We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Administration Problem...”
Review of Melia Panama Canal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Panama Canal
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Colon
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Best choice ever. I'd been to Colón with my girlfriend just for a night and we love that place. Nice breakfast, nice swimming pool, nice sight... Unfortunately, Colón city doesn't have a good structure to receive tourists. In my opinion, this hotel is the best choice around.
The ONLY PROBLEM I had was when I received my credit card bill. They WERE SUPPOSED TO RECHARGE U$ 128,60 INSTEAD OF U$ 200,00 FROM MY CREDIT CARD. I ATTACHED THE PROOF OF SALE in an e-mail and I`M STILL LOOKING FORWARD TO AN ANSWER. SINCE JULY, 2011!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank italobarbosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 156 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

I recently stayed here while touring the area. It is located on a lake and surrounded by lush vegetation. The grounds are beautiful and quiet . Service was slow checking in but no real problems. The room was spacious and clean and very attractive with painted tiles decorating the floor. The mattress was old and lumpy as were the pillows. The bathroom was also spacious. The shower was a combo shower-tub. It was hard getting in and out of the tub because the tub was placed deeper than usual. The breakfast buffet had a lot of choices and was good. There is a dinner buffet nightly but I was not hungry enough for that much food so decided to order off the menu. The waitress acted like that was not the norm and it took forever for the food to be served and it took forever to get the check.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side have a view of the beautiful lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maptrotter62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We got in at 5.30 pm and nobody seems to see us. Staff at the front desk were very busy doing nothing, had no attention to us. No one to help us with luggage.
Rooms are old fashioned. Fridge does not work, ice melting with a lot of water on the floor. Curtain dirty etc. etc
Staff asked to repair or change the fridge promised to come but did not. Big lights outside the hotel resulting in a very light room. We could read a book behind the curtain.
We like to drink a good glass of wine: the bar was serving just one sort (the cheapest they could find)
The buffet was not quality food for a high price.
We decided to leave next day.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cees706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The setting is beautiful. The condo we stayed in was very nice & the bed, great. It's good to have a kitchen if you are here. And, it would be a difficult stay if you had no car and no Spanish. For many people, it might be wiser to stay in Panama City and just do excursions up to Colon. This hotel looked like the nicest in the area, but it's not far to Panama City, and the complaints of other reviewers on this sight are understandable. They had a chronic towel problem when we were there, too, and I observed long queues at reception, though we were able to avoid them ourselves. BTW, the road signage in Panama is woefully inadequate...and even the GPS was hard to use if you didn't already know the area and the exact names the GPS would recognize. We had a relaxed attitude about where to go/what to do and enough Spanish to get by so it was a fine stay.

Room Tip: It's good to have a kitchen if you have a car and are staying more than one night. The restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nycger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Great place to stay and a very nice restaurant. Really enjoyed dancing to the band in the lounge after dinner. Be sure to walk the grounds, we saw a sloth up in one of the trees by the boat dock.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OakHillsFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colon
5.5 km away
Radisson Colon 2000 Hotel & Casino
6.1 km away
Hotel Andros
Hotel Andros
#4 of 9 in Colon
13 reviews
35.5 km away
El Otro Lado
El Otro Lado
#1 of 1 in Portobelo
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.1 km away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#27 of 115 in Panama City
947 reviews
10.9 km away
Marina Hotel at Shelter Bay
Marina Hotel at Shelter Bay
#1 of 1 in Fort Sherman
61 reviews
28.9 km away
Gamboa Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Panama Canal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Panama Canal

Address: | Residencial El Espinar, Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Colon Province > Colon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Colon
Price Range: ₹ 3,583 - ₹ 5,929 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Panama Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lake Gatún surrounded by lush, tropical vegetation, in the city of Colón (Panama), and a short distance from the Free Trade Zone, the Gatún locks, la Granja, the ruins of San Lorenzo and the beaches, the Meliá Panamá Canal is the best option for discovering Panamá, thanks to its beautiful natural surroundings, its comfortable and complete facilities and the quality of its services. The Meliá Panamá Canal is the perfect setting for living exciting adventure tours, ecotourism, bike rides, canopy and eco walks and hiking so you can admire the exquisite flora and fauna of this unique and idyllic corner of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia Hotels APAC, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Panama Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Panama Canal Hotel Colon
Melia Hotel Panama Canal
Melia Hotel Colon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing