gneill@shaw.ca

Room Tip: If you have Mobility problems it is best to book a Beach Front Room. Make sure to tell them you cann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Gina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
334 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

1. Costs $322/night 2 persons. $5/day for safe, can rent refrig. $15 deposit for another key but need to go to another area than lobby 3 to get. I rather liked the all inclusive including beverages as all nonalcholic drinks in panama are $3 without refills.
2. Ask which lobby you should check into 1,2 or 3 if not coming with tour. Check in at 3PM but check out at 1PM including lunch that day.
3. Room location. Lobby 1 beach area is where all the action is. Games, amphitheater, water sports equipment, scuba diving introductory lesson and slightly deeper pool is (non are over a woman’s shoulders) . It is also where all the kids and noise and people are. Lobby one area is furthest from the buffets. . Vans will take you anyplace but you call and then wait- no "bus" line to get on and off of.
4. Room locations:
Up, up , up on the hilltops are the lobbies, adult only pool and some rooms. I think they all have an ocean view.
Beachside are next to the beach, most of the pools, buffets and sit down restaurants.
5. Only rooms and gift shops air-conditioned. No elevators.
6. Rooms clean, beds comfortable. No Taco beds (middle of bed sagging), airconditioning worked, large bathroom and all very clean. We reserved a king room and got 2Q and a day bed. Connecting rooms are noisy even with towel under door to block.
7. Beach and pools. Look at tide times before you come. Out going (between high and low trides times) have rip tides so look at beach flag on life guard station- if red stay out of water. In coming tide between low tide and high tide ok to swim- flag yellow. Pacific water warmer than pools. Most pools just above waist deep. Some so shallow can put lounge chair into and sit. Lots of lounge chairs and beack cabanas. Beach towels- get a chit- pick up towel and exchange for a new towel then get a chit when you leave or pay $20/towel. Note for those used to seeing the sun set over the Pacific- it rises over the Pacific ocean here.
8. Extras: extra key $15 deposit- not available in all lobbies, refrigerator and safe $3/day- yes get that!
9. Food all the time Bkfast 6:30 to 10:30. Lunch til 2:30 Snacks (wieners, nachos, Hamburgers, fish and chips etc 12:30 to 4:30, dinner then snack 11-2Am.
10. activities: Aerobic classes, scuba diving introduction and pool games. No Tai chi or Spanish classes as in brochures. Didn't see people taking advantage of windsurfing, paddle boating, kayaking. Saw a few parasailing. Small local horses available. Read they came with Columbus and have an unusual gait.We didn't go to any of the kids shows at 8 or adults at 9:45PM nor to the casino so can't comment. Neither did we disco nor go to the 12:30 to 4PM or 11-2Am snacks. Can’t comment on the alcoholic beverages either.
11.Gift shop sells post cards and international postage stamps!!
12.Specialty restaurants: many people here for 2 weeks and they liked them all. We had a different experience. We ate at Club Med. Or tried to - food not good- my shellfish bitter (not because lime or BBQ), steak was cubed steak and tenderized but too tough so got chewed then spit out. Hummus and pita bread and appetizers good. So we ended up going to the buffet afterword’s.
These large buffets always have something to like. And there are 2 buffets each with a different theme each night. So Atlantico may have Hawaiian and Pacifico Mexican theme. The next night 2 new themes.
13.Can only make reservations for sit down dinners at certain times. I was told be there at 7AM or not expect to get what you want. Can reserve 3 nights after your first night there(so can't reserve until you show up), then on a day by day basis. 6:15, 8PM and 9:30 Pm seatings.
14.I think there is more personnel than guests. High security but unobtrusive. Everyone friendly but some Spanish goes a long way here.We had some trouble understandling how the safe worked. You insert the cylinder lock and turn the key then to open then turn the key to the left then with one hand on the door, pull the lock out. I asked a houskeeping supervisor (making his rounds) to help. He dropped every thing and didn't get it either then called a maintainance man and he was there in 5 minutes to demonstrate- very nice and helpful.
15.Note: A long way to Gamboa for the Monkey Island tour and Embrera Indian village- 2 hrs to Panama City then 45 min to Gamba. Then back again. If you want to see these stay at Gamboa and see these. The Valle De Anton about 30-45 minutes away and very different than the beach area or the Rain forest. I would only go on a Sunday when the local market there.
16 I liked teh Decameron. 3 nights was not quite enough.
(3 nights Gamboa Rainforest, 2 days in Panama city- one going thru the canal and 3 nights at Decameron).
Note: airport being built just outside the Decameron- near teh golf course for all the beaches area- So in the future peace and quiet of the beach may be interrupted with a plane flight path- landing and taking off.

Room Tip: Beach front is great and buffets, restaurants and pools on this level. Rooms around lobby one will b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank DebbyLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farallon
7.9 km away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
2.8 km away
Hotel Riu Playa Blanca
2.4 km away
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort
1.1 km away
La Casita del Farallon
La Casita del Farallon
#2 of 5 in Farallon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.4 km away
Casa Guardia Panama
Casa Guardia Panama
#3 of 5 in Farallon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino

Property: Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino
Address: Avenida principal Farallon, Km.115, Farallon, Rio Hato, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Cocle Province > Rio Hato > Farallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Farallon
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,355 - ₹ 25,728
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 1170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Decameron Golf, Beach Resort & Villas Panama is an all inclusive hotel located about 2 kilometers of white sandy beach in Farallon, Panama. The hotel is located on the Pacific coast, close to many tourist attractions. Also, the city of Panama and the Tocumen International Airport (PTY) are located 120 miles away. The Royal Decameron in Panama hotel offers 852 guestrooms in low-rise buildings and 370 rooms Villas. Each room is equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV, closet, safe (local charge), direct dial telephone (with deposit cash at the reception) and a private bathroom with shower and hair dryer. Also have a minibar as part of the all inclusive plan and the villas are located on the golf course. Royal Decameron Golf, Beach Resort & Villas Panama offers eight pools for adults three wading pools, three hot tubs, a casino, a golf course with 18 holes and a full spa. This beach hotel also offers a variety of organized activities on land and water for the whole family, and two convention centers for business travelers. The Royal Decameron Golf, Beach Resort has 11 bars, a nightclub and 10 restaurants ranging from traditional to the more exotic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf Hotel Farallon
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf And Casino
Royal Decameron Beach Resort Panama
Royal Decameron Beach Hotel
Royal Decameron Panama
Hotel Royal Decameron Beach
Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Hotel
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino Panama/Farallon
Royal Decameron Resort Panama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing