We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family adventure in Panama - thank you Jim”

Boquete Outdoor Adventures
Ranked #1 of 45 things to do in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Boquete Outdoor Adventures is Panama's premier provider of amazing whitewater rafting trips, as well as cloud forest hiking, island trips with snorkeling and sea kayaking, coffee tours, zip lining, whitewater kayaking, bird watching, humpback whale watching, horseback riding, and hiking or 4x4 Jeep tours of Volcan Baru. Located in the gorgeous mountains and slopes of Volcan Baru, Boquete is an eco-traveler's paradise. We provide the most experienced guides and amazing travel packaged experiences all over Panama. Please contact us as we would love to arrange all of your Panama Vacation details.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Family adventure in Panama - thank you Jim”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Jim runs the Class A show. He cares about you, the client, Panama, the environment and fun. He has connections everywhere that ensure a great trip. Jim personally jumps on things right away to make sure everything is optimized. And hey, he's a great guy who is fun to be with.

We traveled with 9; four adults and five kids. We had some sickness in the kids and Jim was very empathetic in running our events around all the changes.

Thanks Jim. Can't wait to return

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Blair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBOA, Owner at Boquete Outdoor Adventures, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Blair,

Como estas! It was great spending time with you all and your families, thru sickness and in health! IWe hope to see you all again soon!. Tell everyone hello and safe travels.

TEAM BOA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    621
    81
    18
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
albany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great challenging climb!”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Went on a 4 hour climb early morning with our two young kids (7, 10). The climb was very challenging but we loved it. Would not recommend it if you are not in good shape or if your kids are afraid of heights or getting dirty. There are easier climbs to do but we wanted the challenge and wanted to see all of the waterfalls. Afternoon was spent on a horseback ride up to the mountains, beautiful views. Guide was amazing. The lunch was only average so make sure you bring along some extra snacks and lots of water. The altitude makes you dehydrate easily.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank melinda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Villa, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“White water raft while you can”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The folks at Boquete Outdoor Adventures immediately made us feel comfortable as soon as we walked in the door. I ruptured 3 discs in my back several years ago so I had concerns about white water rafting for the first time. They easily put my nerves to rest and were sure to tell our boat guide, Freddie, several times along the trip of my condition. He did an excellent job of keeping us to the calmer side whenever possible. The highest level we reached was a 3 at the time we went.

We pulled up to the side of the river for lunch which the guides put together. It included sandwiches, fruit, cookies, juice and water. A nice selection of meats, cheeses and condiments.

There were a few areas to get out and float down the river and the paddle wars with the other boats were a blast. The guides are crazy fun but extremely safe.

Please enjoy this experience while it is still available. Due to the upcoming hydroelectric power project, this tour will not be offered for long.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank budagirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jim, the owner, is the best dude ever!”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We are raft quides from Colorado and we heard about BOA through a mutual friend and decided we should drop by when we arrived in Boquete throughout our travels. We chatted with Jim for awhile and he invited us to hop on a trip to see the river. Being a raft guide, it is always nice to meet people who want you to see and enjoy the river they see everyday. We went when the water was a little lower, but it was still awesome. Very scenic and the guides were really nice as well. The overall trip was great and lunch was delicious. If you want to go rafting in Boquete, go with BOA and meet Jim. He is awesome!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Krysta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBOA, Owner at Boquete Outdoor Adventures, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Krysta,

It was great meeting you all as well, have a fun season in Turrialba, I will be over in May! Happy paddling!

jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great adventure tours by friendly people”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Jim is a seasoned white water kayaker and his staff are excellent athletes and guides. If you are into a white water rafting or a serious kayaking experience this is a great tour company. This time we took a trip with Jim to Boca Chica as the only way to see the gulf islands is in a boat. We went way out into the Pacific to a deserted sandy island and spent a great day there swimming and hanging out in hammocks. Jim made a good lunch for all. The gulf of Chiriqui is very beautiful and worth seeing. Jim is a great guide who takes care of his customers well.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank 587Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boquete Outdoor Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Boquete Outdoor Adventures? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing