We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great tour”

Green Acres Chocolate Farm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: RESERVATIONS REQUIRED MOST DAYs WE OFFER A 10am tour and a 2pm tour.. Learn how chocolate is made and take a leisurely stroll along our beautiful tropical garden trail on our 3 hour eco-tour, which introduces you to lush tropical rain forest full of wildlife, beautifully maintained botanical gardens and a vast cacao (chocolate) plantation. Learn how chocolate is grown, harvested, dried and turned into something yummy! Since we are located in Dolphin Bay, many of our guests see dolphins as they arrive or depart the Bay.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

During the tour we learned a lot about cocoa, the farm and the nature around. I can absolutly recommend the tour.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenAcresChocolate, Manager at Green Acres Chocolate Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

PatrickD, Thank you for recommending the tour to others. That is mostly what people want to know. Thanks for giving Green Acres a thumbs up. !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"his wife"
in 21 reviews
"howler monkeys"
in 14 reviews
"chocolate products"
in 13 reviews
"flora and fauna"
in 15 reviews
"dolphin bay"
in 26 reviews
"the owner"
in 25 reviews
"informative tour"
in 11 reviews
"great tour"
in 17 reviews
"dart frogs"
in 9 reviews
"cacao nibs"
in 8 reviews
"beautiful property"
in 8 reviews
"boat ride"
in 14 reviews
"bread"
in 6 reviews
"from start to finish"
in 5 reviews
"walking tour"
in 5 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 5 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 5 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to Green Acres on a tip from the bed and breakfast we stayed at (Sand Dollar Beach B&B). On this excursion to the chocolate farm we took a lovely boat ride from Bocas Town to Dolphin Bay which is where the farm is located. We were greeted at the dock by Robert who owns Green Acres with his wife, Julie. Our 13-year old son and 16-year old daughter loved this tour so much. We learned so much about bugs, foliage and the trees, and most of all, chocolate. The owners are so passionate about their craft - it honestly felt like their first tour ever they gave us so much attention and were so enthusiastic. The property is absolutely breathtaking and the way REAL chocolate is made will blow your mind. I encourage anyone heading to the Bocas del Toro islands to include this tour in your stay.

Thank COLORADOFAMILY33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenAcresChocolate, Manager at Green Acres Chocolate Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Coloradofamily33, We love families to come out to Green Acres. It is such a great learning experience for the kids and everyone in the family finds something to be fascinated about. Thank you so much for all the encouragement and kind words. Writing this review is most helpful to others. Thank you and may your family be talking about the tour for many years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It’s just paradise you will encounter all in ONE. It’s not only the outstanding place it’s Robert & Julie it’s the way of passion they explain chocolate and some more beauties of nature. Go and make your day outstanding.

Thank tcfh1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenAcresChocolate, Manager at Green Acres Chocolate Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

tcfh1414....Wow! Thank you for the beautiful words. It truly is a Paradise and to get to share this with others is
The ultimate in life. I agree, everyone should join us for a tour and enjoy what is right here and waiting! Thanks for the
review and we are pleased you had an awesome experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Robert and Julie's property is stunning and they are lovely, knowledgeable hosts! We appreciated being able to buy products directly from the farm and supporting the local community. Although we couldn't stay in paradise forever (sigh), I learned a lot of useful information about the health benefits of incorporating new food items into my diet back at home. Our water taxi captain wasn't familiar with their location at first but a quick call to Robert for the "local" directions and we got there without a problem. We're so glad we did and you should, too!

Thank pdxline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenAcresChocolate, Manager at Green Acres Chocolate Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

pdxline, We are quite pleased you made it out just fine and enjoyed the tour. We do try to provide a good learning experience
about chocolate in a fun atmosphere. Glad you enjoyed it and recommend the tour to others. We appreciate you taking the time to write and share your experience by writing a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Robert and his wife were very knowledgeable and entertaining! The property is gorgeous and it was interesting to learn about the process of making chocolate!

Thank Kristin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenAcresChocolate, Manager at Green Acres Chocolate Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kristin W, Thank you Kristin W for letting others know you were entertained and learned quite a bit about the chocolate process, all the while, surrounded by beauty. Sounds awesome to me as well!! Thank you and enjoy the memories. We are happy you joined us for a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Acres Chocolate Farm also viewed

Urraca, Bocas del Toro Province
Isla Bastimentos, Bocas del Toro Province
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 

Been to Green Acres Chocolate Farm? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing