We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Absolutely Unique!

A group of four of us visited this chocolate farm. We are from Washington state and Colorado. We... read more

Reviewed yesterday
HeidiT88
,
Steilacoom, Washington
via mobile
Perfect experience and absolutely fascinating

We visited this farm based on a recommendation of another couple staying at Azul and it exceeded... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
AmberGemini
,
Salt Lake City, Utah
via mobile
Read all 251 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Bocas del Toro Province
from US$ 110.00
More Info
from US$ 63.00
More Info
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveller rating
239
10
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
10
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his wife chocolate rum howler monkeys flora and fauna dolphin bay great tour the owner jungle tour informative tour cacao nibs dart frogs beautiful property boat ride bread water taxi from start to finish bocas area
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 251 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We went to Green Acres on a tip from the bed and breakfast we stayed at (Sand Dollar Beach B&B). On this excursion to the chocolate farm we took a lovely boat ride from Bocas Town to Dolphin Bay which is where the farm is located. We were greeted at the dock by Robert who owns Green Acres with his wife, Julie. Our 13-year old son and 16-year old daughter loved this tour so much. We learned so much about bugs, foliage and the trees, and most of all, chocolate. The owners are so passionate about their craft - it honestly felt like their first tour ever they gave us so much attention and were so enthusiastic. The property is absolutely breathtaking and the way REAL chocolate is made will blow your mind. I encourage anyone heading to the Bocas del Toro islands to include this tour in your stay.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank COLORADOFAMILY33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenAcresChocolate, Manager at Green Acres Chocolate Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Coloradofamily33, We love families to come out to Green Acres. It is such a great learning experience for the kids and everyone in the family finds something to be fascinated about. Thank you so much for all the encouragement and kind words. Writing this review is most helpful to others. Thank you and may your family be talking about the tour for many years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

It’s just paradise you will encounter all in ONE. It’s not only the outstanding place it’s Robert & Julie it’s the way of passion they explain chocolate and some more beauties of nature. Go and make your day outstanding.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank tcfh1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenAcresChocolate, Manager at Green Acres Chocolate Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

tcfh1414....Wow! Thank you for the beautiful words. It truly is a Paradise and to get to share this with others is
The ultimate in life. I agree, everyone should join us for a tour and enjoy what is right here and waiting! Thanks for the
review and we are pleased you had an awesome experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Robert and Julie's property is stunning and they are lovely, knowledgeable hosts! We appreciated being able to buy products directly from the farm and supporting the local community. Although we couldn't stay in paradise forever (sigh), I learned a lot of useful information about the health benefits of incorporating new food items into my diet back at home. Our water taxi captain wasn't familiar with their location at first but a quick call to Robert for the "local" directions and we got there without a problem. We're so glad we did and you should, too!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank pdxline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenAcresChocolate, Manager at Green Acres Chocolate Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

pdxline, We are quite pleased you made it out just fine and enjoyed the tour. We do try to provide a good learning experience
about chocolate in a fun atmosphere. Glad you enjoyed it and recommend the tour to others. We appreciate you taking the time to write and share your experience by writing a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Robert and his wife were very knowledgeable and entertaining! The property is gorgeous and it was interesting to learn about the process of making chocolate!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Kristin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenAcresChocolate, Manager at Green Acres Chocolate Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Kristin W, Thank you Kristin W for letting others know you were entertained and learned quite a bit about the chocolate process, all the while, surrounded by beauty. Sounds awesome to me as well!! Thank you and enjoy the memories. We are happy you joined us for a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Our tour was scheduled for the afternoon and unfortunately it was raining and none of us were pleased with having driving rain hitting us in the face on our boat ride over from Popa Island. Despite our mood, the owner was waiting for us on his dock, eager to please and get started. Robert did not let our late arrival interfere with his effort.
As others have said, he gives you a tour of the farm, explains insects and animals sin the area and points out various trees and plants on the property. We ate termites, saw dart frogs, scorpions and heard howler monkey's. The chocolate making process was interesting and we also liked hearing about all the work that goes into it and why not all chocolate is not real chocolate. Great tour and Robert knows not only about chocolate but all about the area in general. On the way back it stopped raining and we saw dolphins who were surfing off the boat wake!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank panther61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenAcresChocolate, Manager at Green Acres Chocolate Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Panther61, thank you for taking time to write about your experience. Robert is such a pro with all the guest....you are correct, if it is pouring rain or a group arrives late, he does'nt miss a beat and gives the same enthusiastic tour from start to finish. By the time the tour is coming to an end, many times, the sun comes out and everyone has had an awesome time. We are pleased you had such a great time here, the rain let up...and a bonus of dolphins on the ride back! Go great! This is what memorable vacations are made of!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews