We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Arggg !!!”

La Estrella de Bocas
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bocas del Toro Province
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Estrella de Bocas
Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Arggg !!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

My stay at the La Estrella de Boca was a nightmare. I wasn't expecting a Castle but I think there are some minimal and basic cleanness standards that needs to be followed. The sheets were not clean and the room has an awful smell. We left after one night even if they didn't want to reimburse the remaining nights.

By the way, don't expect any improvement there...they didn't even care that we left the place...they had our money and that is all that matter to them...

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGreatOggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    0
    2
    2
    7
See reviews for
1
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2008

I don't know what happened to the other reviewers who booked online. We arrived at Bocas without any reservation and fortunately, we found a room at this hotel for $45 per night. The guy at the reception was very nice and helpful. The room was clean but not outstanding. We knew that Bocas del Toro is a town with a "Water supply problem" and as expected, we experienced water shortage. But the problem was quickly resolved by the reception desk. The good thing about this hotel is the perfect location: in front of an ATM, a police station and the water taxis deck. Many restaurants and bars are in the same street and however, you can spend a very resting night.

  • Liked — The guy at the reception desk and the very convenient location of the hotel.
  • Disliked — At $45 per night, the price might be a little high for the value. If you can negociate a better deal, you will be better off.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchOceanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xxx
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2008

... not even "just OK"! Definetly NOT worth the money at all!

It looks quite nice from the website, but it is not nice at all. There is no service, it is not clean, the rooms - especially the sheets - were not even clean upon arrival, the maintenance is bad and it is simply falling apart! The front desk does not forward messages and the manager and his attitude is very shady...

I highly recommend not to stay here, since there are many nicer places around!

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pacha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bocas del Toro Province hotels

Houston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2008

This is a small individually owned and operated hotel. the room we got was billed as an apartment with two big beds in a private room and a single in another. there was a small fridge and kitchenette. The decor was drab, and the bathroom was functional but ugly. For the money (70 USD plus tax) It might b e ok. The beds were basic. If you want budget travel and will share costs then this place is ok. The AC worked. On this Island you don't need a five star place. The life is outside the lodging. The price was ok given other places I checked out. It is ok nothing more. Location is perfect.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank jpaffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2007

I stayed ther efor almost a week on February 2004. Good location, not too clean and very noisy AC, but everything else was full. OK for the price.

  • Liked — location and kitchenette
  • Disliked — noisy AC
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank costaricatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bocas del Toro Province hotels
0.0 km away
Bocas Ridge Hotel
Bocas Ridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Almirante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Caribbean View
Hotel Caribbean View
#2 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#1 of 2 in Carenero Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.0 km away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Estrella de Bocas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Estrella de Bocas

Property: La Estrella de Bocas
Address: 1st Street, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in Bocas del Toro Province
Number of rooms: 213

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing